We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location”
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Regent Beijing
Ranked #27 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good hotel in good location”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We enjoyed our 4-night stay here. The hotel is in a good location and also right next to a metro station stop. Our room was attractive, quite spacious and well maintained and we very much liked the floor to ceiling windows which gave us extensive views over the city. The complimentary items in the mini bar were a nice touch. Breakfast was good with a lot of choice. We had dinner one evening in the Daccapo Italian restaurant which was really excellent but you should make a reservation as it's quite small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay at the Regent Beijing!

We were very glad to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again if your travels bring you back to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    504
    84
    23
    15
See reviews for
220
468
96
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stay at park plaza, sangri-la and regent on our week long beijing trip. Regent was the nicest and truly 5 star hotel. It is located centrally unlike sangri-la, only few blocks away from wanfujing. The room was really nice and big. Separate shower and bathtub. We booked the room with breakfast which was awesome. It has a great combination of American and Asian food. But beware if u don't book the room with breakfast, the breakfast is very very expensive at 260rmb I believe per head which is like close to 50usd. The only complaint I had was the key, for some reason the magnet wears off or something. We had to change the keys twice in three nights of stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmhsu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking a few moments of your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us!

We were delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be the best of the three hotels you tried during your stay in Beijing! We've taken good note of the issues you had with your keys during your stay and have shared these comments with our Engineering department to look at it in further detail.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon once again to the Regent Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not sure if it was just bad luck or a bad hotel. The first night our power went out at about 11pm. We went to bed thinking it would be on by morning, it was not. I called down to ask to have it turned on. Someone quickly came up and was able to return the electricity. That night the lights would not go out. I called down immediately. The person on the other end thought I was nuts to ask for someone to turn out the lights for us but sent someone up after around 30 minutes. It took him around 15 minutes to figure out what was wrong and fix it. The next day the temperature in the room was unbearably hot. I called down once more and was told to simply lower the temp on the thermostat. I explained that I had tried that to no avail. Someone came up to the room lowered the thermostat and said the temperature would be fine in 15 minutes. I tried to explain that I had tried that for the last hour but he did not understand what I was saying. We left for dinner and when we returned it was even warmer in the room. At this point I was a tad upset and requested a new room. The Regent put us into an upgraded room which worked well for the next two nights.
The concierge desk was wonderful. The people could not have been more helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. I would have rated the hotel excellent if we had not had problems three days in a row.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markzink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We were sorry to hear that your experience with us fell somewhat short of your expectations. I am afraid that this was indeed an unfortunate sequence of events which are not part of the usual experience at the Regent Beijing (as previous guest reviews will attest to).

After further investigation, we found out that the electric circuit board in your room had malfunctioned. Unfortunately this was not identified the first time the circuit tripped and we do apologize for this.

I believe you were with us from October 23rd to 28th. During this time of year, temperatures tend to oscillate greatly in Beijing with lows and highs differing by up to 20 degrees celcius or more which tends to make it harder to maintain a constant temperature throughout the day, especially in the south-facing rooms with greater exposure to the sun. This is something which is often felt in Beijing and is not singular to our hotel when the seasons change in Beijing. Temperatures are now stabilizing and we have much more control over the temperatures in the building as well.

We're glad to hear though that despite these incidents, you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and that we managed to make up for it by upgrading you to an Executive Room with full complimentary access to our Regent Club Lounge facilities.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again if your travels bring you back to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel.lobby is beautiful and functional unlike the Peninsula,where I have previously stayed. Beautiful suite. Great service,especially from Konstantin (spelling), a young Greek/Belgian intern. Helpful far beyond his years. Overall,rank it above the Peninsula where i have stayed 3 previous times.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kent L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay at the Regent Beijing!

We're delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that Konstantinos has helped to make it all the more memorable. We have shared your compliments with him and are proud to see the results of his efforts pay off.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again when you return to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is situated in a central location, direct access to the subway. The lobby of the hotel is nicely appointed and service is on par with the price they are charging per night. The breakfast buffet was above average for the hotels I went to in China.
For the room, it's a good size, they thought of everything you could possibly need. The point to note here is that the beds are HUGE. I am pretty sure they put 2 king sized bed together. The only draw back is that the rooms shows its age and feels a bit musty. I would say it is still above average for hotels in Beijing at the price they are charging.
Free wifi in the hotel great for business or a trip to the city.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side have a nice view of the "hu-tong" and make sure you get a non-smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your thoughts on your last stay with us!

We are glad to hear that you generally enjoyed our services and facilities. Our king beds are indeed large American sized king beds. They are not two king beds put together. Please also note that the hotel is only 7 years old and that we continuously maintain, refurbish and upgrade our guest rooms as time goes by.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon to the Regent Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We originally booked ParkPlaza, but that hotel was full and we were transfered to the Regent, which is a sister hotel of ParkPlaza and they are next to eah other. First night we were given a smoking room, which was a disappointment since we requested non-smoking, but nothing else was available, next day we were moved to a larger non-smoking room that was very comfortable, clean, great shower. Staff is very friendly.
Good hotel for a city trip,close to the metro and some restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Chubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your opinion on your recent stay with us!

We are glad to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that we were unable to offer you a non-smoking room right from the beginning but please note, as you mentioned, that your booking originally was not in our hotel. Our hotel was also quite busy during these dates and we did not know we would be accommodating you until late in the evening, by which time we had no such rooms available anymore. It is not easy to accommodate these types of requests on such short notice. I am however glad that we managed to resolve the issue the following day.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Regent Beijing soon once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our final hotel in China, the rooms were well furnished with every amenity thought of. The bed was enormous with crisp linen and pillow menu - best nights sleep. The large luxury bathroom
has freestanding tub and separate shower cubicle - the bath salts, loofah (a nice touch)were replenished daily. The mini bar has a complimentary selection of goodies and a box of local dried fruits were provided in the room - there was nothing that hadnt been thought of. The night market and shopping areas are just a five minute walk and for those longing for a coffee a starbucks adjoins the rear - great as a coffee in the lobby was £7.00. Drinks are not cheap at £24 for 2 G/T. Breakfast was unorganised and service poor, lots of bods doing very little, the foots was tepid although there is an excellent selection of western and oriental foods. We ate in the cafe on one evening and found the food good but the service for money being paid poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusybeeSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us at the Regent Beijing!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially liked our spacious rooms and amenities. We are however sorry to hear that some of your experience at our all-day dining outlet has fallen somewhat short of your expectations and have shared your comments with the Food and Beverage team.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again if your travels bring you back to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,432 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#33 of 6,520 in Beijing
541 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,887 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,520 in Beijing
538 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Property: Regent Beijing
Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#18 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#20 Family Hotel in Beijing
#25 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#31 Business Hotel in Beijing
#126 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing