We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #22 of 6,492 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
boca raton, fla
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Raffles for 3 days post cruise. From the moment we arrived at the front door to the moment we left, we were made to feel so welcome. Nothing was ever too much for the staff. Beautiful hotel with elegant rooms and wonderful food!! The staff was so interested in our experiences in Beijing as well as the many other places we have visited. My husband and I felt like they were our long time friends. Other friends stayed at other hotels in Beijing but I think we struck gold with the Raffles!! Would definitely stay again and recomend to all (including my travel agent). Thank you Raffles for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claxtonbocaraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from sunny Beijing!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly share your comments with all our colleagues and please be assured that the fact you felt to have struck gold with staying at Raffles is one of the biggest compliments for us.


Kind regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    366
    134
    43
    15
See reviews for
323
609
111
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Easy check in, rooms as described with great beds and superb sheets, and variety of 3 restaurants in the hotel if you are too tired from sightseeing and don't want to hunt for a decent restaurant.
Front desk staff attentive and room cleaning with detailed turn down service is what made me add the extra star to the rating.
Should also mention that the rooms are a bit cold (as described by another contributor), but they quickly brought up a stand alone plug in heater that took the chill out. The heater (gently blowing warm air) was also instrumental in blocking out the sound from the daily 3:00am construction site across the street each of the three nights we were there. Guess there is nothing much the hotel can do that though. Looked like it was non-official people collecting construction material left on the side walk as they were banging away and trying to pry metals apart. We were in building 7 in an even numbered room. Ask for a room with odd numbers in building 7 and you will face the other way.
Tip: if you want the heat to stay on in your room when you leave the room you have to leave a room key in the wall slot. If you remove the key when you leave, everything, including the heat, will shut off. Do take the time to turn the lights out to save electricity though.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank New_York_Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the personalized services our team extended to you. We will share your remarks with all our colleagues and we know that accolades such as yours will encourage them to further enhance their services.

On the other hand we were certainly disappointed to learn that the temperature in your room was not to your liking. Unfortunately, heating and air-condition is centralized and controlled by the Chinese Government and beyond our control. The government switches off the heating for all commercial and residential buildings mid March. This should certainly not serve as an excuse but as an apology for the inconvenience caused.

We hope this matter has not negatively influenced the overall enjoyable stay and we are very much looking forward to welcoming back to Raffles Beijing in the future.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have travelled the world and the closest hotel in service to Raffles Beijing is the superb Hotel Splendide Royale in Lugano. At Raffles, every phase of service was superb - Welcome, Check in, Room Service, Check-out. Its high tea, in which every item was produced by scratch in their excellent kitchen, rivalled that of the finest London salons. 3 waiters inconspicuously attended to our every need. The staff is friendly, attentive, plentiful, and fast. Our enormous luxurious room overlooked one of the great Beijing Boulevards (with balcony) and is across from the seat of the Chinese government. Our room service meal was of the highest quality and excellent value. We cannot use enough superlatives to describe this hotel. It is also a bargain compared to other global hotels of this class!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Beijing. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and that you arrived safe and sound back home.

On behalf of my entire team I would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I will share you report with all of our colleagues and I am certain accolades and sentiments such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.

Our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests. We are committed to making a difference every day; continually getting better to keep us the best. Feedback and comments such as yours are extremely encouraging and push us to continue improving on our products and services.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Wow! What a joy this hotel is. 7 wonderful days in Beijing, made all the more enjoyable by the super staff at Raffles. The inital point of contact was the Aussie Raffles Ambassador - the amazing John Spooner and his assistant Chris. Their Forbidden City tour was very special - full of quirky information and great fun. Gavin, in the delightful Writers Bar ( our home away from home) was always there with his smile and fantastic service. The rooms were immaculate at all times, and we were welcomed back, night and day, by the friendly reception staff and concierge. So convenient; full of history; great service. Highly recommend the hotel car service. All you need for this exciting city.

Room Tip: Landmark Room - every time. Style, comfort and convenience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennySco1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely happy to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Here at Raffles our goal is creating emotional luxury by offering thoughtful, welcoming, graceful and charming service. Certainly, facilities and location are very important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. Hence, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed and were wowed by our personalized services.

Should you return to Beijing we would love to welcoming you again to Raffles!


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Any reader will know from the reviews before mine - and the many yet to come - of the comfort, perfect location and excellent reputation of Raffles Beijing. All of this is true, but there is something more. Something that is often referred to but rarely understood in the Trade - and even more rarely delivered.

Hospitality means making your guest feel comfortable and cared for without servility or intrusion. Staying at Raffles delivers this on all levels. John Spooner, the hotel ambassador is rightly a legend - both in the Press as well as here. He is backed up by Chris and Cindy, both young but showing the benefit of their guru's training. As a result, I have no doubt they will face a deservedly bright future in the industry and be a credit to John. The front of house manager, Chadi was debonair, charming and highly efficient and his team also showed the benefits of working with a master. A special mention to David at the concierge desk and front door for his always going the extra, extra mile.

I have spent three weeks in the hotel in the last three months while arranging - and attending a cross-cultural family wedding in a city outside Beijing. As always, such things are stressful and rarely go according to plan. But by basing myself at Raffles I developed an instant back-up team. Last minute requests for the impossible were always delivered and the entire staff appeared to care how I was doing with it. This ranged from friendly enquiries to the most wonderful local etiquette advice - and John was always there with a joke, a cup of tea - or a quiet glass of wine at the end of a long day.

Before the wedding, we entertained around 40 guests in Beijing for two days. Many of them also stayed at Raffles and the Writer's Bar was our natural gathering point. All of our guests - whether resident or not - were overwhelmed at their reception and the staff's awareness and excitement at what we were doing. By the day of the wedding it felt very strange not to have them all there with us - and indeed, we did invite John.

I have been trying to pin down the essence of the Raffles approach and I think I would sum it up as intelligent, caring and effective help rather than simply "service". And always delivered with - not only a smile - but a twinkle too.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank TK_L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mrs. Kreitman,

Greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for your kind report on TripAdvisor and the time you have taken to share your thoughts and sentiments with us.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us. At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best. What we bring to our guests is emotional luxury. It is not about what they get, it is about how they feel.

Therefore, it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services and facilities such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations, that you enjoyed your time with us. The biggest compliment you certainly made us by stating you felt our approach is “intelligent, caring and effective help rather than simply "service". And always delivered with - not only a smile - but a twinkle too”.

We will certainly share your letter with Raffles Ambassador John Spooner, his teams and all our colleagues and we are convinced that accolades such as yours will entice them to even further improve their services.

We are very happy we were able to make this very special event for you even more special.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We travel to Beijing regularly for business and have stayed at Raffles around 6 times, we have just made another booking for this week for 3 rooms. Above all the service at Raffles is excellent, one of the best in the world (we are frequent international travelers). From the moment we arrive we feel extremely welcomed and looked after, specially by John, the ambassador and the managers. The buffet breakfast is fantastic, the suites are brilliant and the location is great. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent business trip to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that even after the 6th time with us we still exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffle Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Last week, march 2013, my husband and I spent 3 days at Raffles, our only disappointment was that we could not stay longer. The staff were attentive, with a special mention of John Spooner, the rooms immaculate and the food delicious. There was nothing better after a long day sightseeing than to have a drink in the writers bar before dinner. Marks out of 10, we would give it 10.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for selecting Raffles Beijing Hotel during your recent visit to Beijing.

We are truly delighted to learn that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations during. Your positive remarks are gratifying and encouraging for our colleagues to continually enhance their performance.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again to Raffles Beijing in the near future.


Warm wishes,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,492 in Beijing
1,398 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,492 in Beijing
2,417 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#42 of 6,492 in Beijing
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,492 in Beijing
342 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,492 in Beijing
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Property: Beijing Hotel NUO
Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#21 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#98 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing