We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Wangfujing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #24 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Park Plaza was very comfortable and felt like a Western hotel. It's located in a nice part of the city and concierge could guide you to anywhere you wanted to go. The subway stops right outside the hotel and that was our only means of transportation to see the whole city. The staff spoke great English and was very helpful. One tip when traveling by cab from the airport...have the hotel name/address written in Chinese as the drivers speak no English. Great hotel to spend a week!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cwark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    876
    113
    16
    13
See reviews for
540
875
253
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
213 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Comfortable, well-appointed and -maintained rooms; attractive, conveniently located hotel next to Dengshikou subway-metro station and to shopping areas; pleasant, helpful, cooperative, courteous staff


We stayed at the Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing two years ago. In planning our second visit to Beijing we researched other hotels, but concluded that the Park Plaza still offered the most attractive combination of price, quality, service, convenience, location and favorable reviews. So long as the Park Plaza maintains its high standards and reasonable prices, on our next visit to Beijing we would most probably stay here as our first choice.

On checking in, we were assigned a room on the 8th (smoking) floor. (Lydia at reception was exceptionally pleasant, courteous, cooperative and helpful.) Apparently our reservation had not registered that we wanted a non-smoking room. The next morning, when we commented on the smell of cigarette smoke entering our room, reception staff immediately offered to move us to another room on a non-smoking floor and to move our luggage for us. (Note that each floor has a numerical sign visible when you leave a lift-elevator to enter the main corridor. A non-smoking floor has under its number a small, standard symbol of a cigarette in a circle with a bar through it; if the floor sign does not have this symbol, it is a smoking floor.)

We were satisfied to wait for an available room of the type we preferred and to move our belongings ourselves. In the meantime, we went out sightseeing. When we returned around 5 p.m., reception staff had another room reserved for us on the 9th floor (non-smoking). We transferred and found everything satisfactory — in one way better as the air conditioning worked more efficiently. We noted that corner rooms at the end of a corridor could be larger than the other rooms along the corridor.

This was also our second encounter with the inconvenience of other guests smoking. We also detected that reception staff seem to prefer moving guests bothered by smoke to another room in the hotel rather than speak to guests who smoke in a room on a non-smoking floor (common in China).

We found that the Internet connection using an Ethernet cable or WiFi was a bit slow but did work acceptably.

During our stay the China Daily newspaper was not delivered each day to the room (as it was on our first visit). We noticed that a small black bag containing a newspaper was hung on the outside handle of some other room doors; consequently, it might now be necessary to ask at reception to receive the paper each morning. Also, the console table near the lifts-elevators no longer had copies of the Global Times (depending on the day of issue) or a bowl of apples.

Getting to the hotel from the airport using the metro-subway system is still very straightforward (as described in my full review of July 2011). Leave customs and follow signs to "Airport Express Trains". Take the lift-elevator to Level B2. The train operates from 6:35 a.m. to 11:10 p.m. and costs 25 yuan per person. Take the train to Dongzhimen metro station at the end of the line. Change to Line 2 (follow the signs) and take the train to Yonghegong (Lama Temple). Change to Line 5 (again follow the signs) and get off at Dengshikou station. Leave the station by Exit C. The Park Plaza is around the corner up the side street Ganmian Hutong.

We noticed on the Internet that the Google street map and the satellite map do not correspond precisely when you switch from one to the other.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a great time staying there, the staff were very professional and helpful. Everything is near by, enjoyed walking around. Will definitely visit again and as Tommo348 said upgrade for happy hour. Family friendly too.

Room Tip: Rooms with connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zohra800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with excellent service. We enjoyed 3 nights here in this centrally located hotel near to the Forbidden City and excellent local shopping and sights. Recommend getting the upgrade to allow free Happy Hour drinks in the Bloo restaurant lounge, very good indeed. Nice and well appointed rooms with everything one could want and excellent views over Beijing and surrounds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommo348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at the Park Plaza Wangfuging with my teen daughter at the beginning of August. We upgraded the room to a suit so we had full of space. The suit was pleasant, breakfast is varied and the happy hour drinks and snacks were a nice entry to Beijing nights. The subway is 1 minute walk and most of the major attraction within a walking distance. The hotel team is very very friendly and helpful and contributed a lot to an excellent vacation. We will definitely choose this hotel once more If we ever again in Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yalula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in club plaza room for 3 nights. The room is spacious located at high floors. The location is near to city center, just off the road which indeed helps you to keep away from bustling city traffic. Breakfast has varieties, staffs are courteous; however all the staffs do not speak english - that's always the problem in China. Aboveall, value for money for the services & facilities you get in staying at this hotel. Concierge desk helps you to arrange all the tours. If you book city tour or great wall tour from one of the few travel agents across the street possibly you can get at a cheaper price (provided you can make them understood your need). However we booked tours from the hotel & the trips were safe & reliable.

Only difficulty we had was with non-availabilty of 'Call a Cab' service. It was raining heavily & we had to catch the flight. No cabs were available or coming to the hotel entrance. Some cabs we could see plying on distance roads. But I guess that's the problem with Beijing Taxi service. Anyway, would surely love to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Partha_Biswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel after reading many positive reviews on TA.

The location of the hotel was good with dengshikou metro less than 200m walk and many resteraunts and shopping close by.

Forbidden city and tienamen square were approx half hour walk.

The staff were extremely helpful and directed us to many good resteraunts and spoke good English.

The happy hour drinks were also good value and worth taking advantage of.

The room was clean and large enough.

There were only 6 English speaking tv channels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzz_loves_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#27 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#57 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Property: Park Plaza Wangfujing
Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#20 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing