We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I agree!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Court Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regal Court Hotel Beijing
Ranked #2,650 of 6,068 Hotels in Beijing
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I agree!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I agree with those who said this is not a 5 star hotel. The staff are very poor, especially the reception staff, so unwelcoming. The swimming pool is so poor, they said not really part of the hotel, no towels, the TV, just HBO, no satellite, no Internet in room
evrything so poor and such unresponsive staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles3471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
4
7
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First the real name of this hotel is "Royal Court" and it's location is very bad...very far away from metro and everything.
We have a superior room and it was horrible, no view, the carpet was dirty, also the bathroom and the furniture was very worn! After check-in we left our things in the room and went to walk...when we returned, after a few hours, I noticed that tea bags initially offered were replaced with a visit card from a massage parlor..so you take the conclusions about this hotel!
Personal does not speak english and the manager, the only one who speak a litlle english was very rude when we try to ask him something. Also in room was a price for breakfast on a card and when we ask the manager he told us much more.
I dont recomand this hotel..and i refuse to belive this is a real Howard Johnson!

Room Tip: This is not a 5 stars hotel. Not even a 3 stars one. The superior room has no view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alida02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is by far my least favourite hotel I have stayed in over the last few years. It is by no means terrible, just distinctly average, definitely not a five star hotel and one should save their money and book elsewhere.

From the outside the hotel looks very regal, except for the awful gold/yellow statue - very tacky Chinese luxury. The foyer etc is clean but it is decorated with Rennaisance-esque paintings and littered with signs with extremely poor English.

We arrived early and they allowed early check-in which was nice, but the staff are not what you would expect from a five staff hotel - not very friendly and it wasn't just a language barrier as my Chinese friend was doing all the speaking. Other customers are typical Chinese older men I.e. rude, spitting on the floor and smoking underneath signs that clearly state "no smoking".

My room was on the 6th floor and had a nice garden view, also looking at almost gothic style apartment buildings. The big issue for me is that they do not have wifi - I find this unacceptable in any hotel in 2012.

The beds are comfortable and the rooms have nice towels, gowns, hair dryer, a mini bar and a safe. Generally speaking though the decor is nice but a little shabby - corners of wallpaper peeling, chips out of drawers, wonky handles.

The room was cleaned well but the cleaner left some rubbish in the corner. This was left for 3 days! The bathroom is not bad but the fake flower reinforces the tacky side to the hotel. The shower is powerful but ours also had a leaked so, strangely, water was also jetting from the wall. The bathroom door lock was broken.

They provide a kettle with two cups but only gave us two jasmine tea bags.

There is a concierge service which was absolutely useless. There English was poor so my friend spoke in Chinese. There local knowledge seemed to be worse than there English! I asked to send a postcard and the man made a price up on the spot - about three times the actual cost.

Location isn't too great. We found it difficult to get a cab, the concierge team will refuse to order you one and the metro is a 15 minute walk away.

Gym was ok and they offer classes which is good. I wouldn't touch the pool as it was very unclean. Table tennis facilities available provided you bring your own bat and balls....who does that?!

Overall this hotel is bland. It's average. It should be stripped of at least two stars. That said, if you can get a cheap room and you're not bothered about quality then it is nicer than some other options.

Room Tip: No good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This hotel is poor in every sense. You will just want to leave. No bellboy, lost confirmed booking, smoky non-smoking room, 1970's room furnishings, downbeat clientele, empty restaurants general "worse side of human nature" depression. Avoid

Room Tip: A good room would be some other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Hasty construction, bad maintenance, garish decor, poor customer service, and inconvenient location is all this hotel has to offer.

From far away, this hotel looks promising, but a closer look (and one night's stay) reveals all it's shortcomings.


The giant gold statue is actually a fountain that's dried up and filled with dirt instead. This is not a non-smoking hotel, so it smells like an ashtray everywhere you go (breakfast, elevator, the non-smoking room we stayed in). The condition of our room was horrific. Stains all over the carpet, moldy corners in the bathroom, tiles uneven, falling apart and sloppily glued back, holes in walls behind fixtures, a shower door that leaks water onto the entire bathroom floor, the air conditioning wasn't working in our room, even after a call to maintenance.

The service and staff were rude and unprofessional by western standards. To begin, they put us in a smoking room when we reserved non-smoking. When we asked for a new room, they insisted that we stay in the one we have because there were no rooms available. After an hour of standoffish, dishonest behavior by the receptionist, I called the travel agent I booked this hotel with. Within 5 minutes of conversation with the travel agent, the hotel suddenly had a room available. I couldn't believe that they would force us into a smoking room, disregarding the adverse affects on our health, and the fact that we reserved a non-smoking room to begin with; then only at the threat of losing business with an agency, move us into a different room. The impression I got was that they don't care about their customers, they only want money.

There are plenty of other hotels to choose from. This hotel almost ruined our vacation.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaniR000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a very beautiful HJ property located in the hip area of Beijing. The front of the hotel is a photo op for sure. It is an older hotel, so the rooms a somewhat smaller that many of the other HJ hotels in China. Compared to the HJ Dalian Parkland hotel you would that that you are in a different world. This propertry is very dated, but you can easily see it once was a world class place to stay. The upside is that there are many good rests. in the area (I never ate in the hotel.) Perpare to walk a bit but it is worth it. Within a 15/20 min. walk there is an organic rest and lots of fun clothing stores. You are also 10 min from the American school in BJ.

Room Tip: Never get a room on the street side as it is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights. Although it is not the perfect location it is still good to have a good walk around and see local way of living and there are some reasonable restaurants accross the road and within walking distance. Taxi's are really cheap and as long as you get someone to write down in Chinese where you want to go it is easy to catch a cab out the front of the motel. The rooms were classed as 5 star. The motel had everything you would need including pool, gym and restaurant but I wouldnt class this as 5 star. More like 3 star. In its hey day it would have been 5 star but the rooms are now quite old but still reasonably clean. The bed was clean that was the main thing. The motel has numerous fountains but as our stay was in winter they were not working and I guess this was due to the fact they would most probably freeze as it is so cold. The motel has very few English speaking people but we found the lady in the business centre a very good communicator and very helpful. We got a good deal on Agoda for $63 per night for a duplex suite so we think we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,068 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,643 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#176 of 6,068 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Court Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Court Hotel Beijing

Property: Regal Court Hotel Beijing
Address: NO. 23 West Dawang Road, Beijing 100022, China (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Royale)
Location: China > Beijing > Jinsong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#333 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Court Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Regal Court Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Beijing
Beijing Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing