We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing
Ranked #46 of 924 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, clean and friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Located by the lakeside made it a lovely place in the Hutongs of Beijing to stay. It was clean and comfortable if a little rough around the edges. We had a private double with en suite and it was great and I would strongly recommend an ensuite as the shared facilities leave a lot to be desired!
The girls on the desk were friendly and helpful. It is close to the metro and lots of nearby shops and places to eat great food. Cheap bike hire and organise a fab trip to the Wall without all the crowds or jade factories!
Only down points are they only take cash and the breakfast was expensive for what it was.
We would definitely recommend to others and would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    56
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
21
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had a great stay in september 2011. the girls helped us with everything from making a great coffee to booking great wall trip and everything in between. We loved being near the lakes and hiring bikes for a night ride along the lakes is essential. Location within 5 minute walk of Jishuitan Metro station. We caught the train from the airport and walked!
Staff spoke english and the hostel sells water and beer.
The rooms were simple but clean and had an air conditioner. We would stay again

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the top floor and loved looking out and people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilagarcia de Arousa, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stood for 6 nights in a double room with my boyfriend. We had our own bath and everything was spotless. Two friens had beds from a dorm and were so happy as we were. price is great, but there're more good things.
- The area. It's a comfortable place, good for a taxi, ten minutes walk from the subway, and lots of stores, and restaurants in the area. It's beautiful as long as you're in a lake and free from noises and smoke... If you cross a hutong you'll find another two big lakes with lot of pubs and restaurants in the shore.
- The stuff. Totally friendly and reliable. They solve any problem, recommend the best (and cheapest) way to go to places or how to improve your chances. They even help us with our route to some other places getting our ticket trains in advance and helping us to choose hostels.
- You have free internet, and some other good pluses.
We all are truly grateful for the good job and the friendly atmosphere. Thanks to all the staff, and specially to Cathy, the soul of the place.
If we ever go back to Beijing we'll definitively go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perruaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay! The people at the front desk were extremely helpful and attentive. At the desk there is also a kind of restaurant and although there was not too much selection it was great! We rented bikes there too which was something worth doing because one could get a great view of the lake and surrounding buildings.

The location was superb, right in the old and interesting section of Beijing and on the beautiful lakeside. A BIG plus.

The rooms were small but nice. They were very clean and the washroom was in full working order. The beds were (in my opinion) a little firm but it didn't bother me almost at all.

So, overall it was a great stay and if we to ever go back to Beijing that is where we would stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Sleepy Inn several times between Fall 2008 and January 2010. At that time we were living in Tianjin and would travel to Beijing periodically for weekend trips and would make it a point to stay at the Sleepy Inn. Our first time at Sleepy Inn was in November 2008 (we were referred by a friend) and we were thrilled with our stay there. The staff members were extremely friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English (which was helpful to us as we don’t speak Mandarin). The rooms were very clean (which is most important to us), the beds were comfortable and towels were very thick and clean. We felt the rates were reasonable and we enjoyed just sitting in the main lobby area, using the wi-fi, drinking a cold coca-cola and relaxing.

Sleepy Inn’s location is excellent. It sits right on the lake and we enjoyed walking around the lake and the Hutong areas. Also, close by are some very good street vendors for food, especially jianbing for breakfast.

We love the Sleepy Inn and can’t say enough good things about it. The staff is wonderful and will make you feel right at home when you arrive! Hope you enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyOakPark_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were extremely fortunate to find 2 beds available at Sleepy Inn. The location looks a little sketchy but it's actually quite safe, and right on Houhai lake, a fun place for a night out. On the outside the hostel looks in need of TLC, but the insides of the rooms are bright and very clean. We recommend the 4 bed dorms with bathroom for 80RMB, great value! The staff were amazing- they went above and beyond to help us check in even though my bf's passport was at the Mongolian embassy that day. They called the police station and transferred the information sent there from the last hostel we stayed at in Beijing! Plus we had photocopies of his passport, Chinese visa, and entry date stamp so a little while later we were checked in and enjoying the strong AC in our dorm room. Great service and great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fieryfox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhengzhou, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed there more than 10 times already, It is a very cheap hostel.
The location is pretty good to relax because it is located very near to the Hou Hai Lake/Area. 15 minutes walking from the Subway and not very hard to take taxis as well.
The staff is the best thing in the Hostel, very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The Single and Double Room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salatiel_GK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,292 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Jinjiang Inn Beijing Houhai
Jinjiang Inn Beijing Houhai
#2,161 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Nostalgia Hotel Beijing Yonghe Lama Temple
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing

Property: Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing
Address: No.103 Deshengmen Nei Da Jie, Xicheng District, Beijing 100035, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 924 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside is quietly located along the bank of beautiful Shishahai Lake, the most popular tourist area of downtown Beijing. Shishahai Lake and the surrounding "Hutong" areas still preserve the traditional features of the Beijing old town, with courtyards, flourishing trees, and old hutongs, all bustling with life of real Beijingers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing