We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly bad service”
Review of Leo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leo Hostel
Ranked #6 of 932 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly bad service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We found the Leo hostel staff to be terribly unhelpful. We found them surly and unwelcoming most of the time, but were particularly annoyed at the welcome we received when we first arrived in Beijing. Having called them from Xi'an twice in the two days prior to our stay at Leo to confirm our booking we arrived to find that they did not have the rooms we required. As it was an expedition group with students and teachers we had to have a particular arrangement of rooms but found they had got this wrong. When they found out they had got it wrong they did not try to find us anything else but stubbornly offered us the same rooms that we did not want. We told them to keep those rooms available while we ate breakfast but when we got back twenty five minutes later they had given those rooms to other people and offered us something even more unsatisfactory. We also had a lot of trouble with doors breaking at our touch - keys did not seem to open the doors they were supposed to and someone found himself locked in a toilet because the lock completely broke with him in it.

Room Tip: Booking in advance doesn't guarantee you a room from our experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PD0gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    158
    67
    40
    27
See reviews for
11
88
100
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in Leo hostel 2 as part of my Dragontrip. The room was actually pretty good. It was just the total lack of service from the staff that let it down. It seemed the receptionist was doing every job in the hostel so whenever I needed something, like the key to my door because they wouldn't give us one ourselves to keep, I had to wait till she had served all the people at reception until I could actually get in my room and have a shower. Also the roof was absolutely battered by a rainstorm one night and there were leaks all over the place. Walking around the hostel, you had to watch out for all the buckets that had been put down to catch the water from the leaks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottdogg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at the Leo Hostel for 4 nights in August 2013. the facilities and the location are average, the price and value for money are poor (this was the priciest place I stayed in in China and yet the worst experience I had), and the staff was very unfriendly. their attitude was always impatient and they were unwilling to help with anything that exceeded technicalities. I tried to get recommendations for markets to visit in Beijing and was hardly answered. I asked one morning for a hot glass of water and was asked to pay for it only to later finding out that there was a water tank in the inner yard free of charge. I took the day tour to the Great Wall with them, the bus arrived somewhat late so their guy kept prodding the group throughout the day to compensate for the lost time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacob_lv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Heyford
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Leo's and have got to say we have stayed in better accommodation. The back rooms some smell damp especially 508. Also their Internet connection is extremely slow.

Those are the negatives but there are also positives the trip to the Great Wall was excellent don't expect a guided tour, only transport is provided. You are then left for 3 hours to walk a very quiet section of the wall, excellent.

We tried food from a hostel not more than a 100 yards from Leo's and looked at their rooms, all of which put Leo's to shame, so our recommendation would be try 365 Inn first and Leo's as they are both at a recommended location.

Room Tip: Try booking the inner rooms in the internal courtyard. Preferably try 365 Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We got a private double room with ensuite, clean and comfortable, had heating for winter and the snow fall we encountered in November 2012.
Great little bar area downstairs, restaurant which was cheap and provided western style(sort of) meals,boardgames, movies, mixed and varied aged clientele.
Perfect location in the middle of real Hutongs and extremely close to the southern part of Tiananmen square.
Easy find from Qianmen subway, follow their directions.
TV in room was not there and they could not change our room, was the only real down side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

located right in the middle of the city,,,,,,it was v easy to find,,,,,,cafe inside the building is good too...annnd the best thing is price......they have almost ev facility but the only flaw is there airconditioner,,,,,rooms are not so chilled to hide in hot beijing weather

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank affan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at Leo for 2 nights in August. Our group had booked the Dorm rooms which had 8 beds in them. The room was cramped and there was just one small AC for 2 rooms. It was hot this time around in Beijing and so the people in the other room had a very tough time sleeping with no AC/fan. The bathroom was bad and extremely small. Location is the only plus point. There are better hostels around this same area.

Room Tip: Unless you are very tight on budget, avoid the dorm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suddu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,363 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#129 of 6,473 in Beijing
183 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 932 in Beijing
232 reviews
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Houhai
Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo Hostel

Property: Leo Hostel
Address: No.52 Dazhalan West Street, Qianmen, Xuanwu District, Beijing 100051, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 932 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Leo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Leo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing