We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel in Beijing :)”
Review of Leo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leo Hostel
Ranked #6 of 937 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hostel in Beijing :)”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've been there with a friend, at the end of September.
Great location in the middle of Beijing marketplace.
Nice Bar\Lobby, comfy, many books to borrow or buy, and a good Wi-fi and nice atmosphere. The rooms are in a fair size and very clean.
Not all of the staff knows english well, but they were very friendly and helpfull.
The only problem that we had was a bit of a shower issue - with the water drainage, but it's not so bad.
We recommend this hostel to anybody who wants to have a good time in Beijing.
-P.s: at the same street there's a nice lady that sells good priced tickets to beijing's different shows. It's located in a small tea house near the train ticket office.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    161
    71
    41
    27
See reviews for
11
91
105
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were slightly unfortunate in our timing with staying in Beijing, arriving for the final weekend of Golden Week which is a big deal for the Chinese. So the double room that we had booked was not available and we were given a family-style triple room, which was just a large padded platform to sleep on. We didn't kick up a fuss, these things happen from time to time.
However the smell in the shower room was disgusting. Sanitation in Beijing is not the number one priority and this was no exception. The rest of our room quickly became quite damp due to the lack of air circulation and smelt of sewerage every day we were there.
The corridors were very noisy at night, being the best reception spot for wifi it's frequently used for skype calls. And a torch was necessary to find your way to your room with most of the lights not working at all once you left the bar area.
The location of the place is excellent, just 10 mins walk from the metro and pretty close to most of the stuff you'll want to see. I found the staff friendly and a couple of them with good English too which always helps, but all being quite young there was no real sense of management within the place. Asking a question involved speaking to at least four different people with no positive outcome at the end of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnoisseurCorniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We found the Leo hostel staff to be terribly unhelpful. We found them surly and unwelcoming most of the time, but were particularly annoyed at the welcome we received when we first arrived in Beijing. Having called them from Xi'an twice in the two days prior to our stay at Leo to confirm our booking we arrived to find that they did not have the rooms we required. As it was an expedition group with students and teachers we had to have a particular arrangement of rooms but found they had got this wrong. When they found out they had got it wrong they did not try to find us anything else but stubbornly offered us the same rooms that we did not want. We told them to keep those rooms available while we ate breakfast but when we got back twenty five minutes later they had given those rooms to other people and offered us something even more unsatisfactory. We also had a lot of trouble with doors breaking at our touch - keys did not seem to open the doors they were supposed to and someone found himself locked in a toilet because the lock completely broke with him in it.

Room Tip: Booking in advance doesn't guarantee you a room from our experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PD0gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in Leo hostel 2 as part of my Dragontrip. The room was actually pretty good. It was just the total lack of service from the staff that let it down. It seemed the receptionist was doing every job in the hostel so whenever I needed something, like the key to my door because they wouldn't give us one ourselves to keep, I had to wait till she had served all the people at reception until I could actually get in my room and have a shower. Also the roof was absolutely battered by a rainstorm one night and there were leaks all over the place. Walking around the hostel, you had to watch out for all the buckets that had been put down to catch the water from the leaks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottdogg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at the Leo Hostel for 4 nights in August 2013. the facilities and the location are average, the price and value for money are poor (this was the priciest place I stayed in in China and yet the worst experience I had), and the staff was very unfriendly. their attitude was always impatient and they were unwilling to help with anything that exceeded technicalities. I tried to get recommendations for markets to visit in Beijing and was hardly answered. I asked one morning for a hot glass of water and was asked to pay for it only to later finding out that there was a water tank in the inner yard free of charge. I took the day tour to the Great Wall with them, the bus arrived somewhat late so their guy kept prodding the group throughout the day to compensate for the lost time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacob_lv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Heyford
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Leo's and have got to say we have stayed in better accommodation. The back rooms some smell damp especially 508. Also their Internet connection is extremely slow.

Those are the negatives but there are also positives the trip to the Great Wall was excellent don't expect a guided tour, only transport is provided. You are then left for 3 hours to walk a very quiet section of the wall, excellent.

We tried food from a hostel not more than a 100 yards from Leo's and looked at their rooms, all of which put Leo's to shame, so our recommendation would be try 365 Inn first and Leo's as they are both at a recommended location.

Room Tip: Try booking the inner rooms in the internal courtyard. Preferably try 365 Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We got a private double room with ensuite, clean and comfortable, had heating for winter and the snow fall we encountered in November 2012.
Great little bar area downstairs, restaurant which was cheap and provided western style(sort of) meals,boardgames, movies, mixed and varied aged clientele.
Perfect location in the middle of real Hutongs and extremely close to the southern part of Tiananmen square.
Easy find from Qianmen subway, follow their directions.
TV in room was not there and they could not change our room, was the only real down side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,394 reviews
The Emperor Beijing Qianmen
#72 of 6,491 in Beijing
301 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,491 in Beijing
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 937 in Beijing
239 reviews
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo Hostel

Property: Leo Hostel
Address: No.52 Dazhalan West Street, Qianmen, Xuanwu District, Beijing 100051, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 937 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Leo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Leo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing