We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #22 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic. The rooms are really spacious. They are like suites. The interior design is very elegant and classic. You feel like you are staying in a European hotel! The staff are great and friendly and helpful. The location is amazing. It's a walking distance from the forbidden city and Zhongshan road. It's great for business and vacation stays.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marafi_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Marafi,

Many thanks for devoting some time to share your feedback about your recent experience at Raffles Beijing Hotel with fellow travellers.

We thank you for calling our hotel “Fantastic” and we very much appreciate the fact that you chose Raffles while in Beijing.
It is nice to know your visit was a memorable one and I look forward to perhaps meeting you in person on your next visit to the Middle Kingdom.

Warm wishes,
Chadi Chemaly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    366
    134
    43
    15
See reviews for
326
610
112
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Selected this hotel by 5 star rating and proximity to the Forbidden City. Was not very pleased with the experience.
Writing more just to satisfy a foolish request of this tripadvisor format - 200 character minimum. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank LaPlante3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for having taken the time to type in 200 characters as required by tripadvisor.

Whilst you appraised us with the highest possible rating, allow me please to apologize for the fact that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We would certainly like to hear more detailed feedback about your experience and how we could have served you better.
A full rating yet with a “not very pleased” described in your review is obviously not good enough for us and we hope you will be reaching out to us in the near future to discuss further our shortcomings with you.

Sincerely,
Chadi Chemaly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Raffles Beijing occupies one of Beijing's most historic buildings - formerly the Beijing Hotel - with a brilliant location minutes from Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and the popular Wangfujing district. In true Raffles style, the hotel is elegantly decorated throughout to create an Oriental ambiance of a bygone era. We love that traditional environment whereas others may seek modern lines.

If you gain your first impressions at check-in, we were certainly impressed. We had literally just got off a plane and a rickshaw tour of the hutongs - so were a little crumpled and hot - but we were greeted in a welcoming and friendly manner - shepherded to comfortable chairs - and very efficiently checked-in - while enjoying a cool towel and cool drink. We also meet the Raffles Hotel Ambassador - John Spencer - who introduced himself and offered his assistance and help at any stage in our stay. It was a feature of our stay at Raffles, the Front Desk Staff, Concierge and Duty Managers were always ready to have a friendly word whenever you entered or crossed the lobby. It is a pleasent experience to return from a day's sightseeing to a "welcome back".from a member of staff.

We had a Landmark Suite on the 4th Floor - clean, comfortable and very well-equipped - consisting of a lounge area, bedroom, bathroom and WC. There was plenty of space and it was extremely quiet. We were busy sightseeing most of the time so used very few of the other facilities of Raffles but my wife did greatly enjoy the swimming pool.

We ate out most evenings during our stay but thoroughly enjoyed the meal which we had in the Writer's Bar the first evening. After 16 days of travel, restaurants and bars, the Writers Bar came as a quiet haven where we could enjoy a drink and some "comfort" food - in our case, steak tartar and fish & chips followed by two lovely desserts. The service was cheerful and immaculate. The breakfast was good - another international buffet catering for a wide range of international taste with the usual egg station.

Our departure was relatively early in the day at 6:45 but the check-out was quickly completed and we were able to enjoy breakfast before departure. As we left the hotel we were engaged in a friendly conversation by the duty manager - a nice touch.

We were immensely impresses by Raffles Beijing - not just for its facilities and position - but we were impressed by the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear LadyMolestrangler,

Thank you for your recent review of the Raffles Beijing Hotel. It was very heart-warming to read your kind words and we certainly appreciate all the time spent to share your pleasant experiences with us.

Here at Raffles, we pride ourselves with the personalized service we provide and I was happy we were able to make that impression on you; John was especially ecstatic to be singled out by you! Thank you for also raving about the Writers Bar, an iconic jewel where a visit to Beijing is not complete without our famous Afternoon Tea! It is also said that back in the early 1920’s, on its original Dance Woodflood is where many dignitaries were hosted by leaders of the country for tea and welcome receptions.

Quality food & service go hand in hand here at the Raffles, our executive chef was thrilled to get the feedback on your meals; being a Heritage hotel with the right talent indeed helps us to concentrate on being the best we can be. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Raffles Beijing Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Chadi Chemaly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A great historic building with fantastic main circulatory spaces with lots of marble and brass. Centrally located in easy walking distance of Tienanmen square and the Forbidden City amongst other things. The underground station is also within a few metres of the main entrance.

Our standard room was larger than many suites I have been in on lesser hotels, it included two bathrooms!

Room Tip: Look out for good deals on hotel central booking sites and don't eat or drink there and this can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. In three words, "Truly excellent opulence"! I read your title before reading your review, you truly have made our day here at Raffles, thank you so much! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues. It truly is encouraging to be appreciated.

While we also understand your tips in regards to our competitively priced, yet fine food and beverage offerings, I would like to point out that our executive chef is constantly running food promotions in an incomparable setting at the famous Writers Bar to accommodate all tastes and value sensitive guests. My favorite is the current Burger Promotion where East meets West with a selection of delicately engineered burgers with flavors and ingredients from different parts of China.

Peter, thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and let me personally know whenever your trip to Beijing brings you back to Raffles as I would love to personally say hello.

Warm wishes,
Chadi Chemaly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location! We could walk to the Forbidden City. The service was good too. We even got a room upgrade. Loved the room. Helpful staff and Concierge. I would recommend and stay there again. I wouldn't have lunch or dinner in their restaurant. Breakfast was good though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jyoti_823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay of Raffles Beijing Hotel. I am delighted you and your significant other had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the complimentary upgrade.

Your comments are very much appreciated as we do try to give every guest our best attention. The concierge team was especially thrilled to be singled out by you; I will certainly pass on your thanks to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Chadi Chemaly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel itself was nice but a bit old for a five-star; the room was clean and comfortable. However there was a definite air of "snootiness" when staying here. They told us we can't eat "fast food" in the lobby while we were waiting for our cab to pick us up for our day trip; we just grabbed McDonald's breakfast from Wangfujing next door which consisted of simply a coffee and a sandwich. The concierge and servicers also appeared somewhat stuck-up to me as they are probably used to servicing officials and money-splurging types.

I appreciate this is a five-star hotel but frankly, in most other hotels of this caliber in China and elsewhere the #1 priority should be to cater to the guests' comforts, and I did not get that here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wxs2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. As always, I am grateful of the time our guests take to review us which subsequently not only assists us in improving, but also opens up other fellow travelers’ eyes on hotel practices and cultural differences.

In that case and as many other colleagues in hospitality would concur, it is not uncommon in most hotel around the world especially in luxury hotels to prohibit consumption of meals bought outside the hotel, in their outlets. Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We deliver our brand through thoughtful and welcoming, charming and graceful service and facilities. It is our focus to ensure the comfort of all our guests not only their private rooms but also in publics areas and outlets.

On the other hand we were disappointed to learn that you personally felt the hotel was “old for a five-star”. Established in the early 1900's, Raffles, with it's iconic French-Orient colonnaded façade, has for nearly a century been the choice of visiting Royalty and diplomats, and travelers with a sense of style and occasion. Our Lobby, hallways, rooms and suites are sumptuous and unique; celebrating the best of Beijing in beautiful style - Classic French-Orient architecture and old world charm, lovingly restored with wood floors, sparkling chandeliers and Oriental rugs. Our hotel consists of two buildings, the Heritage building and our new tower, which offers junior suites with a very modern and contemporary interior and design. As we understand design is a matter of personal preferences, our feedback from guests including tripadvisor reviews has been mixed proportionally. Should you return to Raffles Beijing Hotel in the future I would like to recommend looking at these rooms rather than the rooms in the Heritage building.

On behalf of my team and I, I thank you again for the feedback. I hope you will get an opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.


Most sincerely,

Chadi Chemaly
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Beijing Raffles is not the cheapest hotel in the Dongcheng District, but as they say"You get what you pay for." What we got was a beautiful room, attentive hotel staff, lovely meals and a location that was walking distance to many of the tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Before heading out exploring, stop and speak with the hotel's ambassador. He is a very nice Brit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLeah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Leah,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Though our pricing is very competitive with other ultra luxury hotels in Dongcheng, we are thrilled that you felt you got value and more for what you paid for! On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I have also made sure to pass your appreciation to John who was ecstatic to be singled out by you.

Leah, I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.


Yours sincerely,

Chadi Chemaly
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,432 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,436 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#34 of 6,520 in Beijing
541 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,520 in Beijing
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Property: Beijing Hotel NUO
Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District | No. 33 East, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#21 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#97 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing