We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ariva Beijing Luxury
Ranked #2,262 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed for three nights in a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious and had heaps of space for the four of us. The location is good with the main road only five minutes up the road, heaps of buses going downtown for next to nothing and lots of atms around for cash. There is a 7/11 across the carpark - cheap beer and snacks - there is quite a smell in there and I don't know about eating some of the food in the heating servers. The front desk were helpful and always smiling. The only issue was cleanliness of the apartment - it didn't really feel hotel clean but it was okay - though we did have to keep the kitchen door closed the whole time. We didn't bother eating at MCS as the food was very average and even with the breakfast included in the price we decided that cornflakes and milk from 7/11 was better. There was a great restaurant up the road about 5 mins walk called De Tai Lou - nice food, reasonable price and walking distance after a few drinks - the menu is a laugh. Chips or french fries are called "Department of the Bombing" - the kids had them every meal just to say it. Overall the apartment is okay, space for a family of four (sharing beds), the 7/11 is handy, good location and the De Tai Lou is lovely for a meal.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 67 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 27, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed in this hotel last October. We had some mixed feelings about the place - some good, some bad, but none fantastic or horrible.

First impressions were mixed. We were arriving late at night and once we navigated into the city and onto the street of the hotel it took us 20 minutes to actually find the place. It's not directly on the road, but off in a plaza, with no well lit signage at night and no direct driveway. Our poor taxi driver didn't know where it was either, and we just kept circling around. Finally we spotted it, and had to lug our bags over a grassy median and through a parking lot to get to the hotel.

The reception staff was extremely friendly, a young woman who was very enthusiastic even at the late hour. Her english was pretty good.

The hotel itself feels old and creaky, but it's not necessarily a negative thing. The main halls and lobby all seemed quite clean and well cared for. There are two elevators to access the rooms.

The room itself was a one bedroom loft. A split level with living/dining/kitchen/bathroom on main floor, and bedroom/shower/bathroom on top floor. It's rare to find a one bedroom two bathroom hotel room. The shower is a wet room style - you shower over the sink and among some grimy looking pipes. The furniture seemed clean but not new, the rooms were the same. They were definitely not spotless (lots of dust and grime in the bathrooms, cracks along the walls), but they were not filthy enough to make us uncomfortable - no bugs or real causes for concern, just well worn. The bed sheets were relatively clean (I had a black smudge on my pillow case).

Generally we were happy with our choice - great location, good service, rooms were okay. I could see that a place like this would be great for a family, or to have a space to hang out (the split level made it feel more like a home rather than a hotel room). We enjoyed it for what we needed it for - a bed to come home to at night, and a shower.

The hotel is located on a side street (Jianhua Nan lu), just off the main strip of Jianguomenwai Ave. There is not a ton of stuff right around the hotel, but there is a 24 hour 7-11 store (great to buy water, snacks, etc), and Jianguomenwai gets you to all the attractions in a flash. If you are traveling alone you might want to taxi it to the hotel at night as the side street is not well lit.

There was also a great cafe right around the corner - breakfast was included for hotel guests there every morning, which was quite tasty, a mix of continental and chinese fare. Also we'd go there late at night for some tea, to use their free wireless internet and listen to their great jazz music. The staff at this cafe were so friendly, and they made a mean cup of tea.

I'd probably stay here again if I were on a budget. If I could splurge a few more dollars I'd probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

The 3 bedroom apartment we stayed in was great in design, we loved loft. But the large apartment was not very clean. We have to wear disposable slippers to walk around. Mineral water was only given on first day. All other hotels we stayed in during our trip gave us 2 bottles of mineral water every day every room. The toiletries are also not properly replenished. We had to use one roll of toilet paper collected from a previous hotel. But our apartment was serviced daily. Problem with the air-con remote control was speedily remedied. Front desk staff have to be trained to greet guests, many just ignore you. Bellhop, some open the door for you and greet you, but not others. Assistant manager was helpful and courteous throughout, from reserving room to checking-out. She even called to find out how we were. If only all the staff can be trained to be of her quality.
It was the same with the MCS coffee around the corner, which provided breakfast for the Luxury guests. Helpful, obliging, but could do with more smiles. Food was o.k., my only worry are the occasional flies. But there are covers for the dishes. But I didn't take the jams.
The security in the hotel is assuring, but the laundrette room is outside of the security door in the carpark in basement 1. A bit scary to go there, I zoom in and out as soon as I can each time. 3 washers and 2 dryers (1 more out of order) were inside the room, each machine require a bronze coin from the front desk costing RMB 20. Washing powder is provided free in the room.
There is a 7-eleven in front of the hotel, very useful. YongAnLi subway station is 15 mins walk away. From there you can reach Tiananmen, forbidden city, wangfujin street, tiantan, etc. easily. Fast food, small eateries, restaurants abound in the vicinity, some just round the corner, some 15 minutes walk away. I recommend De Tai Lou (restaurant) which is 3 min walk away. Chinese food, cheap and takeaway allowed. Traffic in the vicinity can be quite heavy at times though.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodlandsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights and found it a welcome respite after a long day sightseeing around Beijing. Rooms were roomy, clean and comfortable , breakfasts in the attached restraunt were reasonable although simple, although they offered no cereal and when asked did not know what cereal was. We used taxis extensivly and found the cost minimal from this central accomadation. Its not a 5 star hotel but for a family (5 adults) it was very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brisbane96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My partner and I just spent 6 nights at the Luxury Serviced Residence in a 1-bedroomed apt. We found it was a great base at very reasonable rates (We paid $56/night).

Apartment:

The apartment was huge - which was a nice change from some of the other micro-rooms we stayed in while travelling around China - with a lounge area, separate kitchen and bathroom downstairs; and the bedroom, desk area, second bathroom - and even a separate clothes drying room (which we made good use of) upstairs. The space is so large that there are 3 air conditioners to keep it cool. The funishings were definitely on the cheap side and a little worn, but perfectly adequate and the bed was comfortable. Apt had free internet.

We found the front desk staff friendly, but not terribly knowledgable. The workout room is reasonable with a couple of running machines, universal equipment and some free weights.

Location:

The location is fine - the good news is that all the main tourist spots are only about a $2.00 taxi ride away. The bad news is that all the main tourist spots are a $2.00 taxi ride away!! The only thing of interest within walking distance is the Silk market. The nearest subway entance is about a 10-15 min walk (right by the Silk market).

The apartment complex is hard for taxi drivers to find - it is near the base of the road on the Western side. Just keep an eye out for signs for the 7/11.

Nearby Amenities:

As others have mentioned there is a 7/11 less than 2 min walk, as well as a huge Western style supermarket in the SciTech plaza about a 7 minute walk away - with everything you could possible want. There is also a street of Western style restaurants on Xiushui St ( directly behind the Friendship store) popular with the large expat population in the area. Includes an American diner and an excellent Tibetan restaurant we ate at one night.

Cons:

The only thing that annoyed us is that machines in the laundry room require tokens (at $4.00 a pop) which you have to buy at the front desk. We bought a half dozen when we first arrived and ended up having a couple left over at the end of the week. When we went to return these to the front desk we were told that they were nonrefundable. (They gave us a weak excuse that the money had already been logged by accounting!!) - even thought the money is just stored in a small tin along with the tokens. It would have been nice if they had told us that when we bought them!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiwi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 29, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Zhongguancun
ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,645 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,950 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#60 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,486 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva Beijing Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva Beijing Luxury

Address: No.17 Jianhua South Road, Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariva Beijing Luxury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ariva Beijing Luxury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Serviced Residence Beijing Hotel Beijing
Luxury Serviced Residence Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing