We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great base in Beijing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Wangfujing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Wangfujing to your Saves list
Park Plaza Wangfujing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great base in Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

On a recent trip to China, we stayed in both a large mid-priced hotel like the Park Plaza and a smaller, more intimate one like the Shichahai Shadowart in the hutongs. Yet, if service is the differential factor, then the Park Plaza wins hands-down over the small hutong hotel.

We had a comfortable stay in the Park Plaza. We upgraded to two suite rooms that came with a king bed and a sofa bed, which also included a buffet breakfast, free drinks and snacks at happy hour. Service from everyone - chambermaid to reception staff to concierge and doormen - was excellent. One of the doormen went out of his way to the main road to hail a cab for us. Some offered advice on transport connections, sights etc. All were helpful. I can understand why the Park Plaza consistently gets high ratings.

The buffet breakfast is extensive and delicious. My youngest misses her daily glasses of milk! Apparently milk tastes much better there than back home!

The hotel is also very well-placed. Just 10min walk to Wangfujing. The subway is just behind the hotel. From the hotel's back door to the subway entrance, the walk is less than 50m. From there it is easy to access most parts of Beijing. Further up the main drag of Dong Bei road is a strip of shops, boutiques and eateries, more for locals and priced accordingly but no less interesting - for us, even more so than Wangfujing which is touristy, commercialised and a strip of malls featuring the same brands back home.

Room Tip: take the upgrade. Its worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    876
    113
    16
    13
See reviews for
539
875
253
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for five nights back in August this year. We booked a twin room which easily fitted two adults in one bed and two kids in the other bed.

The location was great, an easy walk to either the subway or down to the Wangfujing area for dinner.

Taxi's were never a problem.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beadshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I had 3 nights stay here after moving from our first hotel which was book by someone else for us which was not good at all... I found it on trip adviser and saw great reviews and booked one of the delux suite online through elong.com. We were very happy with the choice.
Large clean nonsmoking rooms, comfortable and soft bed, and great breakfast Buffet, and in the heart of wangfujing!

They staff were awesome, very helpful. One night we had some thai food delivered to our hotel but the restaurant forgot our rice, the hotel staff call the kitchen for us and 5 minutes later we had rice at our door!

We were so impressed that we stayed here again after coming back from a week long trip to southern china. Also they have afternoon tea buffet every day around 5pm with wine, you can totally bypass dinner if wanted to.

The only thing is that some taxi driver doesn't seem to know where it is, so make sure you ave the address with you.

Room Tip: Get the delux suite and book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiaohong Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had been here in 2007 and loved it. Brought my family this time and everyone loved it. It is worth it to upgrade to club room, you get an happy hour and a breakfast well worth it. It is ver well located and the price is unbeatable,

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pascale1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

3 of us stayed in a suite here last year, it was a good experience overall.
The location was great, we took a number of night walks around the neighborhood and it was easy to find everything. Breakfast was included in the deal and was great.
I was also impressed with front desk service, everyone was super helpful, could not ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuro_ramen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I had 4 nights at this hotel last week and we could not have been happier with our accommodation.
We chose to go Club Class and our breakfast was included in our package so we did not find our stay expensive. For the extra money we paid it was definitely worth it. The breakfast was outstanding with eastern and western cuisines well catered for.
The Club Class evening fare was great with nibbles and drinks every night from 5.30 to 7.30. With 2 dishes of hot nibbles, 2 salads, a fruit platter and 2 sweets plus drinks in the restaurant we made this our evening meal. As we usually had had a meal whilst on tour at lunchtime, the light choices were more than adequate at the end of the day with a drink as well .
Our room was large and spotless and we used the wi -f i in the Club Room on a couple of occasions. The staff went the extra distance to make our stay comfortable even though language was sometimes a barrier
The one thing I would complain was the heating being too warm in our room but we alleviated that by opening the window a little.
The other was not the fault of the hotel and that was the weather. It was bitterly cold and made touring pretty uncomfortable if not rugged up properly. I would love to go back to Beijing again but at a different time of year, by choice, either April - May or September. I too would definitely stay at the Park Plaza again.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed there with my wife during our China trip. I mean, yes it was a decent hotel. However, in comparison to the other hotels the price we paid was not cheap. But the service we got was not as good as we expected.

First of all, the room was not as clean as it should have been. Second, almost noone in the hotel is able to speak English. If you are running a hotel of this type you should make sure that your staff speaks English!!! Just to ask a pair of scissors, I had to act like a pantomim-actor to describe it to the different people I talked to. My wife also asked for cotton (to remove the make up) but I was unable to pantomim-act cotton so we could not get it:)

Anyway, the location is not bad and the overall hotel is not bad however, for the money we were paying, we were expecting a bit more I believe. Overall: 3.5 / 5.

As a comparison: My hotel in Shanghai was almost half price of this hotel but I think I would prefer staying in the hotel I stayed in Shanghai, even if the two were the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YALIN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 2,014 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#27 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#57 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Property: Park Plaza Wangfujing
Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#20 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing