We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay dwntown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Ranked #22 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay dwntown”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We are part of a Viking River cruise group staying here for 4 nights. The staff and service could not be better. They are very helpful, prompt and most speak good English. The breakfast buffet was excellent and dinner in the Chinese restaurant was also excellent and very reasonable. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The first room we had which was on a non smoking hall, reeked of cigarette smoke and it gave me such a headache we asked to be moved the next morning. They, kindly sent someone up to help move our things to a room down the hall which was much improved. Either they don't enforce the non-smoking rule with a stiff fine like Marriott does or our first room (1733) was never actually sanitized to get the smell out. Even the pillow and mattress smelled. My only real complaint is the pillows. They advertise The Heavenly Bed and it is comfortable, but the pillows need replacing. In both rooms they were lumpy, big and uncomfortable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NoFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Nofo,

Thank you very much for staying at The Westin Beijing Financial Street and sharing your insights with our friends here. We are glad to hear that hotel service and dining venues were in your favor and you felt well looked after by our team.

At the same time, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the smoking smell. We will definitely reiterate sensitivity towards your observation with the team.

We are sad to hear that our otherwise very popular trademark Heavenly Bed did not quite live up to your expectations and appreciate your comments on the pillows. Your opinions are essential for us.

We trust your feedback will inspire others to venture into a trip to China and The Westin Beijing Financial Street.

Stay well.

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    361
    92
    31
    10
See reviews for
101
99
59
403
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Business trip for one

Pros
- Close to work... Financial street if you are in banking
- Service was good and decent English speaking staff to help get by
- Room was clean... Normal size room
- Breakfast was ok. Typical Asian buffet breakfast
- Lunch buffet was nice... big variety at decent price

Cons
- Not much nearby. It's a business district that lack the Singapore, HK, Tokyo type of flavor
- Owing to the hotel location and problem with BJ transport issues... it can be a challenge getting back to the hotel after a night out (and I am not talking about a late night either)... be prepared to take the underground
- Bar was slightly boring but I guess it's a business hotel and they are not expecting big fun loving drinkers

Room Tip: Hyatt maybe a better option even if it means you have to cab it to work at this area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liws21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Liws21,

Thank you so much for sharing your insights with our friends here on tripadvisor.com, and we are delighted to hear that our service, facilities and buffet spread are in your favor.

We do hope that you could introduce our hotel to your friends on business trip around Financial Street area.

However, we are sorry to learn that you were not necessarily satisfied with the surroundings and city traffic.

We hope your stay in The Westin Beijing Financial Street made you leave feeling better than when you arrived, and would look forward to a visit in the future!

Stay well.

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife anf I stayed from Sep 3rd through Sep 9th, and have lots of worm words to say.
Our room was well equipped, and while not the largest, it was more then enough for a pleasent stay.
The bed was big enough and more, and one of the most convenient I had in any hotel in the east. Also, the big window has both light and heavy curteins so you can sleep in late without the sun waking you up with the birds.
The bathroom is spacy and answers almost all your needs, for both the shaving gentlemen to the make-up needs of the ladies.
breakfast is rich and includes both western omlettes, bacon and salad as well as eastern dim-sum and soupes, all in great quality.
The service was efficient mostly, and the front desk, the concierge and the restaurant stuff were all very helpfull and happy to solve any problem, answer any question and help with anything - great work!
They also have a gym and a swiming pool open 24 houres, great for the bussy ones who just need their health dose late at night or at early morning.
Points for improvement:
1. Some of the front desk, especially on night shifts, speak rather poor English.
2. Shaving kit's rasor was rather poor.
All in all, we had a great time there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear HunGarfield,

Thank you so much for placing such a nice review here on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful time at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. It is refreshing to know that you are satisfied with our room facilities and service. Your encouraging words of praise has been conveyed to the team respectively, who take this as an inspiration.

However we are equally thankful for you bringing your suggestions for improvement, namely the staff English skill and Shaving Kit in the guest room, on board, and will take these into consideration in our attempt to continuously improve our customer’s experience.

We look forward to your next visit in Beijing.

Stay well.

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I joined a Viking River Cruise Tour starting at the Westin Financial Street in Beijing. We had been in China for a week and at q five star hotel with another American hotel group so had something to compare. Firstly, we were very pleased that out tour company chose a five star hotel as a part of our package. This was the first of three. We had stayed in the Executive Tower of the other hotel and the room at the Westin though very nice was a bit of a let down. Not having access to the Executive Lounge was a bigger let down so I think our view of the Westin suffered unfairly. We lacked for nothing however so can certainly recommend the Westin Financial Street. We were at the Westin for three nights and had all of our morning and evening meals at the hotel. They were all buffet style. The breakfasts were elaborate and there was a seemingly unending variety of cuisines to choose from. The dinners were all oriental cuisine and I must admit I found it difficult to find dishes that appealed to me and actually went away hungry one evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jerry-Peterson,

Thank you for your feedbacks after your stay at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. It is sad to hear that our dinner buffet spread, in contrary to our breakfast offer, did not always suit your taste and we will certainly take your comments on board constructively and evaluate if our offer was too much leaned towards an oriental variety during your stay. It is with further regret that we take on board that you would have wished to have had access to the Westin Executive Club Lounge and its benefits. The Lounge typically serves as a haven for our Executive Club Floor guest rooms, suites and SPG Platinum members, and we are sorry to realize that this regulation met your disappointment.

Having said this, we are glad to hear that you were overall comfortable and are happy that you chose to rate us in such a favorable way.
We hope your words will inspire other readers to venture into a trip to China and to The Westin Beijing Financial Street.

Stay well.

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is my go-to hotel in Beijing. It is located in the financial district, close to the Central Bank, government agencies and a lot of financial institutions. The service is excellent and the staff is genuinely helpful. For longer stays they have service apartments available. Nearby there is a large high-class shopping mall with an international supermarket at the basement. The lounge is very comfortable, opens at 6 am and provides free breakfast. Officially, you need Starwood Platinum status to use it, but you may be able to negotiate something. The hotel has three restaurants, all decent above-average but nothing spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for executive lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xieziqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Xieziqi,

Thank you very much for sharing your insights with our friends here on tripadvisor.com and it is very refreshing to hear that you are satisfied with hotel location and our service. Besides SPG Platinum members, our Executive Club Floor guest rooms and suites also enjoy the Westin Executive Club Lounge and its benefits.

At the same time, Please allow us to take the opportunity to thank you for being our SPG Platinum member, your continuous loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts and to The Westin Beijing Financial Street in particular.

Please rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure that your future stays remain memorable.

We look forward to your next visit.

Stay well.

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here as part of the Viking River Cruise package (four nights) and could not have asked for more. It was way above our expectations. The staff could not have been more helpful even to the point of arranging a car to take us to the local undergound station! The rooms were fantastic (the bathroom superb) and at breakfast there was more than enough choices to satisfy anybody's appetite. We used the gym every morning and were always greeted with a sincere good morning and have a good day. We would highly recommend this hotel even though it may not be in the heart of Beijing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park. Very peaceful view in a very bust city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from July 6th till July 21st. The service on the 26th floor was more than I have even imagined, at one point is was just as good as being home. Everyone greeted me by my name, which is extremely warm & they did not hesitate to go the extra mile in order to make my stay comfortable.

Thank you all especially Helen, Vicky, Kevin, Eric, Henry, Shane, Tiffany, Michelle & Alicia. Also thank you for the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ramzi C,

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Westin Beijing Financial Street and it is great to hear that you were well looked after by our team. We do appreciate your time to place such nice comments here on Tripadvisor.com. Your words of encouragement and praise has conveyed to our staff, and especially the Front Office team and WEC team.

We hope every element of your stay made you feeling better than when you arrived.

We look forward to your next visit in the near future for yet another uplifting experience with us.

Stay well

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Xidan
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#29 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anzhen
Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Financial Street

Property: The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Address: No.9B Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100140, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#20 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#25 Family Hotel in Beijing
#47 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#51 Business Hotel in Beijing
#138 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the midst of the capital’s financial district with access to major corporate headquarters, the hotel is just minutes from cultural icons such as The Forbidden City as well as Beijing’s finest shopping and entertainment districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beijing Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Westin
Westin Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing