We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved the Luxury Serviced Residence!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ariva Beijing Luxury
Ranked #2,248 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We just checked out after spending 8 nights in a 2br apartment. We arrived in Beijing after a 14 hour flight from the US, jetlagged and exhausted. The two floor, 2 bedroom apartment was perfect four our family of four (two parents and kids age 4 and 7) to recover from jetlag. There were different rooms where we could go to sleep or play while the rest of us slept. It also had great black out curtains and was very quiet.

The style of the apartment was contemporary. It had a small kitchen with some plates, cups, silverware etc. They provided bottled water when we arrived and there was an electric kettle for making more. The apt we had had 1.5 baths (shower only,no tub). There was a safe and pretty much everything we needed for our stay was provided.

Overall, the apartment was VERY clean. The only exception was that the grout on the main floor looked dirty (though the tile was very clean--it was actually heated tile and we would come in from sightseeing in 15 degree weather and lay on it because it was so toasty!) and the caulk in the shower looked a little yucky and slimy. The linens were of a very good quality and very clean.

In addition to the homey modern style and very practical layout, we also found the facilities and staff to be great. The gym was nice for a hotel gym (bike, treadmill, elliptical, weights). The front desk staff bent over backwards trying to help us. We always found someone who spoke some English there. They would help us write the chinese characters for where we wanted to go for our taxi drivers, would call a cab if we needed one and generally were very kind and helpful. We had a small internet problem and they sent someone right up to fix it.

When we first arrived, I wasn't sure about the location, but it grew on me. It was initially hard to find (go in the gate at the 7-11 and it is on the left. If you bring the phone number, your cab driver can call for directions), but once we had a hotel card, our taxis always found it no problem. It was about a 2-3 block walk to the Jiangguomen & another subway station, but it was a long walk in the cold for our 4 year old. We took taxis everywhere instead. We were usually able to find a taxi on the street in front of the hotel, but if not, Jianguomen Street had many too. It cost about 12-15 yuan ($2-$3) to get to the Forbidden City. Very affordable.

We found some good food options nearby. 7-11 had easy take out breakfast and lunch items. There was a steamed bun restaurant just down the road toward Jianguomen on the left that had an english sign and menu. There was a starbucks in the Scitech shopping center & a small (overpriced!) grocery. There is a mcdonalds and Starbucks about a block west on Jiangguomen. We ate Peking duck at a delicous place next to McDonalds called Duck King (ask the desk, I don't think their sign was in English, but the menu was.) Just across Jiangguomen, there are several other non-chinese restaurants like Sizzler or a Thai restaurant that we didn't try, but it was nice to know they were there. There was also a nice dimsum restaurant 2 blocks west on Jiangguomen (turn left at McDonalds, I think.) There was a Guilin Noodle restaurant next to the hair salon on the 1st floor that was good. MCS cafe was ok too and they provide room service.

All in all, it was a great place to stay with kids. The deal we got on their website meant we ended up spending about $130 per night. It might not have been as fancy or impressive as a high-end hotel, but the space and convenience made up for it. I hope we will be able to stay here again if we ever come back to Beijing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supergrrl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2010

Have stayed from 11-17 November. Overall, it was a pleasant stay experience in Luxury Residence.

The nearest train station is Jian Guo Men station and it takes around 10-20 mins walk from Jian Guo Men station to the apartment. U would need to walk through an underpass and pass through Scientech Plaza in order to get to the apartment.

The room is clean and comfortable. However, you would get sick of the breakfast by day 2 or day 3 as there is little variety of foods. However, as per earlier reviews, there are really some good and cheap restaurants nearby so that's not an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgal_iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Though we stayed in three different cities, this was the last leg of our trip, and for whatever reason I was slightly apprehensive about the accomodation (probably because the other two places turned out so well, and I thought to myself, no way we can get three in a row - but we did!). The place turned out to be clean, service was excellent They gave us a big duplex, with nice soft duvees, working fridge. The one slight drawback was that even though we were in five (two adults, three kids), and there was plenty of sleeping space, there was only 1.5 bathrooms (ie only one shower). There was also a toilet downstairs (and very clean!) but still we had to get in line to take showers at the end of each day, and any parent knows that that can get old pretty quick. But the space was huge. And nice TVs both upstairs and down.

They offer breakfasts in this very nice, stylish cafe two doors down. Very very good eggs (omelettes, boiled, fried, each day that had it different).

It is a bit of a walk (ten minutes) to the metro (welcome to Beijing) but the location overall is very very central, and the metro stop is on the main line that cuts across central Beijing (so rush hour was NOT fun but hey, it was very convenient).

This place really made our stay in Beijing a successful one. The front desk people all spoke English and one in particular was very helpful with suggestions on what to do and where to go. They were doing some street work outside, which at times we could hear even on the tenth floor, so make sure you are on a higher floor if they are still working on the entrance area (I bet they'll finish by end of 2010 latest).

All in all, wonderful. Highly recommended. I just read over my review, and it sounds more critical than it should, well at least you know the warts....I would definitely stay here again, especially when travelling with another person or family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pizza-in-Kabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Staff do their best to be helpful but only a few of them can communicate efficiently in English at this time (May 2010). Incidently the Deputy Manager (excellent customer service by email) just called me to assure me that they will make more effort to hire better English-speaking staff or train their local staff better. I recommend the place because the units are big (ours had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms for US$132/night), quite comfortable and very reasonably priced if you check rates with trip advisor. What they MUST change is the location of the laundry area, which is very hard to find in the basement in a dark and smelly car park.
Last tip : avoid the small over-priced supermarket at the basement of the SciTech Plaza building.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papawombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 12, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 2, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 16, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Zhongguancun
ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,617 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,254 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#66 of 6,596 in Beijing
2,545 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,596 in Beijing
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva Beijing Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva Beijing Luxury

Address: No.17 Jianhua South Road, Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#310 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariva Beijing Luxury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ariva Beijing Luxury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Serviced Residence Beijing Hotel Beijing
Luxury Serviced Residence Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing