We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was more than I ever expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Central Youth Hostel
Ranked #3,253 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Bilbao, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“It was more than I ever expected!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed there for a few nights but hadn't expected anything special after a very-near-the-railway-station location. But boy! were we wrong! Spotless rooms, spick-and-span bathrooms, soft towels :), the availability of laundry machines AND dryers made it a very pleasant stay to people who had their luggage lost by the airline and didn't have any other clothes but the ones on our backs :)
I can't say enough good things about this hostel. It was quiet despite the location (hurray to TRIPLE glazed windows), friendly and comfortable. There were plenty of excellent restaurants nearby and when the luggage was recuperated and we were ready to move on, the railway station was just around the corner.
I would recommend it to anyone, budget or not.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    127
    70
    25
    10
See reviews for
10
27
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harbin, China
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed there in July for the third time. It is well place being opposite the Railway Stationand very close to the underground. It is clean and functional and I will always
return. Although the buffet breakfast is good value for money you can go outside and eat
at one of many places.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjarnAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Well, the sheets were clean and the air conditioning worked - thank heavens! - but, their were hairs all over the floors and the bathroom was disgusting. The shower recess was in dire need of mould removal and hair removal (yeuch!) and the handle from the shower tap came off in my hand when I turned it on. Luckily, I was able to place it carefully back on and have my shower.

Their were two glasses in the bathroom, nicely wrapped, saying they were "clean and sterilised" but I saw the housekeeping staff rinse them under the tap and wipe them with her cleaning cloth before wrapping them.

The location is convenient to the train station but I'm sure there are properties that are similarly priced and located that will have better standards of cleanliness than this.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JibsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and had no problems with the place. We stayed in a 6 people dorm room. The location is quite central and always bustling, especially because it's opposite the Beijing Cetral train station. There is also a breakfast service, free wifi and all. Unlike most people in Beijing, this hotel's staff speak decent English and they have an "info" desk where you can find out everything from where to go eat, to how to get to a certain place. The hotel has an amazing tour booking service as well through which we booked our trip to the Great Wall. It was the best! To learn more about my Beijing experience, read my blogpost at www.sincerelyanam.com/2011/beijing

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Anam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We only spent one night in this nondescript commercial building, in a boring room with a shared bath down a long, boring hallway. No view, no towels. There was nothing particularly wrong with this place except its complete lack of charm, non-central location, and tacky commercial setting.

The positives: It was pretty cheap, reasonably clean, and it's across the street from the train station -- which is why we chose it initially. Unfortunately, in our case, not the right train station. We arrived by train from Xi'an, which delivered us to a different station some miles distant, and we ended up taking a taxi here to the Central Youth Hostel.

We couldn't wait to leave and found a small hotel on a traditional hutong alley within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the lakes district. Whereupon we throughly enjoyed our stay in Beijing.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MGMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Hostal has dorms and rooms with shared bathrooms as well as privates with en suite, so a range of prices.
Location very convenient. Next to Metro line and Post Office and station with lots of shops and internet cafes nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms differ greatly, look at several if not happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pichis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This hostel is just beside the Beijing Railway Station. During our stay a huge construction site is placed right in front of the main entrance. Watch out for the scalper and people trying to offer you everything fra cheap hotel rooms, tickets, rides or trips.

We tried to book train tickets at the travel agency at the hostel but got a very unprofessionel treatment from the travel agent. So don't waste your time and money here.

Ups
Aircondition
Soft bed
Free luggage room for people who just checked-out
English speaking
Cheap

Downs
Breakfast for 15 RMB overvalued
Old outdated computers
Free WIFI only accessible in the third floor dining room
Strange smell of cooking everywhere

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_from_DNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#71 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,593 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Zhong An Hotel
Zhong An Hotel
#592 of 6,483 in Beijing
188 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#182 of 6,483 in Beijing
310 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Central Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Youth Hostel

Property: City Central Youth Hostel
Address: No.1-5 Beijingzhan West Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,253 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Central Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your City Central Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Youth Hotel Beijing
City Central Youth Hostel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing