We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice culinary surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Ranked #20 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“What a nice culinary surprise”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

On a trip with Viking Tours, I was randomly assigned to the Westin. The location lacks ambiance, but the interior delights on every level. It is relatively close to Tiana-an Men Square and Forbidden City, the two must-see attractions within the city. I typically avoid eating in hotels, but the main restaurant gives an extraordinary breakfast buffet and an even more remarkable dinner buffet. The night I went, the white tuna sushi was succulent, as were the several pieces of sea bass cooked to order. The Westin did a great job of westernizing the food and letting me know at the same time how far from home I had strayed.
If you are looking for a quaint place with plenty of old character, this one wouldn't work. In this case, it was just fine.
Though it is unrelated to the restaurant, I strongly advise going in October. It is colder, but the chances of blue skies are far more likely than in May, and a trip down the Yangtze likely would be far more stunning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babsorama6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for constructively relating your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. It is inspiring to hear the evocative descriptions of your experience. We are passionate about nurturing your mind, body, and soul by empowering you with a sense of well-being so that you can be at your best, naturally. Especially appreciate you affirmation of our restaurants. I have shared the compliments with our team, to encourage them to improve the service standard. We’re looking forward to your next business trip to Beijing. Be recharged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    362
    93
    31
    10
See reviews for
108
101
60
419
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Great big rooms. The rainforest shower is amazing. A great place to relax. If you can find a package which includes breakfast you won’t regret it, for it is amazing. It is a short walk to trains but taxis are very cheap.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing refreshing perspectives of your recent stay at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. It’s our passion to nurture your mind, body and soul – hence it’s delightful to hear that you’ve enjoyed our room and breakfast experience. We would be pleased to be your host in the hopefully not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Very good hotel, avoid the pizza of the italian restaurant

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dente59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are truly disappointed to learn that your experience was far from perfect and sincerely apologize for the compromised experience that you encountered. In the meanwhile, it is delightful to learn that our service level and location of the Hotel have enhanced your stay experience in Beijing, and we certainly anticipate our next opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Beijing Financial Street to witness an improvement from the refreshing perspectives that you have shared here. Be renewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a beautifu hotel with several restaurants to choose from. Oppulent entrance, lobby. Rooms are roomy with an extra large bathroom with freestanding shower and nice, deep soaking tub.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mibusyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear reviewer, it is exhilarating to hear of your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. Thank you for sharing your refreshing perspectives and we are passionate about nurturing your mind, body, and soul by empowering you with a sense of well-being. Furthermore, please allow me to suggest you to experience our Heavenly SPA by Westin, which located in floor 3, a uniquely uplifting spa experience designed to help you be your best. We would be pleased to be your host in the hopefully not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Beijing Financial District just two weeks ago. When we checked in, the front desk agent wanted to hold a few hundreds as a deposit from the credit card that we handled in. We did not agree. We asked whether they were concerned that we would use their facilities or minibar and leave without paying? Nowhere in the world where we went did we have to make a deposit in case we sneaked out of the hotel without paying. The manager came, and made an exception for us, i.e. no deposit needed. Then we went to our room, and found out the the drawer was full of dust! The Westin bag inside the drawer was also dusty. We took it to the front desk, and they offered verbal apologies, but no further follow-up on this. When we came back to our room that night, there was no note that the drawers have been cleaned, so we wondered...

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than level 3. Level 3 has the spa, so nobody needs a room key to access that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank st89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We apologise for the shortcomings of your room's upkeeping and have taken immediate action. We will also certainly ensure that your refurbishment suggestion for our rooms will be re-deliberated in our ongoing and future refreshment initiatives of the Hotel. In the meanwhile, we certainly anticipate our next opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Beijing Financial Street to witness an improvement from the refreshing perspectives that you have shared here. Be renewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is in financial district of the city with many government departments and big companies around. The surrounding area is not busy even in the afternoon.

I stayed there for several nights and this is my second stay. The room is of good size and comfortable. The bed is a little bit too soft but I can still manage to have a good sleep. Free wifi in room and lobby is a plus. Breakfast is served in ground floor with reasonable choice of what you need to start a day. Moreover, it seems that the breakfast restaurant is under-staffed despite the service is good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanMacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your refreshing perspectives of The Westin Beijing Financial Street. It is inspiring to learn that your experience in Beijing has been elevated from the natural immersion between the restoring respite in our Hotel and the unconstrained possibilities from its surroundings. Meanwhile, we are anticipating to welcoming you back again in your next Beijing encounter. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The rooms are generous. Nice lobby lounge to meet people and have a drink. No Smoking hotel makes the atmosphere in the public areas very pleasant. Financial Street is located near headquarters of all "Big Four" banks of China, central bank (Peoples Bank of China), and all financial regulators. It does not have the crowd of central business district. The location is actually very pleasant. Several American fast food restaurant nearby, KFC, Pizza Hut, TGIF, and several good casual Chinese restaurants. Hotel's Sunday Buffet is very well known, should try it.

Room Tip: Reserve the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Albert, thank you for sharing refreshing perspectives of your recent stay with us. It is inspiring to learn that you have found our Food & Beverage experience and overall Hotel service to be delightful. We also appreciate your aesthetic feedback on our rooms which we will certainly take into consideration in our next uplifting initiative. Meanwhile, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in your next Beijing encounter. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Xidan
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#30 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Anzhen
Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Financial Street

Property: The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Address: No.9B Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100140, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#19 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#25 Family Hotel in Beijing
#47 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#51 Business Hotel in Beijing
#128 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the midst of the capital’s financial district with access to major corporate headquarters, the hotel is just minutes from cultural icons such as The Forbidden City as well as Beijing’s finest shopping and entertainment districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beijing Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Westin
Westin Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing