We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey non-smoking room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Ranked #24 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

An impressive hotel with a good restaurant in the smart financial district. After a 12 hour flight from London, we were ready to drop when we arrived at our room. Upon opening the door, we were hit by the strong odour of stale cigarettes. When our luggage was brought up, we said to the porter that we would prefer a non-smoking room but were told that this was one. They sprayed the room to try to get rid of the smell but to no avail. Only on the third day did they manage to get it to smell like a non-smoking room.

The pool is a good size but that too had a strange smell.

On the plus side, the restaurant is good and the staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonehengus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Stonehengus,

Thank you for your feedback. It is with regret that we learn about the unpleasant odor in our non-smoking rooms and pool, and we will certainly attempt to identify the possible causes and sources.
We have reiterated your comments with the team and we will definitely strive to improve in this aspect of our service delivery. Please accept our belated apologies for the inconvenience.

At the same time, we are glad that you were satisfied with our restaurants and staff courtesy.

We hope that this drawback will not deter you from staying with us again, as we may well be in a position to redeem ourselves and restore your faith in The Westin Beijing Financial Street.


Stay Well,

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

For me this was both a place to say and the locus of a medium-sized conference. On both counts is was perfectly acceptable. The breakfast buffet was outstanding with a big selection of both western-style and Chinese foods. The checkin procedure was long, somewhat convoluted, and struck me as amateurish, although this may in part due to Chinese bureaucratic requirements. Checkout was speedy though. The internet was good--anyway with respect to those parts not blocked by "Great FIrewall of China."

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear MacWilder,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to place your insights here on Tripadvisor.com.

Your comments are well received and we appreciate your kind words towards our buffet breakfast.

We regret to hear that the check-in procedure was perceived as rather complex and, though this may partially be related to local requirements, we certainly do not want to appear unprofessional. We will take your constructive comments and seek for improvement.

At the same time, we are glad to hear that your check out was swift and on this note hope to have an early opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Beijing Financial Street.

Thank you for staying with us and

Stay Well,

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel through our Viking River cruise. It was a very clean and beautiful hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good. I ate congee and dragon fruit every day. The assortment of items for their buffets was plentiful and delicious. There is a shopping area across the street from the hotel where you can find a grocery store in the basement. There are also restaurants out the front entrance to the left. Communicating with the staff sometimes was hard. They didn't understand English sometimes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda85730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Linda85730,

Thank you for sharing your insights with us on tripadvisor.com, we are grateful to hear that you were satisfied with the service we provided.

English training for our local associates is an ongoing effort of our Training Department to meet our guests’ expectations, whereby the level of conduct and comprehension may vary from key guest contact personnel to team members that are more engaged in the heart of the house.

Again, we continuously strive to educate our team at all levels for the benefit of our guests and our associates development and careers.

We appreciate your time to place this review and hope that your comments may stimulate other readers to explore China with all its heritage and delights.

Stay well,

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location for this hotel is great. It is next to CSRC and CBRC making its restaurants the dining hall and its conference rooms the meeting rooms for both these two financial regulators. Each time I stay here, I found all the rooms are packed. The service is good even in international standard. The only trifle downside is that I met a guy in the elevator asking me whether I need massage, which is quite odd when i got back at around two o'clock in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youhanguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Youhanguc,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your insights with us and others. We are delighted to know that our location and facilities were in your favor andcomplemented the purpose of your visit.

We will further try our best to reconcile the experience you had in the elevator.

We hope to welcome you back to The Westin Beijing Financial Street soon, for another fulfilling experience.

Stay Well,

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Amazing decline. I've been staying here for the past 6 years and the decline in the past year as been noticeable. The front desk is spotty. I couldn't get coffee one morning and the omelette was brown/green because the skillet was dirty on another. The topper was the day of checkout when housekeeping ignored the "do not disturb" sign and started the major cleanup before I had checked out. My bags, clothes, etc were scattered as they did their thing, telling me to come back enter. What time was it? It was 11:50, before the noon regular checkout (as a Starwood gold member I had 4:00 pm checkout). The front desk shrugged when I told them.

Other observations: location is good if you have business on Financial Street. Swimming pool is suspiciously warm and locker room very cramped.

Try one of the other hotels in the area.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Istrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Istrain54,

It is with regret that we learn about your recent experience and the perceived decline in our service levels.

We were trying to reconcile the preceding you described, but unfortunately have so far not been able to gain a clear picture. Might I suggest that you reach out to us on your next visit, so we can further elaborate in person?

We trust it is in our all interest to address the concerns you raised and work towards reviving our service levels to match the experience levels you are accustomed to.


We thank you for you loyalty and hope that we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back and perhaps redeem ourselves.


Stay well,


Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed there for a week. The staff was efficient at check-in and out. Breakfast buffet was excellent but pricey.

The room was spacious and clean but i could hear conversation and tv clearly from the next room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel_c_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Kel_c_hk,

Thank you for sharing your insights with our friends here on tripadvisor.com. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your recent visit and will be certainly be investigating the sound insulation you brought to our attention.

We are happy to take your comments about our front desk service and some of the other facilities on board and hope to be able to welcome you back with improved conditions.


Stay well.

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Beijing Financial Street for four nights in May on a business trip. I found the service to be excellent all round - from reception to the housekeepers. The room, was very comfortable and well furnished. Bathroom excellent,

I will definitely stay there again if in the same area.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a busy are so a higher room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Klkh2002,

Thank you for staying at The Westin Beijing Financial Street and for sharing your wonderful comments and recommendation on line. We are glad to hear that you had a great Westin experience with our team. Your recognizing comments towards our service and facilities have been conveyed to the team, who in turn express their gratitude.

In hope that your duties take you back into this area, the team and I would look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Beijing Financial Street.

Stay Well,

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#23 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,439 reviews
Xidan
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anzhen
Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,567 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
W Beijing Chang'an
W Beijing Chang'an
#18 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Financial Street

Address: No.9B Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100140, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#21 Family Hotel in Beijing
#23 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#46 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#50 Business Hotel in Beijing
#136 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $152 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the midst of the capital’s financial district with access to major corporate headquarters, the hotel is just minutes from cultural icons such as The Forbidden City as well as Beijing’s finest shopping and entertainment districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beijing Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Westin
Westin Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing