We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Museum”

Shijia Hutong Museum
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$64.95*
and up
Private Day Tour including Temple of Heaven, Tai Chi Lesson, Rickshaw, and...
Ranked #162 of 1,608 things to do in Beijing
Attraction details
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Rate Museum”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This recently opened museum is a little gem. Multi-dimensional exhibits with excellent English and Chinese signage. So far the museum remains undiscovered. A great way to learn about life in a hutong and the history of a particularly famous hutong.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I am not sure but I think it is the first museum dedicated to the hutong life - one will not find any other place like this so while visiting hutongs in Beijing you cannot miss this place. Visiting museums is always a good way to learn about the past. I highly recommend to go and see what is behind the history of hutongs. Just bear in mind that they close the place at 4pm or 4.30pm (I do not remember exactly) and it is not open on Monday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thisislife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place you have to see!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

me and my girlfriend went there and it's really an amazing place where you can spend good times. its a pleasure for the eyes to see such many beautiful things from the start till the end.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrisat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Remarkable Place”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I Honestly don't have much to say, It's just a beautiful place, I've been there only once, and for sure I'm planning to visit again and again.

Everyone, Bring A CAMERA with you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Tucked away in a former courtyard residence (and school), this museum gives you an impression of the life in and the history of the Shijia hutong. Stories about former residents in both English and Chinese are complemented by pictures and objects. Good for a 1-2 hour visit if you are interested in this part of Beijing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank B0r1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shijia Hutong Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shijia Hutong Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing