We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, hard beds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dongfang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dongfang Hotel
Ranked #207 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Hitchin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food, hard beds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour group, nice rooms, although the beds are very hard (this seemed to be a common thing across the hotels we stayed at in China). Breakfast had a huge range of offerings, kiwi juice was lovely! Nice bar area with a lovely little outdoor area. Wifi in the coffee lounge area only. We had dinner at the hotel one evening which was really nice and not too pricey either.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank missjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    43
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
15
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were a group of four ladies and we spent four nights at this hotel at the beginning of our holiday. Hotel was clean, and staff friendly. Room and beds were comfortable, breakfast was buffet style so there was something to suit all tastes. The bar area was comfortable, but service was slow and drinks were expensive for the measure you are given. The area however was not very good, it was a quiet area and apart from a few little local restaurants and a shop there was not much more. We did walk a bit further afield and found more restaurants however, which we did use on two occasions, and food was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice hotel, although expensive breakfast and only free Wifi in the expensive coffee bar. Biggest problem was customer unfriendly mentality. After the daily cleaning of the room, I noticed that a bag of (inexpensive) stuff was missing from the bathroom (comb, brush, some body cream, small bottle of perfume). Instead of helping me or giving me some sort of compensation for what I believe was a mistake from the cleaning lady, they called the police and I had to tell the same story to a total of 7 (!!!) different police officers of which only the last one (foreign police) spoke English. It was clear that none of the hotel staff wanted to admit they might have made a mistake and they practically called me a liar. This kind of treatment has never happened to me again during my trip in China. It just was a total waste of my valuable time in Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is dated, but has a certain charm to it. The room was very average for China standards, the furniture was a bit run down and the bathroom was pretty small. As far as location goes, it is not close to the metro, so we spent a lot of time taking the bus and transferring to another bus or the metro. Fortunately, taxis are a good option, too, a 20 plus minute ride was only $6. Wifi was important to me and they only had wifi at the adjacent coffee shop, where you had to buy something to get the code and it was very expensive ($8 for a coffee). I was very surprised that this hotel does not offer wifi at least in the lobby for its guests, very disappointing to me. The breakfast was the best I saw in similar Chinese hotels, it had a nice variety of both Chinese and western options. There is not a lot to walk to in the area, though we did have dumplings at a local place across the street and they were amazing, so don't be afraid to give it a try!

Room Tip: I found noise traveled in the hallway, try to get a room at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, building is old, no parking, lobby is small, lifts are slow.... but rooms are comfortable and clean

Location was perfect for me, being a Muslim, I need muslim food and this problem solve here, this hotel is located on a square, and at a 1 minute walk found muslim food restaurant, food was mostly BBQ, really tasty, a photo of muslim food restaurant is attached with this review for reference only. There is a general store across the, can buy water, drinks etc

Have a nice trip ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zubair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our first chinese hotel and was most satisfactory. The room was good size and clean although the bathroom was ready for re-grouting! We ate at both the Coffee House and in the main restaurant during our 3 night stay. The coffee house supplies excellent sandwich snacks of a western style, plus a variety of cakes. Tsingtao beer is refreshing and cheap. The restaurant serves superb chinese food and is cheaper to dine in than the coffee bar! We had a full meal plus beer for around £8 per head on our first evening.

The hotel is handy for Tian An Men Square and the Forbidden City. This is significant as all vehicles move extremely slowly in Beijing and it really is easier to walk to places within range!

Checkout is a bit of a nightmare. This seem to be a chinese peculiarity-rooms are thoroughly checked before you can leave. One of our party was involved in a contretemps re a mark on a towel. The price of a new towel was demanded, however our guide took the matter into her own hands with a judicious bit of hand washing -and the seemingly indelible mark was no more!!

On the whole a very adequate hotel in a good position forr sightseeing!

Room Tip: Our room was above the main entrance. Plenty of action in the day but perfectly quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in March 2013 for 3 days. We had a triple together with my friends, it was a large and comfortable room, clean bathroom, nice staff. I really enjoyed the european food from breakfast (cheese especially) as for the rest of our tour in China (about 10 days) we didn't get to see any in the other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Beijing Dong Fang Hotel
Beijing Dong Fang Hotel
#210 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#137 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#129 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#169 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongfang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongfang Hotel

Property: Dongfang Hotel
Address: No.48 Chezhan Road, Tongzhou District, Beijing 101100, China
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#201 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dongfang Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dongfang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongfang Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing