We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient location, excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing
Ranked #63 of 5,940 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Convenient location, excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a very special offer for a large apartment, probably due to some restoration works nearby.
The location is really convenient, right downtown, next to Peninsula and to Wanfujing shopping area. Plenty of space for travellers with luggage and looking for privacy.
The decoration is a little shabby and very chinese hotel style but the value for money really excellent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapatriarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    136
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
173
40
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The property offers every aspect for a pleasant and productive stay. The facilities are first class and spacious and comfortable apartment living. Staff and doormen in particular are very helpful which is especially useful in a country where English is a low priority. The indoor pool is expansive and very refreshing in the climate. The fair in the dining room is lacking and is the only downside but counteracted by the hotel's adjacent proximity to main road - Wanfujing. There are ample opportunities for nearby dining so best to explore and eat out. Within easy reach of 2 subway stations one is ideally positioned to access all of the cities extensive train system and attractions. An easy walk takes you to the Forbidden City, Tianamen Square and City Gate. We will be planning a return trip to this property.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elekesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in this apt in mid Aug 2012. With the kids growing bigger each day, hotel rooms are no longer sufficient. With Lee Garden service aparment, it is most ideal. 2 bedroom service apartment with living, dinning and kitchen areas all big and spacious, enough for everyone to move around.

There are supermarket O'le just right next door where you can easily top up on milk and mineral water. The Wang Fu Jing shopping district is less than 5 mins away. The fasinating food street selling all the creepy crawlies are all within walking distance. The subway is also nearby and lots of restaurants to spoil you. All in all, a perfect place to stay for a family of 4 to 6. All the Beijing attractions are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Excellent apartment for a family, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, washing machine.
Location was great, walking distance to Wangfujung shopping district and lost of restaurants. A convienance store just around the corner. Staff were very pleasant, the doormen were excellent and very willing to assist with taxis etc. pool was in the basement......ok but not too flash.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I prepaid my stay through a third party site and got a good rate of about USD105 per night for a 1 bedroom deluxe apartment. I took a copy of the hotel's Chinese address from their website (which doesn't work at all well!) and showed this to the taxi driver at the Beijing South train station where the high speed trains arrive...he had no problem knowing where to go. Beijing's traffic is horrendous, but despite the 10km/45 minute journey the fare to hotel was not a lot more than 30RMB (about 5-6USD).

First thing on arrival you are greeted by the doormen, who really are a credit to the place. They are always friendly, smiling, can make decent conversation - they really are trying to make a great impression and they succeed. Unfortunately in general things go downhill from there. Reception is officious and robotic and language problems and long waits are common. You're unlikely to get a smile out of these ladies!

Apartments have traditional door locks, no key cards here and you will only be given one key which I would imagine could be an inconvenience. Beware also that doors do not lock behind you as you'd be used to in most hotels...you'll need to lock the door manually yourself.

Our one bedroom deluxe apartment was large. It did have a smokey, musty smell - I don't really hold that against the management - I'm pretty well aware that they could call it non smoking but people will smoke in there regardless - and it's really not easy to get rid of that smell. At first sight the kitchen looked adequate with decent cooker, washing machine and reasonable sized fridge...it also looked perfectly clean. There was then a large lounge room with dining table at one end. In addition there were a few pointless pieces of furniture which just made the place look even more old fashioned than it already is - like a large empty dresser near the dining table. The sofa was again, old fashioned and somewhat hard and uncomfortable. Essentially the room just felt spartan and unwelcoming.

The bedroom was again very large, with a small balcony. A walk in robe led through to the bathroom which could also be accessed from the main hallway. The bathroom was of a good standard and amenities were replenished every day. The bedroom contained a sofa bed, which as there were just the 2 of us we left in sofa mode & a queen bed. The bed was AWFUL!! It was rock hard and terrible to lie in. This was then complimented by the horrendous pillows which were so incredibly soft that even using 2 provided no support. I'd find myself folding them in half in the middle of the night and trying to stack them on top of each other just so my head wasn't basically on the mattress! I don't know what the filling was in the pillows but it was noisy...sometimes there was a constant sort of crinkling noise in your ear! Jinyu Hutong, the street on which the building was located, is a busy & noisy street however the noise proofing in the bedroom was excellent and noise very well subdued even with construction going on across the street.

Initial happiness with the kitchen is soon dispelled when you actually think about using it! My photos show the sum total of the crockery etc supplied. There is virtually nothing...for example only 2 small rice bowls are supplied, no other types of bowls. There was not a single sharp knife! What's then worse is that there is no means of washing up dishes provided. Typically in this type of arrangement housekeeping supplies a sponge and small sachets of washing up liquid...there is none of that here! So you can't even wash up...which you need to do between meals because they supply such a small amount of crockery! The Lee Garden model seems to be that the maid does your dishes...once a day obviously! Now of course you could go out and buy your own sponge and detergent but it just seems like a strange lack of attention to detail to me. Similarly our apartment had a washing machine...but there is no detergent supplied or ability to get a small quantity from the hotel (the convenience store around the corner does sell small bags for next to nothing however...but you have to practically beg the hotel for info like this...why oh why couldn't they just put it in a compendium!?). The washing machine is also fun...yet again, the hotel fails to provide any instructions for the washing machine...and the programs on the front are in Chinese...good luck with that! It's that lack of attention to detail again...so frustrating! Now you can ascertain some details about the programs from the onscreen menu but when it comes time to move onto the drying cycle...no help there at all. I got the maid in, she couldn't work it. She sent up the head of housekeeping, she claimed it was broken and summoned engineering. In the meantime I managed to start the dryer and all was well...until engineering walked in a switched the thing off again!!

There is free, but painfully slow wifi available in the communal area near the restaurant but this does not extend to the rooms...well certainly not the 12th floor where we stayed...lower floors might have more luck.

Let's have some positives. The location of this place is FANTASTIC! It's just around the corner from the Wangfujing pedestrian street where there are shops, malls and eating options. The famous Wangfujing snack street (if it moves, it's available on a skewer) is also about 2 mins walk from the front door. Now you've booked a self catering apartment but it's actually very difficult to find anywhere near by to stock up on things like breakfast cereal or decent milk - there is a convenience store just around the corner which the staff will direct you to but there are a lot of things it just doesn't sell and others you probably won't want to buy! Once again, there are better options nearby but you really have to push the staff to offer up any of this valuable information (once again, please just put it in a guest compendium rather than info about foot massages etc!) - there is a great, if expensive, supermarket (Ole) in the basement of the nearest shopping mall...2 mins away. You can get everything you need there, but as stated, take an inventory of the kitchen equipment first to see if you'll actually be able to make and serve meals easily. From the front door you are looking around a 20 min walk to the entrance of the Forbidden City & Tiananmen Square. There is a subway station nearby and taxis are cheap as chips of course.

We tried to organise a driver to take us to the Great Wall through reception but the receptionist showed little interest in doing that - instead she directed us to some hotel literature around guided bus tours. Somewhat reluctantly and under time pressure I signed us up to tour C to Mutianyu Great Wall section & Sacred Way (Ming tombs). Each of these spots is great and worth a visit...but you should be aware if you take this tour that, I guess predictably, you will spend 2 - 2.5 hours of your day also visiting a Jade Factory & then a Silk Factory where the sole intention is of course that you part with cash - these aren't listed on the itinerary of course! The Jade Factory is particularly mind numbing and depressing...the Silk Factory is very close to the Olympic Park so if you're quick you can ditch the hard sell and run off and have a look at the Birds Nest stadium.

It's rare for me to disagree with a property's overall TripAdvisor rating but in this case I really am surprised by scores for this one and the accolades it has. I think it's a real shame because in terms of location it scores really highly and it really wouldn't take much to dramatically improve the service.

Room Tip: If you book a tour through the hotel be advised you will spend time being sold Jade & Silk - not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bazza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Was in Lee Garden few years back. It was a great experience. Very close to shopping district Wahfujing ..all within walking distance. Also there is a small grocery shop just at the corner of this apartment. I really appreciate the washing machine and dryer in this apartment. I recommend this anytime to all those travelling with family or staying in Beijing for a longer period.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaMohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in these apartments for 5 nights and it was a really good experience, We are a family of 4 and it was wonderful to have 2 separate bedrooms and space to move as we had up until that point had large hotel rooms. (we had been travelling already for 3 weeks) The rooms were serviced daily, were clean and spacious.
The apartment had a kitchen and more importantly for us a washing machine and although there was not a dryer we had 2 balconies and a large lounge room where we could put our washed clothes and they would dry overnight. There was also a local school which we overlooked from our balcony and my 10 year old daughter delighted in watching the school children do their morning exercises and joined in copying their routine,.
The location was great and we were fortunate to have a guide who helped us explore Beijing but without him we still could navigate our way around.
The bellboys were friendly and helpful and overall we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68nez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,603 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#59 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#33 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing

Property: Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing
Address: Jinyu Alley NO. 18 Wangfujing West Street, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Beijing
#39 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#55 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#115 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing