We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat in a big city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
Ranked #6 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great retreat in a big city”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Our stay at the Ritz Carlton Beijing was outstanding. The rooms on the concierge/executive level are spacious, well apppointed and nicely decorated. The staff was tremendously helpful and attentive, they knew us by name by the second day. It was a great place to come back to after a long day exploring Beijing. The mall next door is very nice with good food options. Cab rides to anywhere in Beijing are very inexpensive and the staff will ensure you get where you are going. We would definitely recommend this property without hesitation. It is truly a five star and has the feel of being a boutique hotel with all of the amenities you could possibly want.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funandrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    183
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
122
135
67
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Don't get me wrong, the Ritz Carlton is excellent by all means. Just that I had the privilege to stay at its sister hotel JW Marriott which is connected by an underground walkway, on a separate occassion, and felt the rooms looked more spacious than the Ritz Carlton (though according to the website, the Ritz rooms measure slightly bigger). It could be due to the JW Marriott using see-through glass panels for its bathroom wall which separated the bathroom from the bedroom, giving the illusion of a bigger room.

Decor-wise, Ritz goes for a elegant Victorian feel while the Marriott is more of a modern dark chic theme.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex_raccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Great hotel close to metro station and easy shopping next door very high end stores

Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nnnSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

The room was classic Ritz style. Thought I was entering my grandmoms living room! ;-)(excpet for the bed of course)
Great bed, clean, phone with LCD screen that welcomes you personally by name (nice touch), beautiful bathroom with TV over the bath, perfect and fast laundry service,....

The bellboys speak perfect english and were very friendly. Can not always be said from 5* hotels in China.

All in all: it was a very pleasant stay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank narciso2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I am based in Hong Kong and my job requires that I travel every week. As a result, every week, I end up in a hotel somewhere in Asia. For the most part, these hotels claim to be "5 star."

I spend a fair amount of time in Beijing, but this was the first time I had stayed at this particular Ritz Carlton. For the past 9 years, my BJ hotels of choice have varied between the Grand Hyatt (great location, but getting very tired), the St. Regis (nice, but scarily quiet since last year's renovations), the Ritz Financial Street (also 5 Star but isolated location), the Intercontinental (4 Star at best) and the China World (good, but over rated).

I was a bit hesitant to stay at the Ritz Huamao Center, as my colleagues had told me that service was sporadic and the staff were snooty. However, my company gets a terrific corporate rate there, so I thought I'd give it a try. I am so glad that I did.

Physically, this hotel really reminded me of the Ritz in Hong Kong, which was torn down last year. The rooms are done in a traditional, European style - unlike most hotels in BJ, which seem to be done in a more modern style. No need for me to comment on which is better, given that's really an issue of personal taste. However, I can say that the one bedroom suite I stayed in was absolutely gorgeous - excellent layout, bright, and in very good condition. All the requisite goodies were present - boase sound system, huge flat screen tvs (plus a bonus tv above the bath tub) , Bulgari amenities, ipod dock.....I peeked into a "regular" room and, in truth, I would have been happy with that too. Larger and more spacious than rooms at many of the other hotels in the same range. The carpet in the halls still smelled new!

I found the staff and the service to be consistently excellent. No snootiness at all. From the moment I checked in until I left two days later, I did not meet one unfriendly staff member. Special mention to the Club Floor team - in my mind, the team at the Club Lounge is one of the best ever. Again, the key was consistency - everyone was polite, friendly (in a natural, not plastic, way), discrete and enthusiastically helpful. They were also warm and helpful to the non-hotel guests that I brought up to the Lounge for meetings. Very important in a city where locals are sometimes not treated as nicely as visitors by the service industry.

Housekeeping was terrific - Here is one of the extraordinary little touches that impressed me so much.... I am allergic to down feathers, but still like the feeling of resting my head on down pillows. In order to not sneeze, I lay a towel over the pillow before I go to sleep. Although I had never stayed at this Ritz before, each night (even the first one), at turndown, the house keeper laid towels over my pillows without my ever having mentioned my preference for this. I have no idea how he/she knew - I can only surmize that the house keeper was either clairvoyant or someone from another Ritz had put a note in my profile in the chain's database. The thing is, however, that no other Ritz seemed to have bothered to read my profile because no other Ritz - not in Singapore, not in Jakarta, not in Financial Street, not in KL - has ever done this.

Others have already given positive comments on the location - I concur. The hotel is in inside an enclosed area, so it's very modern, safe and quiet. But just steps away is the CBD and, if you are travelling on business, it is very convenient to get around - either by car or by public transport. If you are a tourist, this hotel is not as convenient as some, such as the Grand Hyatt or others in the Wangfujiang area, but its still not bad.

If you don't want to eat at the hotel, there are lots of other options within a few minutes walk - from all the comfortable Western names like Fauchon and Starbucks to local street stalls around SOHO Newtown . However, I would recommend that guests eat at least one meal at Barolo. It is world class - the menu, creative, but not weirdly so . Salt encrusted rack of lamb! Ahi with truffles! Lemon Panna Cotta! The service is a little tentative, but I assume it will get better as the staff gain confidence over time.

I hate sounding like a commercial - and if you look at some of my other reviews, you will see that I am capable of complaint....but I have no complaints about the Ritz Huamao Center. My stay here was a most pleasant surprise - this hotel is the real deal and will be my new address in Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabidpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed at the Ritz Chaoyang for 4 nights in mid-July with my wife. We stayed in a Club room on the 15th floor, found the room quite comfortable. The size of the room is good, there is a sofa, work table, nice decor and very large bathroom. The hotel has character- if you are looking for the modern, Grand Hyatt types, ie dark brown furniture, lots of glass, then don't stay at the ritz chaoyang. the hotel feels a bit european, the drapery, the hall ways, the lighting, the bed etc however it's absolutely modern, just a year old. We were trying to decide between Ritz Fin street vs. Ritz Chaoyang and location was the final determinant. Chaoyang is close to all the sites, Tiananmen, Forbidden Palace, etc and only 1.5 hrs to the Great Wall. There are malls next to the hotel so you can get some food outside of the hotel. Only negative of the stay was room service was not tasty and subpar.

We used Peony tours through the hotel for sightseeing, very good tour guide, friendly, her name was Jane - patient, knowledgeable and explained lots of specifics. We used the hotel to arrange the Hutong tour as well, quite enjoyable especially as its outdoors and Beijing in July is very hot.

I would def recommend the Club room as u get bfast, and snacks throughout the day at the lounge. We would def stay here again when we go back to Beijing.

There is no wifi in the hotel though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Almaden, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Fine presentation is met with outstanding flavor. Rome's Chef Alexandro delivers at the Ritz-Carlton's Barolo the best Italian, and perhaps the best restaurant in all of Beijing. Our lamb chops were so tasty; the angel hair with meat sauce (special order accepted) was the best!
Manager Fabrizio makes your experience even better with top class service. A must visit for lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank BayAreaBrownsBackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,520 in Beijing
950 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,520 in Beijing
758 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#11 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosewood Beijing
#5 of 6,520 in Beijing
392 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,520 in Beijing
540 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Beijing)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#6 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#9 Business Hotel in Beijing
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#34 Family Hotel in Beijing
#147 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, is centrally situated in one of Beijing's most thriving business area - China Central Place, the hotel is 30 minutes from the Beijing International Airport and offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. In the classic timeless and elegant Ritz-Calrton style, the hotel, designed by HBA design consultants, features 305 well-appointed guest rooms and six exquisite award winning restaurants and bars including Barolo, serving authentic Italian Cuisine; Yu, serving fine Cantonese Cuisine; Aroma, serving international cuisine throughout the day; The Ritz-Carlton Bar; The Lobby Lounge and The Davidoff Lounge. Other exclusive facilities include The Ritz-Carlton Spa, fitness centre, indoor pool with balcony, 1,100 sq.m. meeting and conference space, 648 sq.m. ballroom and the only wedding chapel inside a hotel in Beijing.Behold the Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, architecture and decor classically inspired. Whether from the full-bodied taste of Ritz-Carlton traditional afternoon tea or a refreshing spa treatment, your senses are entranced by experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Beijing Huamao Beijing
Ritz Carlton Hotel Beijing
Ritz Beijing
Ritz-Carlton Beijing
Beijing Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing