We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days in Beijing post cruise from Sydney”
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Regent Beijing
Ranked #26 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 days in Beijing post cruise from Sydney”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife & I were impressed with hotel . great room & staff .Breakfast was great.
used the spa every day . really was impressed with the lap pool . water quality excellent.
lap swimming was easy as it was a good sized hotel pool. close to subway & reasonable walk to Tiannamen & palace Museum . We had evening meals over at Bloos at plaza hotel . Steakhouse closed due to renovations . Italian restaurant a bit pricey . Frank & Vicki

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are delighted to know that your stay at the Regent Beijing went so well!

We have shared your comments with our teams to thank them for all their efforts as all of this is impossible without them.

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon whenever your travels bring you next to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    504
    84
    23
    14
See reviews for
219
468
96
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is a very nice and good hotel, however it is almost impossible to have breakfast, have a drink at any bar or even dinner without feeling freezing to dead.
The rooms are very good but the heating syatem does not work at all outside the bedrooms.
Very bad hotel in the comun areas even though I complain to the duty manager, nothing at all was done to make it a bit warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us on your recent stay with us.

We were sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations but understand the inconvenience the temperature in our public areas caused during your stay.

We are reliant on the heating provided by the municipality of Beijing which was extended this year by two days to the 17th of March. In the past, this has not proved to cause any issues. At the time, we had experienced weeks of warmer temperatures and neither us nor the local authorities were expecting the cold snap that followed which is only now finally ending.

Our Engineering teams at the hotel worked endlessly to try to fix the problem but the extreme temperature fluctuations, going from below freezing to 20 degrees Celsius on some occasions within just one day, wouldn't allow us to stabilize the public area temperatures.

Although the temperatures are now returning back to the normal seasonal temperatures, we have however taken the necessary steps to ensure we are well covered for such eventualities in the future.

We hope that this experience has not tainted your opinion on our hotel and that we may have the pleasure to welcome you back once again soon so that we may show you the true colors of our product and service as so many of the reviews will show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We are always looking forward going back to the warm comforts of the hotel after a hard day in the freezing cold.

Kids especially! Very good locale, but service was just alright though, menu needs alittle more spicing up!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Regent Beijing!

We have taken good note of your comments on the menu and have shared them with our culinary teams.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORTHINGTON
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

5 star hotel with a very friendly staff. Excellent international breakfast and very comfortable rooms. Easy taxi ride to any location inside the 2nd ring road. Near to international shopping district and metro in the basement

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANET W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent experience at the Regent Beijing!

We were delighted to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us and that we have once again delivered on our promise.

I have shared your compliments with our team to thank them for their efforts.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely comfortable room with so much space to relax in after a busy day of sight-seeing and playing tourist. The bed was huge and provided a perfect night's sleep. Very clean. The bathroom gave us the added luxury of a free standing bath and a large separate shower.
The hotel is well situated next to the subway and is a short walk away in to the main city centre. There are a good selection of restaurants nearby (we didn't eat in the hotel at all) and the concierge desk were extremely helpful booking tables for us and providing maps for each place we wanted to visit in Chinese. This may seem like a small thing but was actually proved to be very helpful when we had to ask people for directions and an English guide book map or road name was of no use.
The room was very warm and we were unable to use the air-conditioning as the air-flow system had been switched to heating only. We were surprised to see that we could open a window (I don't think I've stayed in a high rise hotel where that's possible) and we kept the window open for most of our stay there despite it being -2 outside.
We didn't use the spa or swimming pool but it looked very nice. Unfortunately the men's sauna was out of order during our stay there.
Other than the issue of the heating, we enjoyed a very good stay at the Regent and would recommend it to others visiting the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Regent Beijing and have shared your compliments with our Concierge team!

All of our rooms have at least one window which can be opened to allow for our guests to have some fresh air if they so want. The windows are however blocked to only slightly open at a small angle for safety reasons.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back once again soon when your travels bring you next to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is well-located for business and tourist. Easy subway access, lots of local restaurant and food options. Service quality is high, and rooms are very nice. My only "complaint" is that it was difficult to maintain the temperature in the room. Hot to cold and back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdaniel_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Regent Beijing!

Beijing has been experiencing strong temperature fluctuations in the past weeks. Nevertheless, we have taken note of your comments and have shared them with our Engineering team.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Arrived at the hotel around 9am and expected to check in earliest at noon. To my surprise they told me they could get me a room in an hour...pleasant surprise! It's a great relief as I was exhausted from the red eye flight from Singapore...

Stay at the club floor and the room was spacious, clean and had plenty of international/local channels. The 24 hour room service provided convenience as there was not much eateries around if you need a bite late in the night...

Easy access to cabs and plenty of branded shopping in the Wang Fu Jing area...Near to subway but only downside was the lack of fast food restaurants/cheap eateries nearby...another is the climate control in the room...natural air was pumped into the room and made the room a little stuffy as they did not use air conditioning in Spring...problem can be easily solved by opening the window slightly...Heard this was a common issue in Beijing

Overall a very comfortable hotel and this is the kind of hotel I would want to return from a exhausting day of business meetings....

Room Tip: Higher floors can have better ventilation if windows are required to be open
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okmyanzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimvA, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at the Regent Beijing!

We are absolutely delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your comments with our team to thank them for their continuous efforts.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,430 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#34 of 6,516 in Beijing
541 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,886 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,516 in Beijing
534 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#42 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Property: Regent Beijing
Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#18 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#20 Family Hotel in Beijing
#25 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#31 Business Hotel in Beijing
#133 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing