We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #33 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have a lot of friends who choose this hotel when they come to Beijing . This hotel has very good location . 5 mins to the subway line 5 , 10 mins to wangfujing street , 5 mins to Jin bao place where you can find famous Da dong roast duck restaurant on 5th floor .but there's no swimming poor .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beijingsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a solid hotel for a reasonable price in a nice part of the town. Would definitely stay here again - my colleague and I chose this one to extend our stay after a work visit. I'd normally go for a more adventurous place and would have tried a Hutong, but having worked for an entire week, we chose to opt for a classy chain hotel. Clean and decent sized rooms, helpful and friendly staff.

Just some advice if this is your first trip to Beijing: I read somewhere in one of the reviews that a taxi from the airport is USD 100. This is WRONG. We had spoken with some Chinese colleagues before and new that the trip from the airport to the park plaza is around 100 yuan (~15 USD). Be aware of this, as the moment you step out of the airport, people would come up to you and tell you that it's 700 yuan (that's the max we were offered) or 300 yuan. Don't take these ones! Make sure you queue in the official line (if in doubt ask one of the girls at the information stand next to the taxi line to point out an official one to you) and take a taxi that has a meter !! We paid around 90 yuan all the way to the Park Plaza. Call the hotel before you arrive and ask them to send you the address in Chinese (have them take a picture of their business card.

Generally, while in Beijing, always make sure that the taxi has a meter. Despite being alert, we were scammed and lost 100 yuan (despite my previous experiences in other countries, I was not quite up to this one): Long story short, keep these things in mind:

(1) Be careful when you take taxis close to tourist attractions (Forbidden City, Silk Market, Pearl Market)- I guess this is a no brainer, but still.

(2) Make sure that the taxi has a meter (it starts at 13 yuan)

(3) Be suspicious if the taxi does not drive you right up to the entrance of the hotel - ours dropped us in front of the Regent, the Park Plaza is just behind the Regent. So we kind of thought it was ok, it is not!

(4) Remember what the note looks like which you hand to the driver. If he does not want to accept it (and it comes back with a missing corner or sth similar), be suspicious! Especially if he eventually accepts another note and hands you that one back.

(5) Always ask for a receipt and remember the taxi number!

(6) If things get heated (he refuses to drive you up to the hotel entrance, etc), I'd recommend preparing your camera silently in your purse and take a picture of the license plate the moment you get out.

I am not saying that all taxi drivers are dishonest, but there are a few bad seeds everywhere, so simply be prepared and keep these things in your mind

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having already stayed in Park Plaza Westminster London we kind of knew the standards to expect as it is such a huge chain.

We got off to a bad start at check in as we used a Debit Card not a Credit Card. The lady behind the counter did not pay much attention to what card was handed to her. We unfortunately were charged the full amount at check in and at check out with the lady behind the counter again not pay attention to our earlier situation, so in total we were charged twice.

We were reimbursed with complimentary breakfast for the duration of our stay but we were very disappointed with the level of attention which the staff should have been paying.

The plus point to this would be the location of the hotel, with it being very close to a metro station as well as walking distance from the famous Wangfujing Market.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Please accept our humble apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to your recent stay with us at Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing. .
As a four star international chain hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. The incident you have brought up is surely not the standard we are proud of. I have personally looked into this matter seriously and conduct investigation right away. The major service defect you have encountered is a debit card being double charged during your stay and over charged amount has been refunded, I have checked through our financial statement and found no record for this refund amount. Based on international hotel standard, upon guest registration, indeed we need to ask for credit card to obtain authorization for estimated room charges and settle upon departure. It will be very much appreciated if you are able to contact us directly for detail description so that we may follow through immediately.
Once again, thank you for your valuable comment and we will take this incident as a lesson to further improve our quality service towards all Park Plaza guests. We deeply value your loyalty with Park Plaza and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was amazed I could get a classy hotel like this in the middle of Beijing for under $150 a night including breakfast. Right next to uber expensive hotels like the Regent, this offered all the comfort, service and class you need.
The fast talking front desk manager talked us into an upgrade- by bargaining hard we got a 6pm check out and 3 day upgrade for under $80 all up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorchbearerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the Club suites and paid for the package entitling us to breakfast and use of the lounge with complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day. We felt this was good value for money and our room was generously-sized with a large bedroom, separate sitting area, large bathroom and guest toilet. This was absolutely perfect for us as we were travelling with our young son.
We were very happy with the location, as former residents of Beijing, we wanted somewhere close to the "action" but not too noisy or dusty. Park Plaza Wangfujing is cleverly hidden behind the main street so you are sheltered from all of this, and yet it is a few steps away from a subway station which easily gets you north and south through the city (change lines to go east and west).
The hotel room was very clean, and everyone from the housekeepers to the front of house staff was kind and welcoming.
Our only slight disappointment is that we thought we had seem advertised that the hotel had a swimming pool, but it doesn't. You are able to use the hotel at the nearby hotel "The Regent" but at 80RMB per person, we felt this was very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pookiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Park Plaza was very comfortable and felt like a Western hotel. It's located in a nice part of the city and concierge could guide you to anywhere you wanted to go. The subway stops right outside the hotel and that was our only means of transportation to see the whole city. The staff spoke great English and was very helpful. One tip when traveling by cab from the airport...have the hotel name/address written in Chinese as the drivers speak no English. Great hotel to spend a week!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cwark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Comfortable, well-appointed and -maintained rooms; attractive, conveniently located hotel next to Dengshikou subway-metro station and to shopping areas; pleasant, helpful, cooperative, courteous staff


We stayed at the Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing two years ago. In planning our second visit to Beijing we researched other hotels, but concluded that the Park Plaza still offered the most attractive combination of price, quality, service, convenience, location and favorable reviews. So long as the Park Plaza maintains its high standards and reasonable prices, on our next visit to Beijing we would most probably stay here as our first choice.

On checking in, we were assigned a room on the 8th (smoking) floor. (Lydia at reception was exceptionally pleasant, courteous, cooperative and helpful.) Apparently our reservation had not registered that we wanted a non-smoking room. The next morning, when we commented on the smell of cigarette smoke entering our room, reception staff immediately offered to move us to another room on a non-smoking floor and to move our luggage for us. (Note that each floor has a numerical sign visible when you leave a lift-elevator to enter the main corridor. A non-smoking floor has under its number a small, standard symbol of a cigarette in a circle with a bar through it; if the floor sign does not have this symbol, it is a smoking floor.)

We were satisfied to wait for an available room of the type we preferred and to move our belongings ourselves. In the meantime, we went out sightseeing. When we returned around 5 p.m., reception staff had another room reserved for us on the 9th floor (non-smoking). We transferred and found everything satisfactory — in one way better as the air conditioning worked more efficiently. We noted that corner rooms at the end of a corridor could be larger than the other rooms along the corridor.

This was also our second encounter with the inconvenience of other guests smoking. We also detected that reception staff seem to prefer moving guests bothered by smoke to another room in the hotel rather than speak to guests who smoke in a room on a non-smoking floor (common in China).

We found that the Internet connection using an Ethernet cable or WiFi was a bit slow but did work acceptably.

During our stay the China Daily newspaper was not delivered each day to the room (as it was on our first visit). We noticed that a small black bag containing a newspaper was hung on the outside handle of some other room doors; consequently, it might now be necessary to ask at reception to receive the paper each morning. Also, the console table near the lifts-elevators no longer had copies of the Global Times (depending on the day of issue) or a bowl of apples.

Getting to the hotel from the airport using the metro-subway system is still very straightforward (as described in my full review of July 2011). Leave customs and follow signs to "Airport Express Trains". Take the lift-elevator to Level B2. The train operates from 6:35 a.m. to 11:10 p.m. and costs 25 yuan per person. Take the train to Dongzhimen metro station at the end of the line. Change to Line 2 (follow the signs) and take the train to Yonghegong (Lama Temple). Change to Line 5 (again follow the signs) and get off at Dengshikou station. Leave the station by Exit C. The Park Plaza is around the corner up the side street Ganmian Hutong.

We noticed on the Internet that the Google street map and the satellite map do not correspond precisely when you switch from one to the other.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,621 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,548 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#35 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,607 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
DoubleTree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#29 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#32 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $95 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing