We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oriental Bay International Hotel
Ranked #163 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms have great beds, our bathroom had separate shower and tub as well. Location not too central, but a five minute walk from the nearest subway so it's pretty easy to get around. Besides, taxis are pretty cheap if you're coming from the USA or EU.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clevelandite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

The service desk was very helpful and efficient even when we had to change hotels. We were fully refunded and checked out in minutes. The room was spacious and comfortable with a good view. The surrounding neighborhood was a great place to walk and very close to a metro stop!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockymntngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The check-in was efficient. A very clean lobby, well maintained, clean and spacious room. Excellent breakfast. Not centrally located. The gym was well equipped and clean. I would gladly stay there on a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudy19771982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this Property while on a business trip in Beijing. The room was well attended and I had very good view from my room. Meals had varieties and very tasty. General service and prices were excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the western side have excellent view especially above the 13th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was a very nice hotel with great presentation! The rooms were clean and well appointed...please ask for the 17th floor, you get a great view and a lovey room. My room consisted of a marble foyer, whirlpool tub and separate glass shower.

Once out of your room, that is where the air quality goes bad!!! Even though there were no smoking signs, people smoked EVERY WHERE....the air quality was horrible in the lobby and in the dining room...period.

Once outside of the hotel, there were four restaurants to select from and all were Chinese. Please ensure that you know a little Chinese as it relates to meats, menus, bathrooms, etc....
If not, you will end up ordering frog, dog or cat...yes, I did write that.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Upper floors are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pimptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a decent hotel, a little out of the centre but is more focused towards business rather than private customers. That is however an advantage for sightseeing as you're not caught up in the Beijing traffic. You can walk to the Lanes in about 10 minutes so there is no major problem.

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a China Direct tour so didn't spend too much time in the hotel - too busy sightseeing! The hotel is very clean, decor is a little 1970's dark wood panelling but new and well maintained. The staff speak enough English to get you by - what else do you need?

Breakfast is good, decent level of choice - the buffet dinner in the evening isn't great though!

The main issue we had with this hotel is that you cannot control the temperature in your room. It was April and the hotel still had "winter" temperature setting. When you stay in one of the higher floor rooms (we were on the 16th floor) it gets very warm at night - 29 degrees. The reception offered us ice - quite what we were meant to do with that I don't know!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pfm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel on a business trip. I was originally scheduled to stay 4 nights here before leaving Beijing but I decided to move to a different hotel when my coworkers and our Chinese-speaking host left for another city.

On the website it was a beautiful, luxurious hotel. And it was reasonably clean (from what I could tell) and rooms were big (I had a two room suite). Unfortunately, I just didn't feel comfortable staying there- everything was very dimly lit, service was spotty and it felt like it was trying to be a western-style hotel but didn't succeed.

The price I paid was much higher than some of the deals online so my expectations were based on paying $300 a night for a room.

Location was okay- it's off one of the ring roads, so a lot of rooms just faced a highway (didn't bother me). The subway is a five minute walk away and it is about a 20 minute walk to the Bell and Drum Tower.

I do not recommend this hotel for western travelers- I think there are better options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,586 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#33 of 6,568 in Beijing
517 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#67 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,691 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Bay International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Bay International Hotel

Address: No.26 West Binhe Road, Anwai, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100011, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#159 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $101 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Bay International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Oriental Bay International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Bay International Beijing
Hotel Oriental Bay International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing