We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with the Exec floor”
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Regent Beijing
Ranked #28 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
211 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Don't bother with the Exec floor”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely experience and I would be happy to recommend to fellow travellers. The hotel was very pleasant and well located and the staff deserve praise. We chose to pay extra and stay on the executive floor and use the club facilities. What a waste of money. Don't do it! We were not offered the executive check in and were told food was available between 6 & 8.00pm. We arrived at 19.30 and there was nothing available and when we asked, were told that the hotel was busy and that they were very sorry! Breakfast was very limited and we reverted to the general restaurant which was much better. When we asked the club for concierge service, they did not understand and again we approached the regular concierge on the ground floor who was great. I can recommend the Hotel but save your money on any perceived upgrade. Total waste!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank for taking a moment of your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We were glad to hear that you overall enjoyed your experience while staying at the Regent Beijing. We do apologize for the shortage of canapes at the evening cocktail during the two evenings you went up.

The comments you made to our team while staying with us have prompted us to re-look at our internal procedures when we have such a high level of business at the Regent Club Lounge to ensure such issues do not recur in the future. I assure you that you would easily see a change for the better if you came back. As you may tell from the numerous compliments to our lounge service, this is not a usual occurrence. As for breakfast, please note that if you have any particular requests for items not usually available at the Regent Club Lounge, our team will be happy to try to accommodate your order as best we can although it may take slightly longer as we would have to order it from the main kitchen downstairs.

With regards to the Concierge service, I believe this was more a matter of miscommunication. Our colleague at the lounge was indeed trying to retrieve the information you requested but the internet speed at that particular time slowed down. This is unfortunately something we are subject to in China and out of our control as the firewall may sometimes momentarily restrict access to certain websites in an arbitrary manner. We are however glad that our Concierge team downstairs managed to effectively resolve the issue for you.

Please let us know If you are planning to return to Beijing in the near future. I would be glad to extend complimentary access to the Regent Club Lounge upon your next visit to make up for these inconveniences and for you to experience the improvement for yourself.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    498
    84
    23
    13
See reviews for
213
458
94
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I m now staying in this hotel. Pluses-good location,fully equipped rooms,enough space for 2 ppl to stay in. Minus-room for smokers has an old smell of tobacco. Bath tube and tube are swallowing water very slow. Mirror in the hall is dirty. Chinese restaurant in the hotel is overprised and dun have even half food from the menu. Waitresses is far from having good English. deposit taken upon check in is appr the price of 4 days of our staying.
In overall-hotel is good just for sleeping. Go to eat and spend yr time somewhere else

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion on the Regent Beijing!

I was sorry I couldn't meet you on departure but understand that you've spoken to our Duty Manager when you checked out. We have taken good note of your comments regarding the room and restaurant and have shared it with the relative departments to address this issues immediately.

With regards to the restaurant pricing, Lei Garden is a well-known fine dining restaurant chain with two Michelin-starred outlets in Hong Kong and Macau (mainland China is not officially covered by the Michelin guide) and as such follows the pricing of other fine dining restaurants in the city. Dining in Beijing can be quite expensive. Fine dining restaurants often have similar pricing as one may find in other big cities such as Hong Kong, Tokyo or even New York.

As for the deposit, you may choose not to leave any deposit if you prefer. However you would not be allowed to charge any incidentals (room service, restaurant, bar, etc.) to your room.

We are glad however that you did have an overall positive experience and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again when you return to Beijing so that you may witness the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
1,148 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

not far from the forbidden city,really enjoy the night view from the top floor.the service is thoughtful and WIFI almost perfect!Also near the down town of bejing,Wanfujing street,paradise
for shopping,but a little expensive...breakfast is multiple and really yummy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking a minute to share your thoughts on your recent stay at the Regent Beijing!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again when your travels bring you next to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the regent last year on our first visit to Beijing. We loved it and were happy to stay again on this visit. It's a super hotel with a great location. the staff are helpful and their English is reasonably good, this is essential in china!! The cafe 99 serves excellent food though pricey.
The rooms and bathrooms are super. The only negative is that you cannot control your room temperature ...even though the room has the control panel it's fixed at 22 degrees and the beds have a pretty heavy duvet so we have woken up every night in a sweat and had to throw the duvet off! Not pleasant to have disturbed sleep every night! We had the same problem last year and tried to explain the problem at the front desk but it was pointless. Everything else is so good at this hotel that it's worth overlooking!

Room Tip: A room on the higher floor affords you a spectacular view!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kins2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing you opinion on your recent stay with us!

We are glad to hear that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and that you have renewed your trust and loyalty towards the Regent Beijing.

We have taken good note of your comment regarding the room temperature. We have taken various steps over the past months to address this issue and have made considerable progress. Beijing's short and unpredictable autumn and spring seasons where we tend to pass from one extreme to another in a matter of a few weeks are a bit tricky as you can often find a 20 degree temperature difference within the same day between his and lows. We are currently testing some slightly thinner duvets which we could use during these times of the year.

We're glad that despite this inconvenience, you would choose to return upon your next visit to Beijing and hope that you will find that we have further improved on this. We look forward to welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Regent Beijing is a five star hotel situated near the Wangfujing in Beijing. The location is great, and it is near many shops and restaurant. One would not have problem in looking for food. In addition, it is also near Tian An Men and Forbidden City, maybe one can go there on foot from the hotel, if his physical state permits and not during Winter. With a subway station just below the hotel, one can go places in Beijing conveniently. There are also taxi in front of the hotel, and the Door-men would be more than happy to help you to get a cab. The only draw back is that if your destination is very near the hotel, some of the taxi-drivers might show you their discontent.

I have been staying in this hotel since 2008/2009, and am there whenever I am in Beijing, The only two occasions were when the inviting organizations had pre-booked other hotels near them. The rate of the hotel is not really cheap, but is matched entirely by the facilities, the standard of the room and the wide variety of food in breakfast. For me, I know many of the staff in the hotel, and every time I check into the hotel, I am greeted by the hotel door man, the bell-boy, the receptionist to the chambermaid with the friendly phrase "You come back home!". This small gesture makes me feel that I am back to my home in Beijing.

The room is big, decorated meticulously to make the guests feel at home. The amenities in the hotel are very luxurious and in more than sufficient quantities. I love the big bed which is very comfortable. It is so comfortable that it is really an effort to lift myself out of the bed every morning. The chambermaids are very hardworking and friendly, who are always more than happy to help.

Café 99, where the breakfast is being served, is also nicely decorated, and there are wide varieties of food. I always tend to eat too much whenever I am there, as the food is really very delicious. The waitresses, waiters, the cooks and the serving staff are very friendly, and always try their best to understand the requests made by the guests who cannot speak mandarin.

Our organization has held an activities in this hotel. The arrangement, the food and the staff attending to the guests are to the entire satisfaction of the guests and us. We have held activities in Regent Beijing every year since 2009, not without good reason.

Overall, this is a fine hotel situated in a very good location. It offers convenience and comfortable stay in Beijing. A place where one will be looking forward to after a long day work in Beijing, and especially after having survived the heavy traffic jam.

I will be back soon, Regent! For sure and very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuasiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion on your latest stay with us!

We couldn't be happier to know that we are your home away from home while you are in Beijing! Thank you for your continued trust, loyalty and support. We have shared your comments with our team to thank them for their hard work. Such compliments are the best way we have to show them it's all worth it in the end.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Regent Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights immediately after a long flight from Paris via Cairo. We're travelling for four months and have stayed in a variety of luxury and basic accommodation. The Regent was impressive from the moment we pulled into the front of the hotel. The foyer is grand, and our bags were swept to our room. I don't think that we touched a door handle during our stay. The rooms are a good size with high ceilings. The TV volume plays through a speaker in the bathroom, and the deep modern soaker tub can be seen through a glass wall looking into the bedroom and city. The glass can be covered with a mechanical shutter. The lighting is very modern and we enjoyed the room thoroughly.

The subway is right beneath the hotel, although cabs are extremely cheap. The hotel is very near the forbidden city, the temple of heaven, and Tianmen square.

The concierge, Coffee, went WAY above and beyond to walk us to a restaurant across the street and help us order as the restaurant didn't have an english menu. Since this was our first meal in China, we were appreciative despite recognizing how ridiculous the whole situation was. Regardless, thanks Coffee! (Justin on the other hand, another concierge, was the only mark against this hotel. We found him rude, although it may have simply been a cultural issue).

Anyways, I can't see anything to complain about at this hotel! We paid about $180/night Canadian.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenWelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Regent Beijing!

We are glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that Coffee and the remainder of our team helped to make it one to remember! We've shared your comments with Coffee to thank her for her efforts.

We have well noted your comments about Justin too and have shared these too.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Arrived in the hotel to have a lunch in the DACCAPO French restaurant, tried to park car the in the hotel's vicinity..... ( obviously I was looking for paid- parking place ), parking area which is right next to the hotel was full and there was no vacant place.....so I decided to park the car in front of the hotel - next to 7-8 others cars, so I politely yet friendly asked the parking staff ( in my broken Chinese ) to let me park my car there, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh, their attitude, their mind set is far from so-called friendly service or the standard of Regent Hotel, they were acting like hooligans, speaking loud, and pointing fingers, I tried to find the floor manager from inside the hotel, I believe her name was Charlie, she couldn't sort that out the parking issue NOR the unfriendly attitude of the parking attendants .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank DanielHCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We were sorry to hear of your difficulties in finding parking during lunch time. As you are most probably aware already, parking is a major issue in Beijing.

Please note that the hotel does not run any of the parking structures surrounding it nor the one found in the basement of the hotel. I assume that you found the outdoor parking in front of the hotel to be full as it can sometimes be due to its small size. There is however another much larger underground parking with the entrance found between the Regent and Park Plaza which always has spaces available. The elevators go down directly to the basement, giving direct access to the hotel.

The little space available in front of the hotel is only for short-term parking (10 minutes maximum) and requires the driver to remain in the car. This is mostly used by drivers coming to pick up hotel guests. Unfortunately we are not in a position to allow guests or patrons to park there as it is a very limited space.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,387 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,853 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#38 of 6,473 in Beijing
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,685 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,473 in Beijing
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Property: Regent Beijing
Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#18 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#20 Family Hotel in Beijing
#26 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#31 Business Hotel in Beijing
#122 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing