We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room and breakfast”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #28 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is located about 10 minutes from Tian'anmen and very close to Wangfujing. Very convenient location, especially for tourists.

Service is good and above the normal Beijing standard. Room is big and well maintained (I stayed in the new block.) The toiletries are not good brand name products that match this hotel status.

Decoration in the common area, especially outside the lobby, is not something that I would call 5 stars, but still OK. Not very pleasing to the eyes only, and just one of the normal Chinese hotels. Inside the room is, however, another story. It is tastefully decorated.

The buffet breakfast is better than another five star international hotel in Wangfujing. Both the choices and quantity are not bad.

This is a historic building that used to be the only decent place to stay in Beijing before China opened. But beside the lobby, everything is almost new and modern.

It is definitely good for both business and leisure visitors. Price not high (corporate rate) and really good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember06092015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and your positive comments regarding the location of our hotel as well as the quality of our breakfast buffet. We agree with you that our bathroom amenities could be better and therefore, we have started to develop a new line of amenities end of last year with a company based in California. We are very excited being able to introduce this new bathroom amenity line to our hotel in December this year. Its scent, Pomelo & cucumber as well its unique packaging were created exclusively for Raffles Beijing Hotel.

We also noted your remarks regarding the design of the atrium connecting the heritage building with the modern part of the hotel. The heritage building comprises of 94 colonial style rooms and suites which compliment the design and historical feel of the Lobby and Writer’s Bar the 77 rooms located in the auxiliary building are contemporary designed rooms and so is the atrium.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This has got to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world! It is fantastically located; the rooms and service cannot be faulted. The staff cannot do enough to help you! The complex has everything you could ever wish for. I loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlemissg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay as well as the location, our services and facilities here at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

We are very appreciative of all the positive comments regarding our colleagues, your room and your service experience. The biggest compliment certainly is to learn that felt we are one of the best hotels in the world.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.



Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My recent trip occurred during the heat wave, where the temps were consistently in the high 90's. the hotel was a real oasis. I cannot say enough about the attentiveness of the staff. The rooms were large by any standard, efficient and comfortable. I can't speak to the quality of the restaurants, except for the buffet breakfast which was varied ans sumptuous although not up to Hong Kong standards (but what is?). An excellent experience over all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pileated11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our personalized services.

On the other hand we were certainly disappointed to learn that you felt our breakfast buffet is of great quality but not up to Hong Kong standards. I have discussed your remark already with my Chef and we will take the necessary action to become even better.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned home, following an unforgettable trip to China.We spent some time in Shanghai (which was amazing) and then nine wonderful days at Raffles in Beijing.The Hotel was excellent in all aspects.

After a four hour train journey, we arrived at the hotel, where we were welcomed by the staff and refreshed with a delicious pot of jasmine tea.When we were ready,we were shown to our rooms,which were clean,comfortable and spacious.

The Hotel has a warm,welcoming ethos and we found Raffles Ambassador,John Spooner, particularly helpful.As well as advising us about our stay, John also gave us tips and advice about getting around Beijing and about life in China in general.One of the reasons for our visit was that one of our sons is studying at Peking University, so this was especially useful for us.John struck us as a very caring individual who was genuinely interested in making our trip enjoyable.

We found all members of staff courteous and helpful.The breakfasts had great variety and were delicious.The restaurants were very good, offering a wide range of culinary delights.

"Sage", (who runs the lounge extremely well) deserves special mention for the way in which he went out of his way to look after us.He was polite, professional and friendly in his manner, and also made a great Tequila Sunrise!

So we have many happy memories of a wonderful trip.Our sincere thanks go to all at Raffles-recommended without reservation-and we certainly hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank von0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Veronica,

Warm greetings from sunny Beijing and the Raffles Beijing Hotel team!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for your report and the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you and your family for staying with us. At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best.

Therefore it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that John and Sage were able to make your stay a memorable one.

Veronica, we will certainly share your report with our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner and his team as well as with Sage and we are convinced that accolades and sentiments such as yours will entice all of them to further improve his services.

Thank you very much again for sharing your thoughts with us.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Undoubted best of the 3 parts of the Beijing Hotel complex - for the international traveller anyway. Genuine absence of smoke in non-smoking rooms, very clean and all the staff speak very good English. And of course, the unique ever friendly and helpful Mr John Spooner, where else can you find another one!

But minor points - the bidet should work, and not take 3 days to fix, unless it is meant for show and not for use. Butter and butter knifes would be useful at breakfast tables or available easily without having to ask. Labels for Greek yogurt should be used for Greek yogurt only (which was not available - the next day the labels were changed to 'Plain yogurt'). The bedroom curtains should close fully and completely. Newspapers should not be 2 days old at the Breakfast restaurant.

But certainly a very good hotel with great history and at an unbeatable location.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Beijing. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and that you arrived safe and sound back home.

On behalf of my entire team I would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I will share you report with John and all of our colleagues and I am certain accolades and sentiments such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.

Our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests. Candid feedback and constructive criticism such as yours are extremely helpful, encouraging and push us to continue improving on our products and services. We will discuss your cooment on our breakfast service with the respective department head in oder to prevent reoccurrence.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our holiday on our way to Europe. We booked online in advance. Obviously this is Raffles and our level of expectation is high - we were not at all disappointed with any aspect of our stay.
The greeting from the staff from check in to departure was always friendly and welcoming with nothing too much trouble. We were also greeted by the Hotel ambassador John Spooner who gave us a comprehensive run down of what was available to us and the offer of assistance should it be required.
We booked a suite which was spacious with everything you could possibly need - a very nice place to come back to after a long day touring Beijing's sites. Drinks in the bar were very relaxing with excellent service.
You couldn't wish for a better location to access the sites or stroll around the corner for retail therapy if that is your thing. The next time I am in Beijing I know where to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled”. Our goal is creating emotional luxury by offering thoughtful, welcoming, graceful and charming service. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed and were wowed by our personalized services. We have noted your positive remarks regarding our Raffles Ambassador Mr. John Spooner and the Writers Bar team and will certainly share those them.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing.


Warm wishes,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very good situated ( only 15min from the Tian Anmen place). We stayed there for 3 days and the breakfast we had was very good with a lot of choice. The room indeed didn't smell good. The corridor was also a little musty. But what we didn't appreciate at all was the guy who came talking to us when we took our breakfast. He was asking if everything was ok, but he went to each table and sometimes he took a seat and babbled a long time. ( He also gave us his business card… what's this for…?) Each move we made was controlled and someone asked us if we need something else and that was really annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteFunny_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We agree that location and the condition of facilities are extremely important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. Offering assistance and helpful recommendations for the day ahead during breakfast through our guest relations team is part of our service. Most of our guest also appreciate receiving a business card in case they like to get help or advice during their stay. It seems that you felt differently and I will address your concern and feedback with John Spooner, our Raffles Ambassador and his team to use a more sensitive approach in the future.

Once again, thank you for your candid comments.


Kindest regards

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,631 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#44 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,568 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#29 of 6,606 in Beijing
591 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District | No. 33 East, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#27 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#91 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $144 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing