We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away in a great location”
Review of Leo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leo Hostel
Ranked #6 of 991 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed here for a week at the start of my three month trip in China and really liked the place. Although not central (not sure it is possible to be central in Beijing!) it is close to the Forbidden City and Square down some 'traditional' streets. Helpful staff who can organise tours and book onward tickets. Dorms are OK but the real selling point is the common area which is great for meeting, eating and catching a film. There is a supermarket next door and loads of little restaurants on the street. Good place.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeyboygetslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 421 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

Start with the positives: the food's alright and the bar in the centre of the hostel is a very lively and friendly place to meet other travellers.The location is handy for T square and the Natural History Museum.
Everything else is just plain wrong. Fancya bathroom where the shower cubicle is the whole room, leading to a soaking floor for toilet users? How about not changing the bin next to the toilet for the 2 nights I was there: a major problem if you're going to ask guests to throw their toilet paper there. Want security? You can put a small number of valuables in a small safe in teh reception area, but otherwise your stuff is at the mercy of anyone in your room (which are tiny for three people, with shoddy air con). I booked it last minute as 365inn opposite didn't have any space. Both places cost the same but the difference in quality is immense.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

First of all, let me say we did not stay here - we only did the secret wall tour and it was excellent. The guide gave a nice history and you watched an informative discovery channel episode on "the wall" on the bus. We had three hours on the wall with only 20 people. Anyone who has ever visited China knows that it is unheard of to be with so few people. It was spectacular! The lunch was so-so, being completely vegetarian, and they showed way to much south park on the bus on they way back - but this is the only place to go to the wall and have shots of the great wall with no one but you in the picture! (Please note we stayed across the road at 365 Inn, which I HIGHLY SUGGEST staying at!) DO NOT MISS THIS TOUR!

P.S.It says you need to be fit - but even if you aren't it doesn't matter - cause you just walk at your own pace and then return to the starting point.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

...and the tour was great! We went on a 3 hour hike- pretty strenuous, but there was not a single person selling anything on the section of the hike that we went on and only one other group of hikers who were doing a week long wall hike. It was a small group of 9 people and the lunch after was great. The guide gave us some background info and then let everyone do their thing at their own pace. We had breakfast at the hostel before and weren't impressed with the food or smell of the place, but we didn't stay overnight, so not sure about rooms, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

rooms are big and semi-clean but still ok. no bugs. the restaurant had tasty food an what i liked most was that you could have breakfast all day! staff was very young and helpful but obviously not professional hotel-staff. anyway, they had a laundry service, booked a un-crowded tour to the wall which we can recommed an were friendly all the time! we even booked our tibet-trip plus permission, guide and driver and the tibet-express-train with them and everything worked fine. but in tibet we met another couple which had the same tour for much less. so you should check out some more offers before you book.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asialeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We picked this Hostel because it was recomended by our guidebook and for price.
we stayed in a 12-bed dorm. Room was average clean, they could do better, but with so many people going in and out at all times it could be challenging (I saw staff cleaning everyday)
Bathrooms were not the best, thankfully ladies bathroom and shower next to my dorm were ok, but my husband tells me that men restrooms stunk like sewage
Service, mmm that changed with whoever you talked... the girl that loans/sells the guidebooks was very inpatient, but other staff was nice and helpfull.
The restaurant had affordable food, try the hot plate dishes...( good for 2 people if you get an extra rice)
You can book a tour to a remote area of the Great wall, includes Lunch... recommended
The hostel's best things are the atmosphere, the location of Hostel, and the freebies.
We met really nice people, the hostel is located walking distance from the subway, and main tourist attractions. Freebies include borrowing guidebook for a deposit, free wifi, computer station w/ internet, custom maps, basic chinese word/ translations cheat sheet, free movies at the restaurant.
Negatives include no kitchen/fridge for guest use, and the bathrooms.
I would recommended for people on a budget that want to experience backpacking .

Room Tip: Dorms can be noise, bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anettebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Location location location. Its not far from main tourist attractions of city center and also its not far from the subway (if you want to visit points outside the center). Romm was simple, bathroom too. Air - conditioning working. Friendly staff was willing to help with everything. Only their airport pick up service was very poor. We had too wait 3 hours at the airport for their driver to come and pick us up. The funniest was that they explained it with big traffic. A midnight!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirinda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 991 in Beijing
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Wangfujing Hotel
Houhai
Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo Hostel

Address: No.52 Dazhalan West Street, Qianmen, Xuanwu District, Beijing 100051, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 991 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: $13 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Leo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing