We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Ranked #10 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Bryan, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

.This was our first stay at a Ritz-Carlton hotel and my wife and I stayed here for three nights as part of a Viking River Cruise – Imperial Jewels of China tour. The hotel lobby does not have the "WOW" factor as I experienced in entering the lobby of the Xi;an Hilton for instance but this lobby area was pleasant with a large public area with comfortable chairs and a small group in the evenings which performs live music. Down from the lobby is a banquet style restaurant with excellent choices at breakfast and dinner. serving western and Chinese dishes. One morning the table we were seated at ran out of Slenda sweetener. When I requested some from the wait staff, she got this worried look on her face and almost ran to the kitchen for the item. One evening I lost track of my wife and was walking along the long front desk and within three minutes two hotel staff approached me and said "Good evening. may I be of help". "Good evening, sir. Do you need some assistance". The service in all departments of this hotel was exceptional.

Our room was very large, with comfortable king bed and very modern bathroom. The room had all the amenities-coffee maker, iron, bathrobe and slippers, mini bar. (Hint: If you don't want to pay six dollars for a coke or $11.00-$12.00 for a can of local beer from the mini bar, take the hotel escalator down to the underground shopping mall. This is a very large mall with expensive shops but after about a 4 to 5 minute walk you will come a large grocery store selling cosmetics, medicines, clothes, fresh foods, snacks, soft drinks, beer and wine, e;g., beer for less than a dollar a can)

We had dinner at the hotel's Italian restaurant which had excellent service and food with a warm and dark decor and high ceilings along with high prices.

I would consider us seasoned travels but we usually stay in medium priced hotels not luxury ones. Nice to see how the other half lives. We loved our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    210
    36
    11
    13
See reviews for
106
212
30
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Ritz Carlton Beijing , excellent attention to detail, lovely airy rooms , huge bathrooms all well maintained, management regularly walk the establishment to ensure standards are maintained. Italian restaurant was superb, lobby area bright and airy, huge range of Teas, Bottle of wine in the restaurant, starts around £32.00 but is good quality this however can rise to over £2000.00 yes that's right so make sure you get the wine you ordered before opening. Good staff but check understanding as English Vocabulary is limited but staff are very friendly and could not be more helpful, would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1AlanKay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

For a hotel that carries the Ritz name, it was a disaster. The shower did not work, the light above the bed would just not turn off, staff could not communicate clearly in English...There was nothing good about the hotel other than its location. While booked on the executive floor, was reassigned another room. On the last day, I was informed that they had reassigned because the executive floor was full and Lounge facilities could have been availed but they forgot to mention it when assigning the room. Such a poorly managed hotel, it should be easy to show improvements from where they are today

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwan D, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear S.K.

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very disturbed by the unpleasant experience you had at our hotel last week, and I would like to sincerely apologize to you for all the shortfalls.

Please know that I have taken your concerns extremely seriously! I shared your important comments with our respective Division- and Department Heads to make the needed improvements immediately.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to restore your confidence in your hotel in Beijing. It would be a wonderful pleasure to meet you personally!

Sincerely,
Iwan Dietschi
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here as part of our Viking River Cruise – Imperial Jewels of China tour.

This was our best hotel experience ever, the staff here were amazing. This hotel was a cut above all the others. Our room was excellent, well-appointed with every amenity we required. The staff here greeted you coming and going like you were at their home, they were attentive, friendly, if you don’t get it by now, we were definitely impressed. Numerous staff here had an excellent command of English, which was helpful as we sadly had no Chinese language skills. The fitness center was outstanding and well worth finding the time to go to. The breakfast and supper buffets were outstanding, the presentation and quality of the food were excellent. The financial district is a little boring, that is no fault of the hotel. Cabs are very inexpensive and a great option to get you out and about. One thing to note is that the hotel is not inexpensive, for example a can of coke (355 ml) in the minibar was $12 US and 2 martinis at the main floor lounge were $56 US without tip. Just suggesting you can quickly be parted from your money here if you are not careful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed there during a business trip to Beijing. Overall, the hotel is great with no major downsides. Rooms were clean and service was very good. However, the location is not great given that nothing is within walking distance (p.s. this is somewhat understandable given the layout of the city). Tiananmen Square is at least 30-40min walking despite it looking very close on the map. I would recommend it as long as one is aware that he/she needs to take a taxi to anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADMNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights. Josephine the Executive Assistant Manager of Rooms greeted us like family. Nathan ( from Canada ), is the Executive Chef. He gave us not only great food but lots of inside info on getting around in Beijing- make sure you say hi when you see him. Everyone from the front doorman on up gave such attention to every detail of their job and your comfort. It is only about a 7 dollar taxi ride to the pearl or silk markets-they can exchange your money to local currency right there at the hotel. Make sure you do an afternoon tea at the hotel. Very relaxing with great teas ( 88 differant teas in all ), with live mind calming music on the piano.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, West Yorks
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

First stop on arriving in China for a Viking holiday. Staff very attentive and helpful; food excellent. Superb pool and gym which we had to ourselves most days. Rooms spacious, spotless and quiet with good facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,491 in Beijing
521 reviews
Guomao
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
#7 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,014 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,491 in Beijing
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,491 in Beijing
896 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,394 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,491 in Beijing
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Address: 1 Jin Cheng Fang Street East, Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100033, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#7 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#10 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#25 Business Hotel in Beijing
#168 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary design of glass and chrome defines the exterior of The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street, while inside, one of the most architecturally-stunning luxury hotels in Beijing, China exudes elegance and warmth in true Feng Shui fashion. Three exceptional restaurants, a 1,500-square-meter health club and Spa, and state-of-the-art event venues make this hotel a favorite of Beijing-bound business and leisure travelers alike. Forbes Travel Guide unveiled its annual Star Rating list and announced The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street as a new Forbes Travel Guide Five- Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing
Beijing Ritz Carlton
Ritz Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing