We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Club Level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
Ranked #6 of 5,940 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Club Level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the moment we stepped off the airplane till we were ticked and checked in our luggage to leave we were spoiled and taken care of like we were royalty. We arranged to be picked up at the airport and imagine our surprise when there was someone waiting when we stepped off the place. He escorted us thru the airport transfer train, customs and luggage pick-up and out to our waiting car. We were whisked to our room when we arrived at 2:00 A.M. and were told we could complete the check-in in the morning. The Hotel is beautiful, the accommodations superior but you expect that at a luxury hotel. It is the staff that is exemplary. Our every need was anticipated. We have been to Ritz Club Levels all over the world this one is the absolute best. The manager and her staff are truly exceptional at providing information, support and genuine feelings. They put their hearts into the job and it shows. When you return from and outing they say Welcome Home and they mean it. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay on the Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidtraveler919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    156
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
65
105
29
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

You will feel important when you start entering the hotel. The counter staff are very attentive and explain all the details. The hotel decoration is elegant, the room is very comfortable. Good size siwmming pool, unfortunately haven't try the gym and spa. The buffet breakfast is quite good but the chinese tea is not warm enough (normally people prefers hot chinese tea). A real luxury hotel that near a big shopping mall, those good restaurants and the subway station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GodfreyHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

How can you describe perfection? This was clearly the best hotel stay that my wife and I have ever experienced. From the time we arrived in the lobby to the time we left, every detail of our stay was perfect. The room--huge and beautifully appointed, the facilities--outstanding, the service amazing. (For example: We were offered tea during check in, which we did not have time to finish--the process was so swift. The server accompanied us to our room and presented the tea to us there.) The breakfast buffet is an event: international andChines selections perfectly prepared. The location of the hotel in ideal: we walked across a garden to an upscale shopping center, restaurants, train station... I rarely effuse, but this hotel blew me away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while at a conference. Good hotel, with attentive service and handy location.

One complaint, the food at the buffet in main dining area is well below 5 star standards, avoid! Food was left out too long and lacked taste.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skurno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I started to stay at Ritz after my company require us to use corporate hotels (Ritz is very close to our office). Generally speaking, the location is ok. It's not far to Guomao (only 1 metro stop and 5 minutes by taxi), but getting a taxi at rush hour could be a headache. If you go to Beijing airport by the second airport express way, you are less likely to get stuck in the bad traffic in the East 4th Ring Road. It's conveniently located next to Huamao and Shin Kong Place, where you can find lots of quick eat options and good restaurants. Decro of the hotel is standard Ritz decro. Service is good and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvwei1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
251 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for about a week in Ritz Carlton Beijing I really appreciated the attention to the limitless details.

I asked the concierge to make a reservation at Duck de Chine. Beyond doing the revers action, the concierge suggested ordering 2 Peking ducks for the 8 of us. He was right that 1 will not be enough.

The second little detail is the toothpaste they provided when the room attendant saw that my tube was almost empty. I could have asked but she was a step ahead of me.

The one detail the Ritz should pay attention to is the breakfast. The 5 days we stayed there, the breakfast buffet essentially offered the same menu. They could have changed it everyday.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinaren_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is in the CBD of Beijing not near all the tourist attractions, so with Beijing traffic especially on the weekend when everyone in Beijing is allowed to drive getting anywhere takes at least twice as long as you would normally expect even compared to Sydney traffic. A subway station is about a 1min from the hotel and it cost just 2 Yuan for a train trip... you need to look very hard on the ticket machine to find the ticket info in English.
tip: you need to make sure you know your station and exit details as those details are not in English.
The staff were ok, it was a real mix, some were very nice but some of them especially a manager at the desk was really grumpy.. never saw him smile at all, the ladies in reception and staff at the concierge were all lovely.
A tip for catching Taxi's in Beijing, most of them refuse to use the taxi meter when they see you are a foreigner, even do it to some locals in touristy spots or if it is raining, some cab drivers won't even stop when they see you are a foreigner, I’ve been told that's because they can't speak English so they don't want to stop. So be prepared to negotiate a price before you get in.. the price can vary quite a bit and the price sky rockets when it rains. To give an idea of cab prices we paid, from the Ritz to the silk market, we paid anywhere from 30yuan to 50 Yuan. we paid anywhere from 80-120 Yuan for a trip from the hotel to Wangfujing street (the place to go for a mega shopping centre including the new Apple store and a night street market with food that includes a real cultural food experience..fried scorpion anyone??).

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were nice. with a nice big bed, study table and the bathroom has a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poorany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 5,940 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Xidan
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#4 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#12 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#17 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Beijing)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#6 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#9 Business Hotel in Beijing
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#34 Family Hotel in Beijing
#164 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, is centrally situated in one of Beijing's most thriving business area - China Central Place, the hotel is 30 minutes from the Beijing International Airport and offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. In the classic timeless and elegant Ritz-Calrton style, the hotel, designed by HBA design consultants, features 305 well-appointed guest rooms and six exquisite award winning restaurants and bars including Barolo, serving authentic Italian Cuisine; Yu, serving fine Cantonese Cuisine; Aroma, serving international cuisine throughout the day; The Ritz-Carlton Bar; The Lobby Lounge and The Davidoff Lounge. Other exclusive facilities include The Ritz-Carlton Spa, fitness centre, indoor pool with balcony, 1,100 sq.m. meeting and conference space, 648 sq.m. ballroom and the only wedding chapel inside a hotel in Beijing.Behold the Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, architecture and decor classically inspired. Whether from the full-bodied taste of Ritz-Carlton traditional afternoon tea or a refreshing spa treatment, your senses are entranced by experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Beijing Huamao Beijing
Ritz Carlton Hotel Beijing
Ritz Beijing
Ritz-Carlton Beijing
Beijing Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing