We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything's wonderful !”
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Beijing
Ranked #34 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Regent Hotel. The rooms are comfortable, modern and fully outfitted with the features one requires for comfort abroad. The bed is especially comfy and helps provide a good nights rest. The breakfast is a great combination of Asian and Western foods served in the usual buffet style. A little tough to get that second cup of coffee from the wait staff. We ended most every evening with coffee and a dessert treat in the lobby bar. A nice end to a full day of touring Beijing. The convenient location allowed for exploring the nearby shopping, market street and a variety of restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and convenient location

Thanks also for the comment regarding the coffee service – we’ll get that rectified immediately.

We hope to see you back in Beijing sometime.


Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

We booked this hotel based on the great reviews that it had on TA and we were not disappointed. We booked a Club Lounge Room and were upgraded to a Suite at no extra charge and without asking. We have traveled extensively around Asia and felt the room came a close second to the Club Level Marina Sands Hotel Singapore. (Which is a lot more expensive!)

The hotel location is very close to the subway and shops and the view of the traffic below is better than watching TV. The rooms are well appointed and we had good internet connection in our room and Club Lounge.
The staff were all very friendly and had a good basic understanding of English. The email correspondence we had with Duty Manager at the Hotel before arriving in China was outstanding. No matter what your question the response was quick and helpful.

The Club Lounge food for both breakfast and supper was superb. After having a good lunch we never bothered about dinner and really enjoyed there spread of cheeses and wines.

This may sound like the hotel wrote this, but we could not fault the hotel on any level.

Tip - if you indent to take taxis be sure to download the hotel's name and address and that of your destination in Chinese characters - and be sure to use a big font size for the driver with bad eyesight! This saved us on a number of occasions. You can't assume your Hotel will know every place in Beijing - it's a city of 21 Million after all!

Do yourselves a favour and book the Club Level.

Ps if you like this post check out our other Beijing posts on our TA profile

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us, and your kind compliments on our service and facilities.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Regent Club Lounge facilities, and hope you also enjoyed the great views from the Lounge over the golden rooftops of the Forbidden City.

We have shared your compliments with our Duty Managers and Regent Club Lounge team to thank them for their ongoing efforts.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Thanks and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

It's all true, this is an excellent hotel and we did have a 5 star experience, the room was a good size and very comfortable, as was the bed (unusual for Chinese hotels - usually hard) we were lucky enough to have great views and clear days too. Staff were courteous & very helpful and generally spoke excellent English, we couldn't fault room service or breakfast and the hotel is so well located, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnTarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Many thanks indeed for such positive feedback; we’re delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will be able to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Thanks again and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We visited our son who is teaching in Beijing and the Regent worked out beautifully, from the moment we stepped outside the baggage area at the airport. We were greeted by a Regent hostess who guided us to the car sent by the hotel, this was very welcoming after the 13 hour flight. We had called ahead for the car service from the US. Upon our arrival we were impressed by the attentiveness of the service and the absolutely lovely room and lobby. Incredibly well stocked by US standards, a supply of free sodas, water and juices in the fridge, toothbrushes, razor, loofah, showercap, you name it. The pool area is beautiful and a nice spot to spend time with our family. Location is very central. All in all, a great option for Beijing.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank alicemiami01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly X, Public Relations Manager at Regent Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your opinion on your last stay with us!

We were very glad to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay as well as our facilities and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a great hotel, ideally situated. As others report, the breakfast is excellent -- lots of options, all very well done. Staff are friendly and helpful.

One big problem -- with temperatures unseasonably warm when we visited (over 30C in mid-May) the Regent insists on "locking" the AC in your room at 22C. In other words, the room will not cool below this temperature. In practice, all of us (5 people in 3 rooms) found the rooms a little warm and uncomfortable.

It's really too bad that hotels (even good ones like the Regent) insist on compromising their guests' comfort to save a few dollars.

Otherwise, would have been a 5 star review.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

Although we were happy to hear that you mostly enjoyed our facilities and services, we were sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations.

Please note that our air conditioning does not automatically set itself to 22 degrees, as you mentioned. The air coming out of the air conditioning vents is usually at 14 to 16 degrees Celsius. We cannot go lower than that due to regulations set by the local authorities and not because we want to save on costs. These regulations are set as part of the local authorities' environmental protection plans. Furthermore, we have had the hottest May in recorded history since 1951 in Beijing this year with temperatures above 40 degrees Celsius on certain days.

We hope that despite this incident, you would choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Beijing so that you may see for yourself that this was an isolated incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I loved just about everything about this hotel: the lobby, my room with a fabulous bathroom, the wonderful staff with excellent English, the excellent breakfast. Really a world-class experience. Given that Beijing is crowded with filthy air and pushy residents, the Regent Beijing was an oasis of calm and good customer service. I'd go back any day!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are a bit noisier due to traffic, but have a great view (when the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southerner-in-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your time to share your thoughts on your last stay with us!

We were delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you would choose to come back again on your next stay in Beijing.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This centrally located luxury hotel offers great value especially if one purchases the Executive Suite with the breakfast option. In addition to an ample breakfast one also receives a free two hour cocktail hour in which several wines, beers and other alcoholic beverages are offered along with assorted fruits, appetizers and dim sum. One in fact may have a small dinner in this way or at least the first dishes and the alcohol thus saving a great deal at local restaurants. Located near a subway station on line 5, this allows for easy movements around town as cabs, inexpensive as they be are often likely to find themselves in the chronic traffic mess that is this gigantic city. Staff is most helpful and accommodating (do find a cab at the airport rather than use the Hotel's service as a cab drive from the airport is less than 100 yuan as opposed to the hotel's offer of 500 yuan. The executive suite room is large with a most comfortable bathroom.Maid service could be better as the room was done up too late on several occasions and there are also issues with the air-conditioning which may not always function as desired. Nonetheless luxury and good value at the same time, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Take an executive suite with the breakfast option. Avoid hotel restaurants which are adequate at bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efarkasTeaneck_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your opinion on your recent stay at the Regent Beijing!

We were delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and took full advantage of our Regent Club Lounge, a favorite with many of our guests.

Although you are absolutely correct about the difference in price between taxis and our limousine service from the airport, please note that the two services cannot really be compared. When you book a limousine service from us you will have a member of our team greet you just outside immigration and escort you to the Audi A6 that will be there waiting for you with a driver who knows exactly where to go without being told. I'm afraid the same can't be said for all the taxis, not considering any time wasted in line waiting for a taxi too.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again when your travels bring you next to Beijing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,524 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,584 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#30 of 6,568 in Beijing
575 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#42 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#20 Family Hotel in Beijing
#22 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#31 Business Hotel in Beijing
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#90 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $143 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing