We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a rich grandparents' Place”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #26 of 6,564 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed at the Raffles while visiting Beijing in 2013. Got a very attractive rate and was positively surprised by the experience. The highlight definitely goes to the staff and service, that treats you like a king. This was probably one of the best check-in experiences I had in a hotel. During my stay China Fashio week was going on in the same building which was a nice plus in terms of glamour and experience.Food at the hotel restaurant was very good with relatively good value given the setting. Location is top notch given you are very close to the forbidden city and too good shopping and food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaocalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for your kind letter and the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us. At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best.
Therefore it is a great pleasure to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services such as yours.

Thank you very much again for sharing your thoughts with us.


Warm regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed at Raffles Beijing in the summer of 2012, during my first trip to Asia. I've been lucky enough to stay in some very nice hotels in my life, and believe this is my favorite.The building is gorgeous and the location is fabulous, but what makes this Raffles so special is its people.

David bent over backwards to make our time in Beijing unforgettable, steering us toward amazing restaurants, giving us advice on what to see and do, and even bailing us out of some difficult situations and acting as an impromptu translator over the phone while we were exploring the city.

We booked 3 or 4 days of sightseeing with the hotel's tour guide during our stay. Sadly, I'm blanking on the guide's name right now, but he was a lovely man who was fluent in English, and I believe he had 1 or 2 PhD's, including one in Chinese History.

Our guide took us to Summer Palace, Forbidden City, the Great Wall, the Ming Tombs, the hutong, Olympic Village, and some lesser-known places. Upon our request, he also took us shopping for jade, tea, silk, etc. His stories really brought the history and culture of Beijing to life for me. I would highly recommend booking a tour with him -- he's a gem.

Whenever I hear someone is going to Beijing, I tell then they have to stay at Raffles. I had a magical time there, and hope to return someday. Thanks again for all of your hospitality!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoltergeistGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We deliver our brand through thoughtful and welcoming, charming and graceful service.

Therefore, accolades and sentiments of appreciation such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

Should your travels lead you again to Beijing we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Raffles.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A Lovely, classical old style hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The service level was great and impressive. The rooms are very elegant and comfortable too. Clean and cozy. The location of the hotel is very strategic as they are located in the down town. well recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to say a belated “thank you” and express my sincere appreciation for your stay with us.
It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us at Raffles and the culture, history and shopping Beijing has to offer. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were upgraded to one of the gorgeous suites with a sunken sitting area and one and a half bathrooms. The bed was perfectly comfortable, the monsoon head in the shower rejuvenating, and the staff was very welcoming and accommodating. We felt pampered and well-cared for and would definitely stay at the Raffles again. Stefano from the management team welcomed us upon our arrival and immediately attended to our needs setting the tone for a very nice stay. Even though the air quality outdoors was hideously toxic, the Raffles provided safety and luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kakw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.
Here at Raffles our goal is creating emotional luxury by offering thoughtful, welcoming, graceful and charming service. Certainly, location meaning the close proximity to Wangfujing, the Forbidden City and other sightseeing highlights of Beijing are very important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed and were wowed by our personalized services. We will share your report with Stefano Belucci and we are ceratin that accolades such as yours will encourage Stefano to even further improve his services.
Should you return to Beijing we would love to welcoming you again to Raffles!


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was good enough for Nixon during the ping-pong diplomacy era, and it was certainly good enough for me. Within steps to China's most famous shopping area (get a foot massage, really) and Forbidden City, it's perfectly located. The strett out front is very busy, but the traffic didn't create a noise issue, probably because my room was high enough. I particularly liked the ability to open the window and enjoy the semi-clean air. Yeah, the air quality in Beijing is awful. It is still a wonderful and vibrant city - and this hotel is an historic paert of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high and facing the street. Tianamen Square views!
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation and we treasure you having taken the time to share your experience during your business trip to Beijing with us on TripAdvisor .

We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best. Therefore it is extremely rewarding to receive positive remarks about our services and facilities such as yours.
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Beautiful foyer and the suites had delightful touches however it was the service that was exemplary. Nothing was too much trouble and all delivered with a graciousness rarely experienced these days. Sage was outstanding, anticipating our needs without presumption and knowing the balance of engagement and allowing us to enjoy the privacy of the lounge area allocated. The service desk assisted with private tours and transfers all completed easily before we arrived - fabulous.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you and your daughter for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

What you have described in your review is exactly what we strive for. Our philosophy is being an “oasis for the well-travelled”. Hence we were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the personalized services our Raffles team extended to you. We will certainly share your remarks with Sage and we are convinced that comments like yours encourage Sage as well as all his colleagues to further enhance their services.

Once again thank you very much for being our guest.


Sincerely,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Can't go wrong with Raffles, Beijing. Lovely, classical, old style hotel. The staff are excellent - front and back of house. We stayed in a suite on the 6th floor at the front of the hotel. Very busy road but not disturbed by noise. Room was a little hot for us but we found that simply turning off the heating in the room pretty much resolved the problem and we were immediately provided with a stand alone air conditioning unit to lower the temperature further if we needed. The food in the hotel is very good. We ate at the Jaan restaurant (French influence) twice and it was superb. Lovely, intimate atmosphere. The other restaurant in the hotel is also very good (Western & Asian dishes). The breakfast spread is extensive. But the location of the hotel is a winning factor. A very short stroll to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City in one direction and to an extensive shopping district (both a new high end mall and older eclectic shops) in the other. Also very close to several subway stations - subway straight forward to negotiate with directions and announcements in both Chinese and English. The concierge organised our tours for us with car and English speaking guide, (Linda - very good) and all were highly enjoyable and hassle free. Had a great time. Thank you to everyone at Raffles.

Room Tip: Higher floor if you are at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerlady L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing!

Thank you for your recent stay with us as well as for the time you took to comment about your experience on TripAdvisor.

At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best. Only by candid comments are we able to identify opportunities to continue to improve on our products and services.

Therefore, we were thrilled to learn that our service and facilities as well as the location of Raffles Beijing exceeded your expectations. We will certainly share your report with all our colleagues and we are convinced that positive remarks such as yours will encourage them to even further improve their services.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us.

Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#17 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,564 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,564 in Beijing
2,508 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#34 of 6,564 in Beijing
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#43 of 6,564 in Beijing
2,930 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,564 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District | No. 33 East, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#25 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#89 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $148 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing