We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Beijing
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,573)
Filter reviews
1,573 results
Traveler rating
1,264
222
59
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,264
222
59
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aroma restaurant the club lounge jw marriott next door ladies and gentlemen guest relations the entire staff the general manager front office shopping mall business district rooms are spacious concierge desk chinese food forbidden city barolo rc bonnie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 1,573 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2011

What can I say...Asian service combined with R-C luxury...and at a bargain price also.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Business-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I have always put the Ritz-Carlton group up there with W, Peninsular and Shangri-La hotels. They just know how to welcome and look after their guests and the Huamao Centre R-C is no exception.

A friendly greeting on arrival, shown to and around the room by a concierge member, all speaks volumes about there attention to detail.

This hotel doesn't feel like one of the huge 'factory' hotels that you can find in Beijing now. Relatively small in size, the rooms are spacious, with a good sized bathroom, which includes a bath and a separate shower.

I used the Yu restaurant on the one night I stayed their and this is a top quality location to enjoy good Chinese food. I had a simple meal there, but it was top notch. The spices used in the Sichwan dish I had (mapo dofu), were genuine and not simply a chilli tasting additive. They also made a vegetable dish for me which was not on the menu, so their also flexible. Again top service and friendly staff (numerous) there.

Breakfast selection in the ground floor restaurant Had a wide selection of western and Asian dishes.

The gym/spa is on the top (17th) floor and is well equipped, although I am not a great fan of Technogym weights.

All in all a great place to stay for business or pleasure.

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fareastender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

overall great property with a lovely lobby and fantastic room

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojoDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Everything about this hotel is terrific; a real Ritz Carlton experience. I stayed here for 7 days at the club level. By the end of first day it seemed all of the employees knew and called me by name. The staff at club level are great. The food presentations are all day long and there are many choices and quality is high. The airport pick up by hotel was outstanding meeting me before customs and assisting me thru the process in a very quick manner. It was our anniversary and the staff presented us with a happy anniversary card with pictures of the staff at club level along with warm personal greetings. The room was large and very comfortable. Great breakfast buffet in main dining room. The immediate area has a large upscale mall with a great dumpling restaurant. A second mall across the street has a great foot massage place. The only problem with the location is other than the mall there is really no place to wall in the area. If you want to be able to walk outside the hotel, then the Peninsula or Regent are better located. But the main sites, great wall, summer place, birds nest, still require driving and taxis are cheap. I think this is a terrific hotel and would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDK1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Just stayed there October 7 through 11, 2011. Great Central Business District location (and adjacent to luxe stores like Burberry and Gucci you find in any world capital).

Hotel feels small and intimate (not like the huge bustling Portman Ritz-Carlton in Shanghai), and the staff goes out of its way to maintain that feeling. (Groups, for instance, have their portrait taken, and it's delivered framed and gratis the next day.)

Rooms have the usual R-C old World Euro-inspired furnishings, with some Asianesque touches. The bathrooms are huge, tons of glass, and feature expected goodies like loofahs and shoeshine kits.

But there were some major scuffs on the walls and cabinets and blinds control console, which isn't good at an R-C or any newish hotel. Touch-ups are in order. It also took two tries for the front desk to properly input my R-C rewards number into the reservation.

On the other hand, every single thing, down to handkerchiefs, was folded each day during room cleaning, and when I forgot clothes in Beijing, they were laundered and forwarded on to me in Shanghai.

Rooftop pool was lovely, utterly clean and very relaxing for a morning swim. It seems it isn't used much -- each a.m., I was the only person swimming when stopped by.

The concierge provides a taxi card (which many of the big hotels do), but this one lists not just the R-C address but the address of about 10 other popular Beijing destinations (Summer Palace, Ya Show Market, etc.). Very handy.

Also very handy was the big R-C shopping bag, since so many Chinese stores don't provide good bags.

Nice selection of teas at the minibar. And of course R-C beds are always heaven.

Now, to the food. I only ate in the buffet, both for breakfast and dinner, but the food was not up to R-C standards, and there weren't enough selections. Breakfast was included, as it always is in Asia, but dinner buffet was $50 a person. That's too much for insufficient dim sum and mediocre pasta.

And speaking of prices. Yes, this is the R-C. And yes, the dollar has fallen significantly against the RMB. But $33 for a room service hamburger plus service charge? $30 for continental breakfast? Such prices seem to verge on abusive.

Still, I'd stay here again in a minute. If you do, ask for Ivy, the guest relations manager. William the doorman also is extremely helpful and efficient.

Room tip: The hotel is in a little "bower"/cul-de-sac next to the JW Marriott. It's not very tall, and higher buildings surround much of it. So this isn't the hotel with views to everywhere.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaneurHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews