We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, great location”
Review of Kang Ming Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kang Ming Hotel
Ranked #2,151 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent 10 days at Kang Ming hotel and was generally satisfied. This is a 4* hotel, but i would rate it as a good 3*. Hotel was very safe, rooms were kept very clean, staff at the reception knew basic English but enough to communicate. I can't say anything about the food, as i didn't have any. They offered free tea and internet broadband connection in the room, and wifi in the lobby.
The best thing about the hotel is definitely location, 15 min walk to Wangfuijing street.
The price was also very good for Beijing, 399RMB/night

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Kang Ming Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is about an hour from the airport depending on the traffic. It is about an hour's walk to Tiananmen Square. The room was clean and well maintained. They offered free slippers and in room tea.
Breakfast was a buffet featuring mostly Chinese dishes, but with some eggs for the westerners.
There is an absolutely beautiful tea garden off the lobby. Beer there is relatively cheap, but tea is very expensive.
A few of the desk staff speak enough English to get by.
Internet is available in the lobby area and is fairly fast, but many sites are blocked by the government. You can still email.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pachita61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

When we arrived I was very tired, so when I walked into the room and found one of twin beds, instead of a double, was pushed up against the closet door, so I'd have to stand on the bed to open the door, I was not happy. We shoved the bed away from the closest as far as we could and managed that way for 4 nights. I learned that others in my tour group had the same furniture arrangment, so guess you might expect that here.

The room was clean, with ensuite western bathroom, toiletries, slippers and coffee/tea service. Air conditioning was minimal. Bed was hard, but not the hardest we found in China. Pillows flat, but two each were provided.

Breakfast was included, and this was probably the best selection of western and asian items we had on a 30 day tour.

The hotel was located in a neighborhood which was fun to explore. In walking distance of Snack Street, restaurants, shopping. A pleasant 45 minute walk in the strip park to Tiannamen Square and Forbidden City. Along the way there are segments of the old city wall visible with displays showing how everything fit together.

Staff was pleasant and helpful. A small garden in center of hotel with interesting plants and birds.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hi I have spent here two days before flying inland China. Perfect location, perfect ratio quality/price, no illegal activity allowed. Silent, calm, perfect broadband connection, gym and pool! What can you ask more for below 100 Euro per night?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gio_marino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is a good, centrally located 3 star hotel in Beijing. The rooms are small, but clean. My room had a double bed, small refrigerator, safe and desk. The shower has hot water with good water pressure. The room is quiet even though it faces the street, probably because the hotel sits back a ways from the street. The air conditioner works well. There are good room-darkening drapes. The bed was very hard, which seems typical of all the hotels I stayed at in China. The staff is friendly, but speak very limited English. This is clearly a Chinese hotel, not a western-owned hotel with a Chinese address. There is free, fast wi-fi in the Lobby area, but not in the individual rooms. The hotel is walking distant to several small mini-marts, as well as a small local shop that sells some fruit and other assorted items.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aschneider703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Nice hotel. Very busy with tour groups in the summer. Service so so. Room was adequate. AC not very cool, but it was very hot outside at the time. Good location if you want central Beijing. Breakfast was all asian - nothing western. Beds very hard, but all were in China.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Spent 4 nights with a week in between. Great location Absolutely NOTHING bad. Okay, another traveler used a face cloth to remove makeup and had to buy the cloth before we could leave. But location was great for getting out among local community -- plenty of small shops both left and right from hotel. 20-minute walk to Night Market, Art Museum, 30 to Pedestrian Mall; 40 minutes to Forbidden City. But we love to walk. Breakfast was fabulous each morning with good coffee ! Definitely a repeat.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#36 of 6,531 in Beijing
504 reviews
Houhai
Inner Mongolia Hotel Forbidden City
Cours et Pavillons
#127 of 6,531 in Beijing
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Royal Phoenix Beijing
Royal Phoenix Beijing
#1,741 of 6,531 in Beijing
112 reviews
Houhai
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
#148 of 6,531 in Beijing
129 reviews
Houhai
DuGe Boutique Hotel
DuGe Boutique Hotel
#524 of 6,531 in Beijing
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kang Ming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kang Ming Hotel

Address: No.18 Meishuguan Hou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,151 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $64 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kang Ming Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kang Ming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing