We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #27 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and good value for money”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed at Park Plaza in Dec 2013 for two nights. The room was very nice and clean. The location is very central and there are plenty of restaurants and shops near by. Staff was very polite and speedy check in and check out process.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshirePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    976
    134
    18
    14
See reviews for
602
981
275
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were 2 couples staying in Beijing for 5 nights in late December 2013. The Park Plaza's convenient central location, 4 star amenities, and very affordable rate make this an incredible value, which is why we chose to return to this hotel for a 2nd visit.

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: Took a taxi from the airport. Most taxi drivers are not familiar with this hotel and its location, so your best bet is to give them the name of the Regent Hotel (Li Jing), which is Park Plaza (Li Ting)'s sister hotel next door. Pulling up to the hotel, we were greeted by the friendly bellhops who took our bags inside to the concierge desk. Check-in at reception was a breeze. They did not try to upsell us to a Club Room, but also did not give us a complimentary upgrade or welcome drinks, even though it was the off season.

ROOM: Our rooms were 713 and 714, which could be joined together for families travelling together. The rooms faced the front of the hotel with a view of the Regent Hotel across the curved driveway. Plenty of electrical outlets which is not easy to find abroad. The rooms were spacious and clean with firm mattresses and a pillow menu. Standard safe, disposable slippers, umbrella, iron, hair dryer, robes, tea/coffee, etc with 2 complimentary bottles of water per day. Bathroom was spotless and had a tub and ample toiletries which were always replenished. Wifi was included and available in room, though the signal was occasionally spotty.

AMENITIES: The gym, though small, is sufficiently equipped for a simple workout, and is apparently rarely used. 2 treadmills, a stationary bicycle, yoga mats, free weights, and a weight machine. It was not staffed, but easily accessed with room key and bottled water and towels were well-stocked. No spa or swimming pool, but strangely, there is a barber shop.

VALUE: Amazing value given the caliber and location of the hotel vs. the relatively low price. Do not get the breakfast -- at 150RMB per person, you can find better options elsewhere.

LOCATION: Convenient location for exploring Beijing. Closest subway station is Dengshikou (Line 5), around the corner from the hotel. The hotel is at the intersection of Jinbao Street and Dongdan North Street, a bustling commercial area. Jinbao Street is lined with flashy international retailers like Gucci, Prada, Cartier, Ferrari, etc, while Dongdan North Street holds small shops and stores that cater to the residents of the area. Walking 10-15 minutes along Jinbao Street will take you to the beginning of the Wangfujing's pedestrian mall and night market. Getting a taxi at the hotel can be a bit of a wait, but the bellhops will do all the work for you. Starbucks across the driveway is a welcome reminder of home.

SERVICE: Friendly service. Even on the most bitterly cold days, the doorman greeted us with a smile. The concierges were helpful, but only if they understood your request. When we complained about cigarette smoke coming through the vents, they sent us a fruit plate to assuage us but did not address the issue.

TIP: Services booked with the hotel incur a heavy, though expected, markup. For example, we were quoted 1800RMB for transportation to the Great Wall (Mutianyu) and the Summer Palace, but found another company via TripAdvisor who only charged us 800RMB. However, we did use their minivan for transportation back to the airport as it was the same cost as 2 taxis.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJ912001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I just spent 4 days taking in the main sites of Beijing. The location was excellent for accessing the city's metro, just around the corner (50m). The staff was helpful and accommodating to every query we had to enjoy our time in this city. The breakfast and happy hour were wonderful to start and end our busy and cold days. The room was warm, comfortable, quiet and modern. A perfect spot to experience the heart of Beijing.

Room Tip: Ask about any room and or special upgrades being offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Arrived at this hotel by taxi (an experience in itself), we were instantly greeted with a drink and had our bags collected by the bellhop. Check in was a painless experience and we were offered a free upgrade due to the quietness of the hotel. The view isn't much to speak of, but the hotel room is very comfortable with a medium-firm bed and a choice of pillows. All the usual facilities such as tv, safe, desk, ironing board, toiletries etc are available in the room. Staff are very welcoming, though there is a slight edge of this being more of a business hotel. Staff replenish a free bottle of water and small treats every day, strangely the minibar was never stocked except for two very small, very expensive (40RMB) Evian bottles. Still a 24 hour store is a short walk away. The bathroom is large, with a powerful shower over a flat bath. All in all a comfortable if standard hotel experience. Location wise it is well placed for a 30 minute walk to the main shopping streets, night food market and Tiananmen Square and The Forbidden Palace (distances on the map are deceiving). Across the road is Da Dong Roast Dick Restaurant, reportedly some of the best peking duck in the city, while turn left out of the hotel and a few local style restaurants are available. We tried the Cantonese one and the dishes were ok. At night a food market is open, a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel but, as with restaurants, get in early as most shut at 10pm. Beijing North train station serves Badaling for a section of the Great Wall. A taxi took the best part of 45 mins to get there but a subway station is a short walk from the hotel, so try that instead.

Helpful?
2 Thank SymbioticDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bandung
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights there, and it was nice to have a good, friendly and helpful staff. Location were behind office tower and Regent Hotel more quite then main Jinbao Street and have starbucks just across roundabout. Wangfujing and Metro Station just click away. Breakfast menu and those happy hour were perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tantiklam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A very comfortable yet affordable and quiet hotel in Beijing. I have stayed there since it opened, maybe 25 times always a good experience.. The best trained and most helpful hotel staff in Beijing. Very nice modern rooms, great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

When I stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago, I was traveling with a friend so it made sense to upgrade to a club room with Happy Hour + breakfast included. This time I was traveling on my own, and initially wanted to resist the very strong pressure of the Receptionist and stay in a "regular" superior room vs. a club room -- what I had booked.
I was given room 314, right above the restaurant, and it was like I was staying at another hotel from the Park Plaza I like so much! The room was old and tired, old upholstery and carpet, a bit dingy, dark, smelly. A minute later, I was down at Reception asking for the upgrade.
It all changed with the new room, and I was once again at the wonderful hotel I like so much. I guess some would say you get what you pay for, and yes be prepared to upgrade if you want a nice room. That's what I am reviewing -- a club room, and not the superior room they sell on the web!
Cost of the upgrade: RMB 273.70 per day with tax ($46).
Make sure you factor this in when you make the reservation.
I loved my room, the hotel location and the breakfast, but the cost per day was $151 and not $105 as I thought initially.
I will keep this in mind when I next book a stay in Beijing. I did not like the $105 room at all.

Room Tip: Spend $46 extra per day and upgrade. Those superior rooms are old, tired, and smelly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,353 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,685 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#28 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,499 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Property: Park Plaza Wangfujing
Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#25 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#45 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing