We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #23 of 6,158 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,467 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,188 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

After staying in Raffles in Singapore many years ago, we decided to treat ourselves to Raffles in Beijing. We had an amazing 6 nights. We were sat down on arrival given tea whilst waiting to check in. Our room was ready early for us, which was much appreciated after a long overnight flight.
The rooms are very spacious. Entrance way, lounge, bedroom and bathroom. All a good size. The bed was huge and very comfy.
The service throughout the stay was excellent, our every request was catered for. The gym was excellent and the pool was large for a hotel pool, although a bit on the chilly side.
My only 2 negative observations were that you can always hear noise from the outside. However this is to be expected for a city centre hotel. Plus some of the fittings in the bathroom look slightly dated. However this certainly didn't spoil the visit and I would go back and highly recommend to others
A special mention has to go to John Spooner, the Raffles ambassador. What a great guy. So friendly, helpful, happy the list goes on! He has some great recommendations and advice on this city.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation based on your experience at our flagship in Singapore and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our personalized services. Your special mention of John Spooner we will share with him and his team and we are certain that comments such as yours will encourage John to even further improve his personalized services.

We have noted your comment regarding noise from Chang An Avenue in your profile and will for future visits assign a room to you facing the back of the building.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.


Warm regards,



Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    348
    129
    40
    14
See reviews for
306
578
107
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

After making a long research about Beijing's 5 stars hotel, we (a family of 5 persons), decided to choose to stay at the Raffles, although we were not famliiar with the brand. We took 2 rooms, including the lounge package, and stayed there for 4 nights, beginning on September 3, 2013.

What can i say - this was a fantastic choice, and an unforgetable stay.

We have stayed in many luxury hotels across the world, but i have to say that this is one of the very best of them.

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, the service was perfect, breakfast was rich and delicious, and above all was the lounge, and its staff, so we will use this opportunity to express
our sincere feelings for the wonderful professionalism and the excellent service, of Mr. Sage Li and Miss Doris Zhang from the lounge's staff.

Sage and Doris assisted us in every way. They gave us a solution for every request. Every thing was done with a smile and a pleasant attitude. Because of them there was a very good atmosphere in the lounge.

No doubt that Sage and Doris contributed greatly to our successful visit at Beijing.

No doubt that Raffles is going to be our hotel, during our next visit to Beijing.

Thank you Raffles hotel for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: The package of the business room with the breakfast and the lounge, is excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L17S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Here at Raffles our goal is creating emotional luxury by offering thoughtful, welcoming, graceful and charming service. Certainly, location meaning the close proximity to Wangfujing, the Forbidden City and other sightseeing highlights of Beijing is very important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed and were wowed by the personalized services Sage, Doris and our Lounge Team provided you with.

Should you return to Beijing we would love to welcoming you again to Raffles!


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Raffles Hotel Beijing is perfectly located and a gorgeous property being a Raffles but what makes it stand out are the staff, including and most especially Coolio (Li Ling) the concierge. Two of us were there on business with a schedule that was changing as we went. Coolio reorganized our plans several times, orchestrated cars, train tickets, dinner reservations and a phenomenal private trip to The Great Wall. He was always able to help us do what we were trying to do and have endless suggestions of how to make it better. The best concierge I have dealt with in years - what an incredible asset to the hotel - and to our trip.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better you'll see the Fobidden City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynC208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Carolyn,

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you felt the hotel is located in the right area and that you enjoyed the personalized services our Concierge, his team and all our colleagues extended to you. We will share your remarks with Li Ling and all our staff and we know that comments and accolades such as yours will encourage them to further enhance their services.

We certainly are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Raffles Beijing.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Did my research before arrival in Beijing
Not disappointed and would highly recommend
Attentive to all my needs and great location
Subway almost at door and easy to use to access most highlights of Beijing
Most enjoyable short stay made even more so by the special attentiveness and friendliness of John Spooner who is the Raffle's ambassador extraordinaire.
Also special mention to Sage Li who helps manage the Executive Lounge and was helpful and had great recommendations.
This is a great hotel
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Docballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Accolades and sentiments of appreciation such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities. Thank you very much for your praises for John and Sage, which we will certainly share with them.

Should your travels lead you again to Beijing we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Raffles.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the raffles hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, excellent breakfast and great location for visiting the sights. Most importantly the employees were excellent - without exception. John Spooner - the hotel Ambassador, deserves a special mention and he helped to make our stay in Beijing very memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the personalized services our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner and his team extended to you. We will share your remarks with John and we know that comments and accolades such as yours will encourage John and his team to further enhance their services.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We travelled in a family of five, 3 generations, from 70+ to 3 y.o. The surprise began when we were greeted by the driveway and immediately led us to sit down inside the beautiful hotel foyer, offered us a drink whilst waiting for check in. Such a soothing thing after a tiring journey! Even my 3 y.o with non-business attire was made felt welcome with an orange juice. John the ambassador was totally totally magnificent and offered superb attention. Despite for our family holiday maker look - he treated us as if we are royalty. The location was brilliant - 10 mins walk from Tienanmen Square and Wang Fu Jin. An ideal business and tourist location. Raffles is truly a luxurious hotel both inside and outside. The customer service is suffice to say excellent and worldclass! Will definitely return again. Where else would you find a five star hotel with John the head of staff, the executive centre staff and reception to all come out and bid us farewell. Take care John, you are a true ambassador and must be proud to "father" such a team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Cecilia,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Accolades and sentiments of appreciation such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

We will certainly share your report with our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner his team and all our colleagues and we truly hope being able to welcoming you back to Raffle Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

After two weeks of traveling around Tibet and China, it was a welcomed finish to a fantastic trip. Beautiful suite, friendly employees, & great service. Now I have a hotel to recommend to my friends and associates traveling to Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIK15W53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Beijing and the time you have taken to write your report on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and we trust you had a safe onward journey.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel should your travels lead you to the capital of China in the future.


Kindest regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#32 of 6,158 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,158 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,158 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#7 of 6,158 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#26 of 6,158 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Property: Beijing Hotel NUO
Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#166 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting Oriental refinement and French élan, Raffles Beijing Hotel epitomises refinement and exclusivity. Established in the early 1900s, this luxury Beijing hotel was then proclaimed as “the only deluxe hotel in the Far East”. A century on, guest rooms and suites draw inspiration from the golden age of travel but are technologically enabled with discretion for 21st century living. Personality Suites pay homage to luminaries from the hotel’s fabled history while Raffles Inc Business Rooms cater to business travellers on the move.Indulge in gastronomic delights at this Beijing hotel. Innovative French cuisine takes centrestage at the elegant Jaan Restaurant which recalls the glamour of the 1920s with glittering chandeliers and its original timber dance floor.The vibrant East 33 meanwhile offers international fare and the popular weekend Seafood Extravaganza.Ideally situated at the crossroads of famous Chang An Avenue and the district of Wangfujing, Raffles Beijing Hotel lies in the heart of the prestigious business and commercial districts, a few minutes from historical attractions such as the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, the Silk Market, and modern marvels such as the ‘Water Cube’ National Swimming Centre and ‘Bird’s Nest’ Olympic Stadium which captured the world’s imagination during the Summer Olympics of 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing