We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ideally located for the Forbidden City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #27 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel ideally located for the Forbidden City”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We booked a club room which was very comfortable. The hotel is not far from the Forbidden City, easily reached on foot. They also organised a trip to the Great Wall for us. I would advise you to check if booking a taxi for the day is better as on the organised trip you have to endure two shopping stops at overpriced shops.
We enjoyed being able to have a free drink at any time during the day on 15th floor but we did not try the free drinks late afternoon.
There is some nice street food near by and a large shopping area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigitteTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,711
    976
    134
    18
    14
See reviews for
602
981
275
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Got a great rate for the hotel, and several colleagues had stayed there with decent recommendations. Slight drawback in that it's a bit hidden behind other office buildings, and my cabbie kept driving around for an hour trying to find it - (word to the wise, have directions/address in Chinese, airport taxi stand had no one that could read English at the time). Cabbie had to drive around and stop at 2 other more established hotels to ask their porters where this hotel was located.

After that fiasco, things began to look up. Well appointed room, good breakfast (although offerings are limited.) I didn't like that you had to pay for every printed sheet in the business center, though.

Ordered from Japanese menu for room service, a bit bland. Then ordered from the bar/cafe in the lobby, also a bit bland.

Decent restaurants just outside the front lobby, however. And subway line is just on the otherside of the neighboring office building - Summer Palace was about an hr away, Forbidden City was about 15 minutes. A good base, once you get your bearings.

You get what you pay for, certainly. But for about $120 US a night, I could not complain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJStanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your opinion on your recent stay with us! We were delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you have experienced some difficulty get to the hotel at beginning by a taxi. Our hotel located in the heart of Beijing close to many tourist attractions like you have mentioned. 10 minutes walk to the Wangfujing Walk Street, and indeed 15 minutes to Tiananmen Square and forbidden city.

We provide the Taxi card which has Chinese and English both print with hotel address convenient for our guests on their first visit. Guests can also contact our 24hours duty manager by calling 0086 10 18001033916 before their arrival for any enquire they may have regarding their visit. Thanks again for you valuable feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing soon once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Park Plaza is located 20 minutes taxi drive from the airport. 15 minutes’ walk to the night market and 30 minutes’ walk to the Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. Greeting by the doormen and the front office stuff was quick and friendly.
It is a little bit hidden between other buildings and there are no nice views from the hotel rooms.

Our clubroom was nice equipped and had everything we needed. Even though the hotel starts to look a little bit old, rooms are perfectly cleaned and maintained.

The breakfast was good but nothing special. The club lounge is located on the very top floor. They serve cold and hot beverages and some snack, such as peanuts, some pastry, fresh and dried fruits. The stuff is really friendly and helpful (higher variety of snacks is recommended). Happy Hour is served in the breakfast area every day at 5:00 pm.

For those who are interested in coffee, Starbucks is right next door.

We already stayed twice in this hotel and will book again. Compared to other 4 or 5 stars hotels in Beijing this is so far the best option considering the price and the quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was my first stay in the Park Plaza. I found the hotel to be more than I expected on every level. The room was large and clean as well as very well appointed. In particular the staff was exceptional. They were all very friendly and able to answer all of my questions and requests. I will certainly stay in the Park Plaza on my next trip to Beijing and recommend it to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Beautiful hotel, in a very good location! a walking distance to the Wangfuging street, the Food market, the forbidden city. We've been at the Park Plaza during the new year celebration week and it was a wonderfull vacation! The staff helped in any issue we had, they were very kind and had a good English. We loved it and we'll defenetly get back if we'll be again in Beijing.

Room Tip: Go for the package with the lounge and the Happy hour! it worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ymhaim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked a few weeks in advance so we got a wonderful rate! Upon arrival we noticed the hotel is modern and clean and we were offered a welcome drink.The room was lovely, modern and also clean with a nice view of Beijing. We enjoyed "happy hour" in the bar in the lobby. The room service breakfast was so delicious and such a good price (if you stay here treat yourself to the breakfast in room). The location is good with many restaurants around, and close to the major attractions. For refreshments Molly Malones & Starbucks, we even found a quaint restaurant that closed at 4am with the most delish dumplings and fried rice. Free wifi in the room also coffee & tea making facilities. We wanted to say additional nights but the rate had gone up, so it's good to book in advance when possible! Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherlock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Very clean, spacious, and friendly staff. The hotel is speak and modern. With a beautiful lobby and bar. Room service is extremely affordable for such a nice hotel. The location is fantastic. Close to shopping, dining, The Forbidden City & Tiananmen Square. There is also a subway station right connected to the hotel! Really couldn't be more convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aldchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,352 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,685 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#28 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,499 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Property: Park Plaza Wangfujing
Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#25 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#45 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing