We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
$211
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$73
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$218
$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
$213
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$118
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$393
$318
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$204
$189
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,080)
Filter reviews
3,080 results
Traveler rating
1,838
1,051
154
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,838
1,051
154
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjinbao towerforbidden citygreat hotelclub roomsubway stationwalking distanceminute walknight marketexit cexcellent locationbreakfast and happy hourconcierge staffbreakfast buffetan upgradestayed here for nightscentral locationtaxi driver
Filter
Updating list...
1,322 - 1,327 of 3,080 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having already stayed in Park Plaza Westminster London we kind of knew the standards to expect as it is such a huge chain.

We got off to a bad start at check in as we used a Debit Card not a Credit Card. The lady behind the counter did not pay much attention to what card was handed to her. We unfortunately were charged the full amount at check in and at check out with the lady behind the counter again not pay attention to our earlier situation, so in total we were charged twice.

We were reimbursed with complimentary breakfast for the duration of our stay but we were very disappointed with the level of attention which the staff should have been paying.

The plus point to this would be the location of the hotel, with it being very close to a metro station as well as walking distance from the famous Wangfujing Market.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Please accept our humble apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to your recent stay with us at Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing. .
As a four star international chain hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. The incident you have brought up is surely not the standard we are proud of. I have personally looked into this matter seriously and conduct investigation right away. The major service defect you have encountered is a debit card being double charged during your stay and over charged amount has been refunded, I have checked through our financial statement and found no record for this refund amount. Based on international hotel standard, upon guest registration, indeed we need to ask for credit card to obtain authorization for estimated room charges and settle upon departure. It will be very much appreciated if you are able to contact us directly for detail description so that we may follow through immediately.
Once again, thank you for your valuable comment and we will take this incident as a lesson to further improve our quality service towards all Park Plaza guests. We deeply value your loyalty with Park Plaza and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was amazed I could get a classy hotel like this in the middle of Beijing for under $150 a night including breakfast. Right next to uber expensive hotels like the Regent, this offered all the comfort, service and class you need.
The fast talking front desk manager talked us into an upgrade- by bargaining hard we got a 6pm check out and 3 day upgrade for under $80 all up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorchbearerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the Club suites and paid for the package entitling us to breakfast and use of the lounge with complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day. We felt this was good value for money and our room was generously-sized with a large bedroom, separate sitting area, large bathroom and guest toilet. This was absolutely perfect for us as we were travelling with our young son.
We were very happy with the location, as former residents of Beijing, we wanted somewhere close to the "action" but not too noisy or dusty. Park Plaza Wangfujing is cleverly hidden behind the main street so you are sheltered from all of this, and yet it is a few steps away from a subway station which easily gets you north and south through the city (change lines to go east and west).
The hotel room was very clean, and everyone from the housekeepers to the front of house staff was kind and welcoming.
Our only slight disappointment is that we thought we had seem advertised that the hotel had a swimming pool, but it doesn't. You are able to use the hotel at the nearby hotel "The Regent" but at 80RMB per person, we felt this was very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pookiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Park Plaza was very comfortable and felt like a Western hotel. It's located in a nice part of the city and concierge could guide you to anywhere you wanted to go. The subway stops right outside the hotel and that was our only means of transportation to see the whole city. The staff spoke great English and was very helpful. One tip when traveling by cab from the airport...have the hotel name/address written in Chinese as the drivers speak no English. Great hotel to spend a week!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cwark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Comfortable, well-appointed and -maintained rooms; attractive, conveniently located hotel next to Dengshikou subway-metro station and to shopping areas; pleasant, helpful, cooperative, courteous staff


We stayed at the Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing two years ago. In planning our second visit to Beijing we researched other hotels, but concluded that the Park Plaza still offered the most attractive combination of price, quality, service, convenience, location and favorable reviews. So long as the Park Plaza maintains its high standards and reasonable prices, on our next visit to Beijing we would most probably stay here as our first choice.

On checking in, we were assigned a room on the 8th (smoking) floor. (Lydia at reception was exceptionally pleasant, courteous, cooperative and helpful.) Apparently our reservation had not registered that we wanted a non-smoking room. The next morning, when we commented on the smell of cigarette smoke entering our room, reception staff immediately offered to move us to another room on a non-smoking floor and to move our luggage for us. (Note that each floor has a numerical sign visible when you leave a lift-elevator to enter the main corridor. A non-smoking floor has under its number a small, standard symbol of a cigarette in a circle with a bar through it; if the floor sign does not have this symbol, it is a smoking floor.)

We were satisfied to wait for an available room of the type we preferred and to move our belongings ourselves. In the meantime, we went out sightseeing. When we returned around 5 p.m., reception staff had another room reserved for us on the 9th floor (non-smoking). We transferred and found everything satisfactory — in one way better as the air conditioning worked more efficiently. We noted that corner rooms at the end of a corridor could be larger than the other rooms along the corridor.

This was also our second encounter with the inconvenience of other guests smoking. We also detected that reception staff seem to prefer moving guests bothered by smoke to another room in the hotel rather than speak to guests who smoke in a room on a non-smoking floor (common in China).

We found that the Internet connection using an Ethernet cable or WiFi was a bit slow but did work acceptably.

During our stay the China Daily newspaper was not delivered each day to the room (as it was on our first visit). We noticed that a small black bag containing a newspaper was hung on the outside handle of some other room doors; consequently, it might now be necessary to ask at reception to receive the paper each morning. Also, the console table near the lifts-elevators no longer had copies of the Global Times (depending on the day of issue) or a bowl of apples.

Getting to the hotel from the airport using the metro-subway system is still very straightforward (as described in my full review of July 2011). Leave customs and follow signs to "Airport Express Trains". Take the lift-elevator to Level B2. The train operates from 6:35 a.m. to 11:10 p.m. and costs 25 yuan per person. Take the train to Dongzhimen metro station at the end of the line. Change to Line 2 (follow the signs) and take the train to Yonghegong (Lama Temple). Change to Line 5 (again follow the signs) and get off at Dengshikou station. Leave the station by Exit C. The Park Plaza is around the corner up the side street Ganmian Hutong.

We noticed on the Internet that the Google street map and the satellite map do not correspond precisely when you switch from one to the other.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews