We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK facilities but dont expect luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #95 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK facilities but dont expect luxury”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Like quite a few others we stayed in the Grand Mercure in October 2012 before joining a cruise to Singapore.
The hotel was in a very good central area close to shopping and Tiannamen Square. The rooms were spacious and clean but the bathroom tiles round the bath were in a bad way with black mould, something a good dose of bleach and attention would change!
We only ate in the Restaurant for breakfast and dinner on the first night, and it was obvious that the hotel could not cope with the amount of guests that decended on the restaurant at breakfast time, it was complete chaos, on the first morning they ran out of most things even bread! guests were running around trying to find cutlery, tea/ coffee, clean glasses for juice, the staff were just unable to cope.
Dinner wasnt much better and we waited nearly an hour for a pizza! after that experience we ate out the rest of the time.
Could do better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IZZYScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear IZZYScotland,

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your stay with us at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

Your comment on the bathroom tile condition is indeed our top priority as for info, we have already scheduled to implement the refurbishment plan commencing end of this year. Currently we are changing some bad tiles and doing deep cleaning according to hotel occupancy. By then, all our bathrooms should be measured up to the highest level of stay.

Thank you for bring the issue of breakfast, which were well noted by our Food & Beverage Director who has taken immediate measures with updating service procedure, review cultery inventory and purchasing new ones, well coordinate special cases. All service staff have been reminded with new breakfast servcie P&P.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to address the issues and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    409
    194
    58
    32
See reviews for
146
237
69
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in the Grand Mercure, Beijing 5th - 8th October, 2012 before joining a cruise to Singapore. The hotel is lovely, very clean and spacious and close to Tiannamen Square. Just don't drink in the hotel bar - cost us about £35 for 2 beers! Lots of smaller bars around the hotel - and much cheaper. But thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Would stay again if we were ever back in Beijing - which is an amazing city.

Room Tip: We took advantage of the upgrade to a King Size room with the Executive Lounge package - basically a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Linda,

Many thanks for your kind words and heartfelt encouragement, we are indeed delighted to learn that you have a pleasant stay and particularly enjoy the amazing Beijing tour. With Grand Mercure re-branding, we are focusing on provide superior experience and wish a fantastic stay to all of our guests.

Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Beijing Central in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Like some other reviewers we stayed here 2 nights as a pre cruise package and although I agree with some of the comments from the others it did have some good points. Free Wi Fi was available in the lobby which was also a bar area and unlike Alec's burger our toasted chicken sandwich was fine and so was breakfast.They did not have any disabled rooms available though

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay experience at our hotel. It’s always our pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel’s breakfast and the Wi Fi.
Regarding the handicap room, we have one room available. Next time, if you have such a request, kindly inform us in advance, so that we could prepare the room for you.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Grand Mercure Beijing Central.
Yous sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nothing bad to say, hotel was clean, staff attentive, felt like somewhere you would happily stay for work but not so much as a tourist, food wasn't great but ok, overall disappointed with Beijing so perhaps reflected in view of hotel, stark faceless building just like the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyd1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We sincerely appreciate that you take the time to inform us of your recent experience in our hotel.
Rest assured that we have taken serious note of your comments and we will strengthen our focus on the quality of our food. In addition, our new F&B Operation Manager is taking actions on restaurant food and service improvement. So, we wish you will have a refresh experience for your next visit to out hotel. Thank you!
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to joining our cruise. Hotel OK staff ran around like headless chickens. Ran our of beer , ran out of wine glasses, was given a red wine in a brandy glass. Generally poor

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason198517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate your concern and the time taken to bring these matters to our attention.
It is with sincere regret that we noted your dissatisfaction with our services. Our Food & Beverage Manager is taking immediate action to enhance the service procedures. Emphasis on training the staff, especially new ones.
Once again, we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days before our cruise. They want your credit card right away and will ask you to enter your pin number. When you are given your receipt there could be any amount deducted. Everybody checking out the night before to save time but you will have to go throught the process all over again in the morning to have your card refunded with the amout they have deducted. This took me half an hour as they tried to fob me off. If you have paid for breakfast and you are on an early morning trip what a nightmare did it once never again as there was absolutely nothing left at breakfast. The hotel is really nice and rooms are large. Really good area right in the center with all the shops close by. Good and cheap Chinese restaurant just across the main road on the left hand side where you will be entertained by the English speaking staff.

Room Tip: We were in room 0501 which looked over the side of the hotel which was not pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanorrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Warmest greetings from Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Regarding credit card issue, according to the hotel policy and procedure, FO staff will ask the authoritarian amount as deposit from the bank upon check in. The payment process is only completed upon check out with the real amount of the money you have spent. FO staff has been trained for the clear explanation on this procedure to the guest. About breakfast issue, Food & Beverage Manager has already taken immediate action to make sure all the food items are refilled on time during the entire buffet time. As you commented, our hotel is in the central of Beijing, it is very convenient to go to the shopping mall and the big supermarket.
Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us, look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights before joining a cruise at Tianjin Port. We arrived at teatime a day after leaving the UK so we were tired and needed to get in to our room as soon as possible. Unfortunately, their booking system was down and they could not allocate rooms. There were several other guests sitting around waiting, none of them very happy! However, they did give us a free drink voucher each which was very welcome. Some other guests said that the same thing had happened the previous day when they had checked in.
The room was large and well appointed, the bed although a bit hard was quite comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was adequate. We could have eaten in the main Restaurant but we chose to eat in the little Restaurant on the 10th floor and this was fine. Not an awful lot of choice but quite adequate.

Room Tip: We upgraded to an Executive room on the 10th floor and we were very glad that we did. The breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for bringing to our attention to the inconvenience you have encountered during your visit in our hotel in October.
Refer to the check in issue, Front office Manager has been informed and the training about how to do the efficient check in -even when the system is down has been done for all reception staff, especially new ones. Thank you for mentioning about the adequate breakfast in both our V9 Western Restaurant and Executive Floor Lounge. We will keep it up to better serve for all customers. Thank you.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,439 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,887 reviews
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#111 of 6,520 in Beijing
359 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Property: Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#84 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing