We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service you dream of!”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #26 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Beautiful foyer and the suites had delightful touches however it was the service that was exemplary. Nothing was too much trouble and all delivered with a graciousness rarely experienced these days. Sage was outstanding, anticipating our needs without presumption and knowing the balance of engagement and allowing us to enjoy the privacy of the lounge area allocated. The service desk assisted with private tours and transfers all completed easily before we arrived - fabulous.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you and your daughter for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

What you have described in your review is exactly what we strive for. Our philosophy is being an “oasis for the well-travelled”. Hence we were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the personalized services our Raffles team extended to you. We will certainly share your remarks with Sage and we are convinced that comments like yours encourage Sage as well as all his colleagues to further enhance their services.

Once again thank you very much for being our guest.


Sincerely,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Can't go wrong with Raffles, Beijing. Lovely, classical, old style hotel. The staff are excellent - front and back of house. We stayed in a suite on the 6th floor at the front of the hotel. Very busy road but not disturbed by noise. Room was a little hot for us but we found that simply turning off the heating in the room pretty much resolved the problem and we were immediately provided with a stand alone air conditioning unit to lower the temperature further if we needed. The food in the hotel is very good. We ate at the Jaan restaurant (French influence) twice and it was superb. Lovely, intimate atmosphere. The other restaurant in the hotel is also very good (Western & Asian dishes). The breakfast spread is extensive. But the location of the hotel is a winning factor. A very short stroll to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City in one direction and to an extensive shopping district (both a new high end mall and older eclectic shops) in the other. Also very close to several subway stations - subway straight forward to negotiate with directions and announcements in both Chinese and English. The concierge organised our tours for us with car and English speaking guide, (Linda - very good) and all were highly enjoyable and hassle free. Had a great time. Thank you to everyone at Raffles.

Room Tip: Higher floor if you are at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerlady L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing!

Thank you for your recent stay with us as well as for the time you took to comment about your experience on TripAdvisor.

At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best. Only by candid comments are we able to identify opportunities to continue to improve on our products and services.

Therefore, we were thrilled to learn that our service and facilities as well as the location of Raffles Beijing exceeded your expectations. We will certainly share your report with all our colleagues and we are convinced that positive remarks such as yours will encourage them to even further improve their services.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us.

Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful and quiet hotel. Raffles is definitely the one you should stay at. With very nice staff and exceptional service we already want to go back to Raffles Beijing. Centrally located, good breakfast and nice staff. Go there!
Ms Vikstrom

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikstroem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Beijing. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us at Raffles Beijing.
We were thrilled to learn that our service and facilities as well as the location of Raffles Beijing exceeded your expectations and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

the hotel was an old colonial building and located very near Silk Market/Street.. the deluxe-room was very large with one bathroom that is divided into 2 sections: the shower room and the toilet+bath-tub room.. the bathroom is also very large, but sadly the shower room was too small for me..
what dissapointed me the most is the staffs served us for check-out process.. we processed the check-out a night before since we want to leave early the next morning.. the female staff miscalculated the bill 2 times! then we want to exchange our USD into RMB, but they couldn't give us the amount we asked.. the male staff said that the amount of exchange was limited per hotel room and we found that we haven't reach the limit (since we booked 3 rooms).. but then he admitted that they didn't have enough cash (in RMB) as we asked before.. then why he first should tell us different reason? so not professional..

Room Tip: the double bed room provides city view and our twin bed room provides back of the building next to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

First, I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor and on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us.

I was delighted to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

On the other hand, I was disappointed to learn about the challenges you experienced during check-out. I will address your concern accordingly in order to prevent a similar event from reoccurrence. We hope that this incident will not prevent you of staying with Raffles Beijing Hotel in the future.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night over Chinese New Year. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was lovely! The meal we ate at east 33 was disappointing and the hotel bar was very expensive. However, the location near Wanfujing was very handy and central.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Little_Welshie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us.
It is always a great pleasure to receive positive remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with and the close vicinity to the Wangfujing shopping district.
On the other hand we were disappointed to learn that you found our food & Beverage offerings disappointing and pricey. Our prices are in line with our competitors in the Wangfujing area however, we at Raffles offer a daily Happy Hour at our Writers Bar from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. during which all drinks served are 50% off. I would also like to mention that during Chinese New Year up to today we offer a Noodle & Dumpling promotion with all dishes below 10 US$.

Once again thank you for your constructive report.



Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

What makes the Raffles special is the personnel: from Ambassador John to the "interns", everyone is trying their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. When there was a problem with an electrical socket, they went out of their way to make sure I could read at night and left a little chocolate on top! The club lounge is a great place to meet fellow travelers and get some tips on the city.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherinegagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for your kind letter and the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us. At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home. What makes us special is a combination of two things – what we bring to the world and what we bring to every single person who visits Raffles. These are the very heart of our brand. The first describes what we are: an oasis for the well travelled. The second is what we bring to every one of our guests. It`s not about what they get, it is about how they feel. Emotional luxury.

Therefore it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services and facilities such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations, that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will certainly share your report with our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner his team and all our colleagues and we are convinced that accolades and sentiments such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have stayed at many top hotels globally, from the Grand Wailea on Maui and the Grand Hyatt on Kauai, to the Park Hyatt in Sydney, Australia, the Fairmont in San Francisco, the Hotel Okura in Tokyo, the Shangrila in Shanghai, and the Mandarin in Hong Kong, but the Raffles Beijing is by far my favorite place to stay. The rooms are splendidly clean, warm and welcoming, and the hotel employees are the most amazing of anywhere I've had the pleasure to stay. Everyone from the Hotel Ambassador(s), the day managers, the concierge, the wait staff, the bellboys, the executive lounge attendees - simply everyone - are the most pleasant, welcoming people I've met at a hotel anywhere…domestic or abroad. I have truly made the Raffles Beijing Hotel my headquarters while in Beijing and will continue to call this my "home away from home" for what will hopefully be years to come. From the first time I stayed through this most recent trip, I have always felt comfortable and warmly welcomed. It's truly an amazing experience.

Room Tip: I generally stay in the back building, which is very well appointed, very clean and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel. Thank you very much for your report on TripAdvisor.

First and formost, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your experience with us.
Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us. At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best.
Therefore it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that Raffles Beijing is by far your favorite place to stay.
We will certainly share your report with John, our Raffles Ambassador as well as with all other colleagues and we are convinced that accolades and sentiments such as yours will entice him to even further improve his services.
Thank you very much again for sharing your thoughts with us and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,524 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,584 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,568 in Beijing
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#30 of 6,568 in Beijing
575 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#42 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District | No. 33 East, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#25 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#97 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $142 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing