We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location, Service and Quality”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #22 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Southern New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location, Service and Quality”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My fifth trip to China for business, accompanied by my wife making her first trip. We chose Raffles based on a colleague's recommendation for the Beijing start to what would be a 4-city, six day itinerary. We arrived late; staff rushed to rearrange rooms all booked separately so that Maggie and I would be in the same part of the hotel (the older section--you should try for it) as my colleagues, with whom we'd be traveling on. The Raffles Ambassador, Mr. John Spooner, appeared as we were heading down to breakfast the next morning and provided local advice and support for not only the Beijing portion, but lent me ties for the upcoming business meetings. (Note to self: if you pack more than a day ahead for an important trip--double check everything before departure.)

As it turned out, we had the opportunity to come back to Beijing the night before our return flight, in order to avoid a challenging departure day with multi-hour trains, racing from Beijing South station to airport, etc. I asked Mr. Spooner if if might be possible to book at the last minute; he remarked, "send me an email, even the day of, and we'll take care of you." Business ended at dinner that evening and we took the late flight to the capital. One colleague accompanied us on the whirlwind back to Beijing; two rooms were waiting.

There are a lot of choices of upper-end hotels in Beijing. Raffles is 5 minutes' walk to Tian'Anmen Square, near all kinds of shopping, and the entire environment is one of unhurried elegance. Coupled with unparalleled personal service from the staff, this was a six-star visit. Our team will be making Raffles home base in Beijing from now on.

Room Tip: The hotel has an older and a newer section. We ended up staying in both areas. There is a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us during your business trip.

It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services and facilities such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations, that you enjoyed your time with us. It is for sure extremely rewarding being considered your team`s home base in Beijing during future visits.

We will certainly share your report with John and all our colleagues and we are convinced that accolades such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    366
    134
    43
    15
See reviews for
326
610
112
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Genève
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is conveniently located close to the Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. We stayed 3 nights. The first day we ate at the Japanese restaurant of the hotel and sushi were not extraordinary!
The buffet breakfast was quite varied and fairly standard. The room was comfortable and very spacious. In contrast, the Spa treatments were not good and when we were at the pool at the hotel, we have found that some were still entrenched traditions ... a Mr. spat on the ground leaving the pool and in the jacuzzi .... yuck!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our personalized services.

On the other hand we were certainly disappointed to learn that you experienced mediocre service at the Spa and pool and that you were disappointed with your dinner at the Japanese restaurant. All these facilities are unfortunately operated by third parties at the auxiliary building and not under our control which should not be an excuse but an apology. We hope these incidents have not spoiled your overall positive experience at Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Raffles is a hotel of a very high standard. All the basics are in place: it is clean, the rooms are large, and the service is absolutely brilliant. What do I mean by this? Well, we mentioned to a 'guest ambassador' that we planned to do some walking in Beijing. Out of nowhere, a walking tour book arrived in our room, with a note telling us to enjoy ourselves and wrap up warm. They have service totally nailed.

We ate here only at breakfast - there are so many other places in Beijing for lunch and dinner. However, the breakfast buffet was superlative. Name a possible breakfast food item (and many things you would never imagine eating for breakfast) and you could bet there would be ten varieties of it. You'll be full until at least lunch, if not dinner.

So why only three stars? Well - I try to compare like with like. In trying to compete with the Ritz-Carltons and Four Seasons of the world, you invite comparisons. And it's in these comparisons that this Raffles falls down. There is something about the vibe of the hotel that I didn't really like. It was massive: the corridors were huge, as in some Vegas 'resort' hotel. Much of the interior was panelled with dark wood. There was a lot of marble. Carpets were thick and dark. Everywhere was just a little bit too cold: especially the massive but frigid pool, and the no-warmer jacuzzi.

Perhaps I just don't get the Chinese design style. That could well be part of it. However, I've stayed at similarly luxury hotels (Mandarin Orientals, Peninsulars, Ritz Carltons) in Asia and they've not had the edge of creepiness I felt here.

You may love this hotel. There really is nothing wrong with it at all (apart from the pool temperature). It has many strong points. But for me, it had the atmosphere of a 1980s stetch limousine: it lost glamour by trying to be so self-conciously opulent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rossjamesparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Beijing. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and that you arrived safe and sound back home.

On behalf of my entire team I would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
Our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests. We are committed to making a difference every day; continually getting better to keep us the best. Feedback and comments such as yours are extremely encouraging and push us to continue improving on our products and services.

On the other hand we were disappointed to learn that you personally did not like the interior design of the hotel. Established in the early 1900's, Raffles, with it's iconic French-Orient colonnaded façade, has for nearly a century been the choice of visiting Royalty and diplomats, and travelers with a sense of style and occasion. Our Lobby, hallways, rooms and suites are sumptuous and unique; celebrating the best of Beijing in beautiful style - Classic French-Orient architecture and old world charm, lovingly restored with wood floors, sparkling chandeliers and Oriental rugs. We understand that design is a matter of personal preference and agree with you 100% that some guests will love it and some will not.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing.



Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location of hotel is close to forbidden city and shopping. The rooms are good size and comfortable. The staff treat customers like they are special guests. The morning breakfast is above average while the meal consumed in same restaurant in the evening was poor and service was poor; complained without resolution. Overall my stay was satisfactory and I would return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MapleLeafontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

Greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

We are delighted to learn that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations during your stay with. We have noted your positive comments about the breakfast buffet as well as your disappointment during dinner. We will discuss this point with our Executive Chef and will ensure to improve our offerings and service during dinner time. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor. Only by candid comments such as yours are we able to identify opportunities to continue to improve on our products and services.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is located in the city center, near the Forbidden City. It is beautiful and quiet. Once you enter this hotel, you will leave the dust and noise behind. The room has hardwood floor instead of carpet, spacious separate sitting area, luxurious bathroom. It is a winner all-around.

Room Tip: The restaurants in the hotel are extremely expensive. There are good eateries on nearby Wangfujing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shenesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you appreciated the central location of the hotel and that your stay as well as our services and facilities here at Raffles Beijing Hotel exceeded your expectations.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Raffles is located perfectly for a trip to the forbidden city and for shopping in the city center.
The Hotel itself is very clean and has a of charme from his architecture. Staff is very helpful and the morning buffet is one of the best I ever experienced. The price is a bit in the higher range but this hotel is 100% worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marantz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to express our personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of the entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, we would like to express our sincere appreciation for you staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Once again, thank you!


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel while staying in Beijing. The location is excellent. The staff is friendly and very helpful. If you need anything, there is always someone there who can help you. The rooms are large, well-appointed and clean. When I return, I would enjoy staying at the Raffles Beijing Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Accolades and sentiments of appreciation such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

Should your travels lead you again to Beijing we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Raffles.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,422 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,432 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#33 of 6,520 in Beijing
541 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,520 in Beijing
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Property: Beijing Hotel NUO
Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District | No. 33 East, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#21 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#102 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing