We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #32 of 6,550 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived at the end of March to a frezing cold lobby but the room was even colder.There was a letter in the room explaining the goverment had turned the heating off and if we was cold we could get a heater from reception so off we went to the reception to be toldthere was no heaters and we was offerd blankets . Who wants to go under the covers everytime we go back to the room. The executive lounge was poorly stocked with beer were about 5 at a time were brought only to be quickly taken and having to wait and try to grab the next time round. The food was very poor also. Breakfast wasjust about ok but you had too sit in the cold breakfast room. The location was good , rooms were not 4* as i would class them as budget hotel in the Uk

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philwiganengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us on your recent stay with Park Plaza.
We were sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations and apologize the inconvenience caused to you regarding the temperature in your room during your stay.

As outlined in the letter we have provided in the room for our guests we are reliant on the heating provided by the municipality of Beijing and in the absence of full heating we make available to our guests ample blankets and heaters we have available in our stock in case any hotel guest asking for it. We are sorry to learn that this did not make a difference during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,326 - 1,332 of 2,949 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Park plaza is located in the center of Beijing, Jin bao street , nice environment, and so close to the Tiananmen Square, wangfujing shopping street .there is a nice coffee shop outside the hotel ,and many different restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had two great nights in the Park Plaza. Great location, near a Starbucks, great service and amenities. Great value for the price. Needed an adaptor to charge camera and phone and got it very quickly.

Offers a breakfast and has a restaurant and bar on site. Exceptional service from the front desk to the doorman. Great concerige service too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was surprised by how good the service was at the Park Plaza consider the low room rates. This is clearly a 4 star hotel in every sense of the ranking. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff is very good. It's also clearly a western hotel, catering to western clients. The entire staff speaks good English, they serve many western dishes in the restaurant and everything is printed in English. The location can't be beat with the hotel right in the middle of the Forbidden City, close to the best shopping area, and next to the subway station. The room and bathroom are large enough (not enough area for a roll away, but more than enough for two people), with quality bedding and fixtures. The best part was the service, I really can't say how happy I was with it. They were always helpful, and friendly. The only draw back (there is always something) was the quality of the food served in the bar. I would think a top 4 star hotel would do a better job at that as many people will take an early or late meal in the bar area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

While staying here for 2 nights I lost my ATM card in a machine. The Concierges, who spoke excellent English, especially Simon and Alex, worked tirelessly and spent 2 full days making phone calls with the bank in order to coordinate getting my card back. Simon also fought for me when I was scammed by a taxi driver as well. I cannot say enough praise for the amount they went above and beyond their duties for me!

In addition, the room was nice and located in a clean, safe area with a Starbucks across the street. Taxis are easy to find, but there are not many things to see within walking distance. Overall, a very western friendly hotel and very helpful in getting us acclimated to China!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lttletimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The best with this hotel is the location, right in the center, close to shopping, Forbbiden city and Tiananmen square.Room is clean and cozy, maybe a bit small for an extra bed, but still workable. Big ,clean bathroom, nice room service. We did not have the breakfast included in the price, but the price offered if you decide to go for it is very high. There is a Starbucks across the road,so you are saved for better cost. hotel was flexible w checking out time and let us have the room until 2 pm.

Room Tip: Make sure you do choose non smoking if you are picky w the smoke . Smoking is still common in China...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaGDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel before. All my positive comments about this hotel are still true.

What I did not like this time:

This time I visited in a different season. April in Beijing is still a bit chilly. I discovered that the room temperature is centrally set at 20C (and it feels like a bit below 20C too) and it's not possible to make upward adjustment. Upon request, Housekeeping brought me an extra duvet, and I was warm enough when sleeping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaindropOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,550 in Beijing
1,512 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,550 in Beijing
2,485 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,550 in Beijing
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#25 of 6,550 in Beijing
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#31 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#35 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $104 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing