We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,102)
Filter reviews
3,102 results
Traveler rating
1,852
1,057
156
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,852
1,057
156
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjinbao towerforbidden citygreat hotelclub roomsubway stationwalking distanceminute walknight marketexit cexcellent locationbreakfast and happy hourconcierge staffbreakfast buffetan upgradecentral locationtaxi driversuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
2,252 - 2,257 of 3,102 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed here three nights in September 2009. Great value, nice location, excellent service. We booked 2 rooms as we were traveling with a party of five - including two children under 10. Both rooms on 12th floor with nice views, very quiet. We paid about $120/night each. For the location, it was a great value considering how expensive Beijing can be. Walking distance to one gate of Forbidden City. There's a Starbucks and several restaurant choices right outside the front door, more restaurants easily within walking distance (even w/kids). Room service was nice, although Western selections are limited. Concierge, front desk, and doormen ALWAYS had a smile and helping hand. Good English spoken. Only complaint is the small, hard mattresses - but that's typical in Asia. The stated "twin bed" is barely big enough for two adults and very hard.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatfamilymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in August 2009 as part of our China honeymoon. Before Beijing we were in Hong Kong and Shanghai.
The hotels we stayed in in the previous cities lived up to our expectations and we were a bit dubious about our last hotel, the Park Plaza.
My wife in her correspondence to the hotel after booking it had mentioned that we would be on honeymoon during our stay so when we were checking in we were told that not only were they upgrading us but also thay would be delivering a cake to our room once we got settled.
When we got to the room there was rose petals laid out on the bed in the shape of a heart with an arrow going through it and within the hour we got a chocolate moouse cake with happy honeymoon written on it. We felt this was a really nice touch that alot of work went into.
In regards our stay, we could not fault this hotel. Of the 3 hotels we stayed in I have to give a mention to the staff here before the others. They were exceptionally polite, attentive and their English was excellent.
The location is perfect. The hotel is attached to The Regent Hotel which has a subway stop directly underneath so getting around was fairly easy.
If we ever return to Beijing, which hopefully we will one day, we would stay here again without question.
While I realise this is a glowing review, there is one thing that I was not fond of. The tour to the Great Wall. In order to get there you have to also visit a Jade factory, a traditional Chinese medicine school and the Ming Tombs with the Great Wall as the last stop. Both the factory and school were awful. It felt very much like a money spin. The Ming Tombs were disappointing in that we were hurried around the grounds and then put back on the bus in less then an hour. This is probably the norm for tours like this but you would prob be better off researching around to see if there are tours available that go directly to the Great Wall instead.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dingdongwongbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We just can't say enough about the great staff at Park Plaza Wangfujing - this is truly how a hotel should be run. Always a smile, always there to help, from holding the door for you to taking your bags without you asking, to waiting patiently but observantly at the restaurants to be there the moment they sense you are wanting for something. It was truly a pleasure to stay here - especially after our next hotel experience we really missed Park Plaza!

LOCATION - Right across the street from Jinbao Plaza and high end shops, lots of restaurants of all price ranges across the street or just down from it, including Da Dong Duck Restaurant. Two blocks from Wangfujing Street and only a few blocks from the Food Street and Night Market. Subway station right next door. Taxis super cheap - usually about 1 or 2 dollars where ever you want to go, but nice to be able to walk. Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City only a 2-minute taxi away. Great location for tourists - not the best for business, but not bad either because the taxis are so cheap and easy to get.

STAFF - See above. Outstanding, from the restaurants to the bellmen to the housekeepers to the restaurant employees. We always felt so welcome and appreciated.

RESTAURANTS - Overpriced, as one might expect. Menu in the bar is poor. Room service is available but similarly overpriced. Buffet Breakfast is 128Y - about $19.00. Good, but not that good. There is a Starbucks across the street. Oodles is the onsite noodle bar - not great, but cheap eats. Didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner - there are so many other options nearby. Nice lobby bar, cozy, live music at times, expensive drinks but free wi-fi makes it a nice hangout to catch up on work.

NEARBY - There is a Hot Pot restaurant across the street which is fine if you've never tried hot pot before - they help you learn how to do it, which would have been nice if we didn't already know. Also a Cantonese place where you can have their special soup. Da Dong Duck Restaurant across Jinbao, and Quanjude Duck Restaurant only about a 10 minute walk away. Night Market maybe a 15 minute walk. Starbucks across the street, also a Japanese Place that we didn't try. Walk down the street toward Wangfujing and there are plenty of fancy shops and some semi-local restaurants.

ROOMS - We did not upgrade to a suite, just had a regular superior room. It was spotless, very nicely appointed, modern. Turn-down service available. The shower had massive water pressure which was nice. Could have splurged for a flat screen TV I think, but that was ok. View was only across the street to another hotel. Bed was terrible, rock hard and felt springy like a really cheap mattress feels. If the bed was at all comfortable, we would have given the hotel 5-stars, but we really had trouble sleeping well, and my back hurt every morning. Met some people staying at the Hilton nearby, whose beds were apparently very luxurious.

BUSINESS - Free wi-fi in the lobby, Free Ethernet LAN broadband in the room, both awesome. Large desk big enough for 2 computers. Business Center on the second floor - only used it to print once, but that went well. Not in the business district, but taxis are cheap and only takes about 10 minutes.

As long as the quality of the bed isn't important to you, Park Plaza can't be beat at this price range for value for the money, location, and service by the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trail811023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We were travelling with our kids (12 and 15), so we wanted a nice, clean and easy place to stay that did not cost an arm and a leg. The Park Plaza Wangfujing seemed to fit the bill.

The hotel location is excellent - in the centre of the luxury district, surrounded by many other hotels that cost at least 3 times as much. The staff were extremely accomodating and all spoke excellent English. Our rooms were a good size and were very clean with all of the ammenities that one could want on a trip. The hotel gave us connecting rooms without us even having to ask. The hotel does not have a swimming pool, but we were doing so many things outside of the hotel (there is so much to see in and around Beijing!) that we were happy to not have the distraction. We didn't fly half way around the world to stay at the hotel and swim!

That being said, we wer.e pretty pooped the first day we arrived & ordered room service. It was really good and not expensive at all.

When we had adjusted to the time difference, we found that the major tourist attractions are about a 30 minute walk or a 10 minute walk and 5 minute subway ride away (Tien an men square and Forbidden City). These sites are really close in Beijing terms - there are some hotels right next to them (like Raffles for instance) but their prices again are about 3 times that of the Park Plaza. The walk was really nice & we visited some huatangs that we might never have seen if we'd been right there.

We booked air tickets from Beijing to Hong Kong for the following week and the concierge staff did this for us very quickly and easily - no fuss and a much better price than we'd have gotten if we'd booked them at home.

Taxis are tough to get in Beijing at times, but our hotel was always able to find a clean and friendly driver for us if we needed it.

We had snacks one day out in the "Beer Garden" (yes, it is called that) and enjoyed 2 for one drinks and free hors d'ouevres, along with fresh soy bean snacks. Really nice. And inexpensive again.

The Plaza Hotel Wangfujing is a nice mix of traditional Chinese service and style, mixed with some good North American & European touches. They've done it right & I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank README
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Have stayed in many hotels across Beijing over the years and this has been an excellent experience to date. I think the service has been outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajhlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews