We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #26 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Raffles Beijing in a Landmark Room. The room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable.

The staff was friendly and very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one.

The hotel is in a fantastic location for Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, Mao’s Mausoleum and adjacent to a very large shopping mall.

I would definitely recommend Raffles Beijing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Accolades and sentiments of appreciation such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

Should your travels lead you again to Beijing we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Raffles.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights with breakfast. Fabulous service, the breakfast choices in the restaurant were very good, my husband had omelette made to suit, I usually opt for cereal and fruit - and the selection was extensive. The hotel is just next to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. John, the Aussie Ambassador, met our group and checked us in - over jasmine tea and a chat. Just lovely. John is also the go-to guy for tips on where to go etc.

The room was large, well appointed and with high ceilings. It is very plush, and quiet. We faced the main road but was not bothered by the traffic at all. The bed is so comfortable - and huge. Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Rosie,

Thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the location, our facilities as well as the personalized services our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner and his team extended to you. We will share your remarks with John and we know that comments and accolades such as yours will encourage John and his team to further enhance their services. We also noted your positive comments regaring our breakfast buffet and will share them with Our Executive Chef Christian Rose and his team. The biggest compliment certainly is to learn that you awarded Raffles Beijing Hotel as the best hotel you ever stayed in.

Rosie, once again, thank you very much for staying with us.


Sincerely,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed 2 days at this hotel, in a business trip. The room was big and comfortable, but what really made a difference for me what the staff. Very friendly, very proactive, and willing to meet any request at any time. I absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloLondonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us and I would also like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. Everyone working at Raffles behaves consistently, every minute of every day, to deliver what our guests expect from us. We at Raffles are thoughtful and welcoming, charming and graceful.

Hence, it is a great pleasure to receive such positive remarks. We are delighted to learn that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we are very much looking forward to the opportunity welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Raffles Hotel in Beijing was a wonderful experience. The staff was first-rate and very helpful in arranging for all our needs from booking our tour guide and dirver, to recommending great dining and other activities. The High Tea Service is very nice-- and the grand old hotel gave you a sense of English Imperalism at its height. The historic hotel was not always a Raffles, however, it served as a main gathering point for Mao and the Communist Party in it's hey day which is evidenced by the black and white photographs displayed in the man bar and restraurant area. A combination of both traditional and modern (new section), Raffles was a wonderful base from which to venture out into Beijing and the outlying area.

Room Tip: As for the best most comfortable bed available-- The front balcony area was particularly interestin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel on March 22. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall experience very much and we will certainly share your very positive remarks with all our colleagues.

We also like to thank you for pointing out the two parts of the hotel. We understand that some of our guests prefer our colonial style rooms in our heritage building others, mainly business travelers like the contemporary rooms in the auxiliary wing better. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that you liked the combination of both traditional and modern.


Sincerely,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked Raffles Beijing following a pleasant experience at Raffles in Cambodia. Our faith was rewarded with exceptional service and friendly hospitality at the busiest time of the year - Golden Week. Our Hotel Room was large and well appointed. We received a warm welcome from all staff who were not only very professional but took personal pride in delivering excellent customer service and genuine hospitality. Our package included a good breakfast, with the same high quality service at the other restaurants of the hotel, and throughout all hotel amenities. The close proximity of the hotel to the major attractions of Beijing made it an excellent choice for easy relaxed sight seeing - saving time, money and stress when getting around. A happy experience, we highly recommend Beijing Raffles.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Beijing. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

On behalf of my entire team I would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

Our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests. We are committed to making a difference every day; continually getting better to keep us the best. Feedback and comments such as yours are extremely encouraging and push us to continue improving on our products and services.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing.


Kind regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After almost two weeks of t no sleeping comfort on a trip on the transmongoolian railway, arriving at the Raffles felt like heaven. We were greeted by fantastic staff and given a tour of the facilities before we entered one of the most beautiful hotel rooms I have ever seen. The room consists of a beautifully decorated livingroom, a bedroom with a huge and comfortable bed and a large and clean bathroom with all the amenities you need.
The brakfast buffet was amazing with every choice possible. We did not have any other meals here so I can not comment on that. There is a huge gym and in the basement there is also a SPA. The SPA is however the only thing that was not so good. It was extremely expensive, and although nicely decorated, the staff spoke almost no English and the massage was not that good in my opinion.
Location is superb with only a short walk from a good shopping street in one direction and the forbidden city and in the other.
Like one og the staff members said: This is THE hotel in Beijing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves-to-travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us and I would also like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We deliver our brand through our unfailing way of behaving – the personality that people see. Everyone working at Raffles behaves consistently, every minute of every day, to deliver what our guests expect from us. We at Raffles are thoughtful and welcoming, charming and graceful.

Hence, it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive such positive and encouraging remarks. We are delighted to learn that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. We will certainly share your report with all our colleagues and, we are convinced that accolades such as yours will encourage them to further improve their services.

On the other hand, we were disappointed to learn about the challenges you experienced with “In One Spa”. The Spa is located right next to our Raffles Amrita Gym in the atrium that connects our heritage building with the auxiliary wing. However, Raffles does not operate the Spa. “In One Spa” is just like the Japanese restaurant on the first floor a tenant of the atrium building and services provided are not under our control. We will certainly share your experience and disappointment with the Spa operator.

Again, thank you for recommending Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is simply lovely. It has all the charm of Raffles, is in an amazing location and has lovely rooms. Our room was spacious with lovely comfortable beds which are sometimes difficult to find in Asia and the breakfast was sumptious and scrumptious (with an amazing array of foods to choose from). The staff were extremely helpful and though our visit was short, we would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Beijing. I know we'll be back for sure! Thanks to everyone at the hotel, it was memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly share your comments with all our colleagues and please be assured that the fact that you will come back to stay with us again when your travels lead you to Beijing is one of the biggest compliments for us.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,526 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,568 in Beijing
412 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#30 of 6,568 in Beijing
575 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#42 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District | No. 33 East, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#25 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#97 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $138 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing