We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay-- Deep in the heart of China”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #22 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great Place to Stay-- Deep in the heart of China”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Raffles Hotel in Beijing was a wonderful experience. The staff was first-rate and very helpful in arranging for all our needs from booking our tour guide and dirver, to recommending great dining and other activities. The High Tea Service is very nice-- and the grand old hotel gave you a sense of English Imperalism at its height. The historic hotel was not always a Raffles, however, it served as a main gathering point for Mao and the Communist Party in it's hey day which is evidenced by the black and white photographs displayed in the man bar and restraurant area. A combination of both traditional and modern (new section), Raffles was a wonderful base from which to venture out into Beijing and the outlying area.

Room Tip: As for the best most comfortable bed available-- The front balcony area was particularly interestin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel on March 22. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall experience very much and we will certainly share your very positive remarks with all our colleagues.

We also like to thank you for pointing out the two parts of the hotel. We understand that some of our guests prefer our colonial style rooms in our heritage building others, mainly business travelers like the contemporary rooms in the auxiliary wing better. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that you liked the combination of both traditional and modern.


Sincerely,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    366
    134
    43
    15
See reviews for
326
610
112
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked Raffles Beijing following a pleasant experience at Raffles in Cambodia. Our faith was rewarded with exceptional service and friendly hospitality at the busiest time of the year - Golden Week. Our Hotel Room was large and well appointed. We received a warm welcome from all staff who were not only very professional but took personal pride in delivering excellent customer service and genuine hospitality. Our package included a good breakfast, with the same high quality service at the other restaurants of the hotel, and throughout all hotel amenities. The close proximity of the hotel to the major attractions of Beijing made it an excellent choice for easy relaxed sight seeing - saving time, money and stress when getting around. A happy experience, we highly recommend Beijing Raffles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Beijing. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

On behalf of my entire team I would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

Our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests. We are committed to making a difference every day; continually getting better to keep us the best. Feedback and comments such as yours are extremely encouraging and push us to continue improving on our products and services.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing.


Kind regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After almost two weeks of t no sleeping comfort on a trip on the transmongoolian railway, arriving at the Raffles felt like heaven. We were greeted by fantastic staff and given a tour of the facilities before we entered one of the most beautiful hotel rooms I have ever seen. The room consists of a beautifully decorated livingroom, a bedroom with a huge and comfortable bed and a large and clean bathroom with all the amenities you need.
The brakfast buffet was amazing with every choice possible. We did not have any other meals here so I can not comment on that. There is a huge gym and in the basement there is also a SPA. The SPA is however the only thing that was not so good. It was extremely expensive, and although nicely decorated, the staff spoke almost no English and the massage was not that good in my opinion.
Location is superb with only a short walk from a good shopping street in one direction and the forbidden city and in the other.
Like one og the staff members said: This is THE hotel in Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves-to-travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us and I would also like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We deliver our brand through our unfailing way of behaving – the personality that people see. Everyone working at Raffles behaves consistently, every minute of every day, to deliver what our guests expect from us. We at Raffles are thoughtful and welcoming, charming and graceful.

Hence, it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive such positive and encouraging remarks. We are delighted to learn that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. We will certainly share your report with all our colleagues and, we are convinced that accolades such as yours will encourage them to further improve their services.

On the other hand, we were disappointed to learn about the challenges you experienced with “In One Spa”. The Spa is located right next to our Raffles Amrita Gym in the atrium that connects our heritage building with the auxiliary wing. However, Raffles does not operate the Spa. “In One Spa” is just like the Japanese restaurant on the first floor a tenant of the atrium building and services provided are not under our control. We will certainly share your experience and disappointment with the Spa operator.

Again, thank you for recommending Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is simply lovely. It has all the charm of Raffles, is in an amazing location and has lovely rooms. Our room was spacious with lovely comfortable beds which are sometimes difficult to find in Asia and the breakfast was sumptious and scrumptious (with an amazing array of foods to choose from). The staff were extremely helpful and though our visit was short, we would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Beijing. I know we'll be back for sure! Thanks to everyone at the hotel, it was memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly share your comments with all our colleagues and please be assured that the fact that you will come back to stay with us again when your travels lead you to Beijing is one of the biggest compliments for us.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed in the hotel from Sept 27-30, 2012 for business. The guest room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Comparing with other 5-star hotels I have ever stayed before, Raffles Beijing has the most exceptional customer service. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Service was offered in a prompt manner.

Only down side was because of city regulation, empty cabs cannot drive on Chang'an Street, so it makes it hard to get a cab from the hotel. However, the staff were doing their best to get us cabs promptly.

Another thing was not pleasant was I travelled with my boss, and our flight was late and arrived in Beijing around 2am. When we checked in the hotel, one front desk staff thought we were staying together in one room. I was not happy about this kind of assumption. Hope the staff pay more attention on that in the future.

Overall, loved the hotel! First time to write a review for a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cllizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel in September. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Your candid feedback will certainly help us to improve our services and facilities.

We noted your comment regarding the assumption one of our colleagues made during check in and will discuss this matter with all staff concerned to prevent similar events from reoccurrence.

Once again, thank you for recommending Raffles Beijing Hotel.


Sincerely,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

International five star hotels in Beijing can be quit expensive these days. But if you are prepaired to book well in advance, you will still be able to find attractive rates around Wanfujing, like Regent, Hilton, Gand Hyatt, Peninsula and Raffles. We booked the Raffles. It has huge standard rooms (these are junior suites) with high quality neutral furnishings. No real views from your room, but also no street noise. We even like these rooms better than the classic and more expensive landmark rooms in the main building. The bed could be a bit softer (like Hyatt), but a soft deck is placed immediatly after calling house keeping.

Location is fine. Just a few steps away from the subway station and from Oriental Plaza (convenient if you did not include breakfast in your roomrate). Getting a taxi can be a bit of a problem since taxi drivers are not allowed to stop everywhere near the hotel. And if you finally find one, the driver may refuge to use the metre. Take a bit of time and ask concierge. One of the doormen will get you one, even if he has to walk some distance for it. Concierge is also very happy to pre reserve a taxi for getting to the airport without any extra charge. (taxis are still the best (inexpensive) way to and from the airport). Yes, the forbidden city is within walking distance. But although the hotel is ‘next door’, you still have to walk 20 minutes to the main gate.

Our doorman ‘Harry’ took his job very serious. Knowing about the city, knowing about you and your name. Our boarding passes ready at concierge? Harry will tell you if you come back from your sightseeing walk. Harry will make a transportation suggestion. Harry is just great.

We did not use the quit indoor pool. A bit too must chloride to our taste and just not enough time to try it out. On Tripadvisor we read about mixed feelings on the buffet breakfast. Well, if you do not like it (or it’s steep price), many options are on offer at the Oriental Plaza. The evining buffet though was amazing. The choice, the service, the quality were all worth the RMB 350. Sushi, high quality beef and a superior choice of desserts. Personal attention: we liked our conversation with the chef.

This is a great value hotel. Something you might not expect from a Raffles hotel. For some real Raffles Singapore fans, it might disappoint a bit, but check your much lower bill and you will understand why.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for your kind letter and the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for you staying with us. At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best.

Therefore it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services such as yours. We are delighted to learn that the offerings on our evening buffet exceeded your expectations and that you appreciated the personal attention.

We will certainly share your letter with all our colleagues and we are convinced that accolades and sentiments such as yours will entice them to further improve his services.

Thank you very much again for sharing your thoughts with us.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The staff were always polite, helpful, in all that was asked of them. Our short 3 days was pleasant to say at the least. The breakfast that was included in our package, was exceptional. That room was very comfortable. The indoor pool was great. It is very close (500m) to the major attractions such as forbidden city & the square. We were there during a major holiday period though, therefore there were a lot more people than usual, buy we wouldn't have missed the experience at all. As this was the 2nd hotel we had stayed in, in Beijing in a 10 day period, it was marginally better than our previous hotel. Each had it's own better points. But this overall was probably 4.5 out of 5, compared to the other which was a 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddyo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Beijing. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Comments of appreciation such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

Should your travels lead you again to Beijing we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Raffles.



Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,419 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,431 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#42 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#34 of 6,516 in Beijing
541 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#6 of 6,516 in Beijing
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Property: Beijing Hotel NUO
Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District | No. 33 East, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#106 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing