We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location in old hutong, but terrible staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Home Inn (Beijing Beixinqiao)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Inn (Beijing Beixinqiao)
Ranked #774 of 6,068 Hotels in Beijing
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location in old hutong, but terrible staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After staying at this hotel for 3 months (May-August), we had both good and bad experiences with the Home Inn.

The Room Itself:
*The bed was large, but firm. Typical for China. It was comfortable after we were used to it. The bedding was fluffy and soft.
*The room was large and had a nice desk area with desktop computer overlooking the window with a view facing the Hutong below and the city in the distance. There was enough floor space to do some basic exercises (jump rope, push ups, etc) since we were there for so long and we didn't want to exercise in the pollution.
*The bathroom was a decent size with a large shower. The shower floor was VERY slippery.

The Staff:
*The housekeeping staff couldn't understand why we didn't want our room cleaned everyday, even though we were using the room as an apartment instead of a temporary living space. It took some heated arguing by my husband in Chinese for them to finally cut back to cleaning our room once a week.
*The front desk was accommodating and loaned us umbrellas on many occasions. They were terrible, however, about quieting other rooms down. We had multiple occasions when small children visiting the hotel for the weekend were running through the hall screaming their heads off. We called the front desk, they assured us that they would ask them to be quiet, but nothing ever changed.
*The hotel staff itself had some sort of agreement with the prostitute services in the city since we had a stack of cards shoved under our door each night and a phone call at least a few days a week. If my husband answered, they asked if he wanted "services," but if I answered, they hung up. This was very annoying and I wish that the hotel would do something about it.
*Some sort of construction was going on in the hotel while we were there and the dust was terrible. I was sick for weeks while it was going on.

The Location:
*We loved the location in an old hutong because we met many locals! The hotel is also conveniently located between the Beixinqiao and Zhangzizhonglu stations on line 5. It's very close to Guijie Street, Yonghegong Lama Temple, Forbidden City, and many great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labliz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    116
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
6
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was a rather small room but I could live with that, loved the location adjacent to hutong areas, but a major problem was I was eaten alive by what turned out to be bed bugs. I had big welts all over my body for the next week. How do I know it was this hotel? Well I returned back to my apartment in another city where I had never had any such problems before and haven't since.

Room Tip: avoid because of these problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Are you looking for a hotel with common ammenities such as an elevator and a window to the outside? Perhaps this is not a good place for you. I was lucky and got a second floor room so I only had to carry my suitcases up two flights. The window was funny. I went to open it for some fresh air and when I pulled the curtain back, I was looking at people in the hallway. Too funny. The staff honestly tried to help despite not speaking English. The one drawback of this place (and all other Home Inns that I have stayed in) is the escort cards slipped under your door. I even caught the guy doing it, pointed at my door number, and said "Bu!". The hotel staff don't care and don't dissuade them. The cards kept coming (they aren't even that good-looking).
Oh, one of the two bottles was open and resealed (didn't drink it) and the hotel fan only makes noise (came out of my shower to a cloud of mist).
Beds are very hard. I think Home Inns is a shareholder in the local pharmaceutical industry for lower back pain.
Anyways, If you travel with a light bag and don't need a view, or outside air, this place would be adequate. I have stayed in PLENTY of Home Inns and had better rooms (for example, Shenzhen Futian district). "Average" for this place, and I'm not that picky.
-Mike (Canada)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Excellent location/easy subway travel to Tianamen Square/Forbidden City/Lama Temple etc! Easy to find by walking from Beixinqiao subway stop. Also, located near the entrance of a quiet, peaceful hutong. In the morning take a stroll down the alley and find a busy local market alley at the end. Also, it is worth eating at the little restaurant across the alley from the hotel- excellent food, picture menu, very reasonable price. Also, hotel staff are very friendly and accomodating. If you come having learned some basic and necessary Chinese, the staff make a big effort to understand your needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Cours et Pavillons
#219 of 6,068 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#104 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#127 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Chaoqing
Home Inn (Beijing Chaoyang Park)
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Dongsi Hotel
Dongsi Hotel
#916 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Inn (Beijing Beixinqiao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn (Beijing Beixinqiao)

Property: Home Inn (Beijing Beixinqiao)
Address: NO. 7 Xiguanhutong, Beijing 100007, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Style:
#441 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Home Inn (Beijing Beixinqiao) 1*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Home Inn (Beijing Beixinqiao) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Hotel Beijing Beixinqiao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing