We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Central Youth Hostel
Ranked #3,249 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location next to Beijing main railway station and metro station with bus stops and taxis nearby too. Clean rooms, free wifi, lots of supermarket nearby and great staff. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 260 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here twice now, though five years apart. Location is great for the railway station and easy walk around to get anything from food to meds to supplies for your journey. Easy to get around on the subway too. The place itself is average though, the bar area seemed dead compared to last time I came and the rooms haven't been updated but the price is good and you can't beat the location

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The location of this hostel is what sold me as it's right on the subway line and across the street from the Beijing Main Railway. There are supermarkets, an internet cafe, and a mall with plenty of restaurants all within a few minutes walk. The staff wasn't friendly or very helpful, even when we wanted to book an extra night's stay - so don't expect much. The double room on the 4th floor (hostel rooms) that we stayed in was cleaned daily, and had AC that worked well. While the shared bathrooms were sub-par, what do you really expect with shared bathrooms? We were able to book a Great Wall tour directly from the hostel, which was really helpful to not have to go looking for a tour. It was a great place for the price all things considered.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs because most rooms are right on the street in front of the train station. I tried req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejp2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

we recently stayed here for 10 days as we were using the place as a base and traveling about a little bit using the train station a lot.The hostel is also very convenient to the airport with using the airport express or if wanting to take the easy option a taxi is about 80y. also the subway line 2 is right outside the door. Checking inn take time be warned but this is the same for every thing in china Evert thing takes longer to do then it would at home :). My self and a friend stayed in the twin room with bathroom. the room was a good size with a good size bathroom and internet access in the room, also with tv and air con. At the start of the stay the cleaning ladies where very good and the room was done to a high standard but as time went on they stopped cleaning and even stopped making the bed.
The linen was clean and we were provided with clean towels each day if we left they dirty ones on the floor, we had to leave the used water glasses on the floor also otherwise the cleaner would not change them.
The down side of this hostel is that it is used by business Men mainly and so the bar has no life or atmosphere at all, there are 2 pool table and free wifi available with small snacks and toiletries also on sale behind the bar. the people in the bar are very helpful though and you just need to ask and they will write things like (trains that you would like) in chinese so when booking tickets things become a lot easier (not faster). also they will recommend restaurants and places of interest. There is also an internet cafe next door just go in and up the stairs, and some very small supermarkets down stairs from the hostel but if you cross the road there is a big shopping center opposite the Beijing railway station that has every thing you may need with a 24 hour chemist big supermarket fast food etc.

On the whole if i where staying in Beijing again i would probably stay here if it was only for a day or too other wise i would stay in a hutong and closer to some night life and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daffyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

if you are taking a train from Beijing Railway station this location is unbeatable across the street and cheap as chips. its also easily accessible from the airport via the express train.

linen was clean and beds were ok, showers were decent enough and the bar has a couple of pool tables and a decent atmosphere. staff in the bar were really helpful and cool enough and there is good laundry facilities.

the reception staff were hit and miss and any questions or queries can be hard to resolve but given my lack of chinese language skills , i will let them off with that one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

You get what you paying for. Very central and safe hotel. The shared bathrooms are very dirty. But overall worth the money. They also helped us with tickets to The Great Wall and train-tickets to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here for nine nights - in between a trip to North Korea. Central to everything. Large clean en-suit room with safe, tv, kettle etc. Excellent daily housekeeping (fresh towels, empty rubbish, make bed) Self help laundry. Two large hot water boilers. Cafe/restaurant. Cheap breakfast. Cheap internet (unless you get the one rude guy who tried to overcharge) Pool table. Tourist desk. This is a backpackers' hostel, utel and businessmen's budget hotel all-in one, really to suit all persons/all prices. Enough food outlets nearby to satisfy all tastes. Excellent accommodation in the centre of the capital. Easy walking to lots of sites. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less cafe/laundry noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,568 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#64 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Central Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Youth Hostel

Address: No.1-5 Beijingzhan West Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,249 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $24 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Central Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Central Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Youth Hotel Beijing
City Central Youth Hostel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing