We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #24 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is an excellent hotel, brilliant service with associates speaking perfect English. The room was amazing, truly. The service was perfect, the internet good and the location is the best n Beijing..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Raffles Beijing Hotel with what is your first official Trip Advisor review!

It was very heart warming to read your experiences and am grateful to you for sharing them with us and our prospective guests. On behalf of the team, thank you once again; the time you devoted to recapitulate your experience could not have summarized any better the excellence we strive to display on a daily basis here at Raffles.

We hope to see you again soon.


Warm wishes,

Chadi Chemaly
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,714)
There are newer reviews for Beijing Hotel NUO
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel is mostly perfect - great service in a great location and spacious rooms with all the amenities you'd need. The hotel 'ambassador' gets a special mention for taking the time to help me out and show me around. These are the subtle differences between a run of the mill Intercontinental and Raffles.

Breakfast was fab - one of the best I have ever had. Note that if you want to go swimming, you will need to borrow a swimming hat (!).

Sadly the room (in the main block) was far too hot - even when the a/c was set to 15 degrees. It looks like I'm not the only one here who is bothered by it and it really doesn't bode well for a good night sleep. I'm a bit gutted about it as I want to return but can't risk it again.

The internet in your room is terribly slow unless you pay - which is also a shame.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Whilst it was a great pleasure to read it and thankful for all your kind words, you can imagine my disappointment knowing that we blurred what could have been the perfect experience with the room temperature. As you may already know by now, we are unable to control the temperature in the rooms. Heating and cooling is government controlled. The Chinese government turns on heating on November 15 every year and switches to cooling mid April. This is a general practice for residential and commercial buildings. While we are fortunate to still have a cool weather at this time of the year, this unfortunately does not help us to push for more cooling. This should certainly not serve as an excuse but as an apology for the discomfort you experienced. I will also certainly pass on your lovely comments to my team and especially our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner. “Living on his throne” in the lobby, he is one of the first persons you see and definitely the last and it is nice to know once again that John has made another magical China experience for someone.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury; hence, we were delighted to get such candid feedback by a “hotel expert”!

Warm wishes and we hope to welcome you back again.


Warm regards,

Chadi Chemaly
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I decided to go to the Raffles last weekend as we were in town for the Beijing Great Wall Marathon. The Raffles is an elegant and beautiful hotel with a fantastic location. The room's design is sophisticated and luxurious, and extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet the next morning was a real treat with a huge selection of delicious Western and Chinese food options. Too bad I was there for only one night, but will return for sure next time I am in Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattXian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Accolades and sentiments of appreciation such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

We would also like to congratulate you on the participation of the marathon and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffle Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Raffles Beijing was the first stop on a two week visit to China with my daughter and it did not disappoint in anyway! The hotel is historic, well located geographically and it's Ambassador John Spooner heads a service team second to none. From recommendations, to problem solving, to ordering train tickets, to just sharing a chat, John is a delight. We set out each day with directions and safety tips and John was always interested in receiving a full report upon return. Demi, Peter, Li and Dave provided exceptional support in their positions. Thank you and we will see you all again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Lauren,

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the personalized services our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner and his team extended to you. We will share your remarks with John and we know that comments and accolades such as yours will encourage John and his team to further enhance their services.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing in the near future.


Kindest regards,

General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was meant to be a mother's day treat from my sister and me to our mom (Dad too was invited) however the stay was truly one of the most unpleasant our family has experienced.

Within the first hour of check-in to the room, we continued to feel hot and thus called housekeeping to check on the room a/c since the temp set was showing as 15C, realized then itself that language will be a bigger challenge then envisioned (despite this being the Raffles). The guy simply came and played with the controls and left showing a "thumbs up" as the only means of indicating all was well. Having spent the night sweating in the room, it was only in the morning did we even find out from the reception lady at the time of making a complaint about the air-con, that the entire hotel's system is down and has been like this for a while. All of this again being the fault and sole responsibility of the local partner (The Beijing Hotel, which is attached to this property).

I personally find this wholly unacceptable that a hotel of the Raffles kind, would not bother to intimate guests even before landing if not at the time of check-in atleast about this BASIC amenity which they would not be able to provide.

After asking to speak with GM, I was asked to wait since he was busy, however 20 mins into the wait, the duty manager came over and said that she had been authorized to offer us an upgrade to a suite (needless to say it would come without a working aircon however a "cooler" would be put for our use). Not to forget the fact that my sis and I would continue to have to stay in our original room since all other rooms were occupied.

My parents were put in the Tang Dynasty Suite for the remaining 2 nights, the housekeeping staff brought a broken cooler and it took another 4 attempts before they found one which was in working condition. My dad also happened to find a dead cockroach in the bathroom the last night of our stay.

It was strange that the concierge did not even know about the locations of some of the most famous restaurants in town, this despite giving them the general vicinity of the establishment (language barriers in this case were totally apparent). Surprisingly we found one of the doormen had far better English skills and knowledge of attractions thus he ended up telling cab drivers where we needed to go.

While the hotel provided us with complimentary breakfast on the last day, I certainly do not think this in any way compensates for the relatively sleepless nights spent by the family on what ended up being a entirely unmemorable / disappointing trip. The hotel is not worthy of being a distant associate of the Raffles brand for it would be unjust to club the REAL properties with this bad apple. I most certainly will not return to this property in future trips.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Alokie,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing!

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

Our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests. We are committed to making a difference every day; continually getting better to keep us the best. Only by candid feedback and comments such as yours are we able to identify opportunities to continue to improve on our products and services. On this occasion we seem to have failed you.

We were certainly disappointed to learn about your experience regarding the room temperature. Unfortunately, we are currently unable to completely control the temperature in the rooms. Heating and cooling is government controlled. The Chinese government turns on heating around mid November every year and switches to cooling between mid and end of April. This is a general practice for residential and commercial buildings. In addition, it is correct that the cooling and heating of all buildings within our block is centralized and controlled by Beijing hotel, our neighbor. To somehow compensate for this shortcoming we here at Raffles Beijing offer mobile heating and cooling units which is not ideal however, helps to somehow control room temperature. This should certainly not serve as an excuse but as an apology for the discomfort you experienced. In addition we have communicated these challenges with Beijing Hotel and since then this problem has been solved.

I have also discussed your challenges with Housekeeping and the Concierge department with all concerned department heads in order to initiate re-training programs. Again, I like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused and I would like to thank you for constructive feedback, since only through candid comments such as yours are we able to improve our services and facilities.


Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Raffles Beijing has a lot to do to catch up others in the Raffles chain. Hotel position is fabulous. However, it is a bit old and the carpet is not clean. There is no tea or coffee bags in room. Handware wise, it is good. Software wise, a lot to improve.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Yong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

We trust this note finds you well and we thank you for staying with us. I would also like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor with us.
Unfortunately, your report was not very detailed and hence, I would kindly ask you to revert back to us with more information regarding potential shortcomings so we are able to address them accordingly. May I kindly ask you to send me personally a mail to generalmanager.beijing@raffles.com ?

I am very much looking forward to receiving your report.

Warm regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Great location. Friendly staff. Lovely building.
However, if you've ever been to another Raffles, you might be left very disappointted with Raffles Beijing.
Service quality is a bit hit and miss, mainly due to communication issues (reception not passing on messages to other departments).
We got tired of any problem being the fault of "them"; ie the hotels local Joint Venture partner.
Rooms are swelteringly hot and when we asked for air con to be fixed we were told "they" controlled it and there was nothing Raffles could do... It was only May and already hot so I dread to think what the room temperature is like in august ! A fan was brought to our room but this just moved the hot air around...
For a supposedly 5* hotel (and we did pay 5* prices) we were left very unhappy with the customer care in this case.
The executive lounge is ok, but again it is not the level of an international 5* chain.
The location really is excellent, but the hotel can be considered "decent" at best. Raffles management need to be aware that this hotel will make customers question their brand loyalty.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank KJG75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for staying with us and second I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts and sentiments with us.
Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We deliver our brand through thoughtful and welcoming, charming and graceful service. On this occasion we seemed to have failed you.
As you can imagine, I was extremely disappointed to learn about the challenges you experienced due to the language barrier as well as the air-condition. We have addressed your concern with the company that controls the air-con and they have adjusted the system. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,460 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,478 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#36 of 6,531 in Beijing
547 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#9 of 6,531 in Beijing
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District | No. 33 East, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#23 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#107 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $155 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing