We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest but did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel
Ranked #175 of 6,492 Hotels in Beijing
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the greatest but did the job”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Basic room
Main prob was toilet continued to get blocked and being told of for using it how a western would despite not sign or bin saying put all paper in the bin
Great location in walking distance to forbidden city and the square night markets snack street. Great dumpling stall less than 2 min walk away

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank NZKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    86
    40
    17
    15
See reviews for
15
57
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed with two friends in a triple room (room 105, 300 per night) for the weekend (fri-sun). For a reservation by telephone they only needed my name and phone number which I found surprising and worrying at the same time. Luckily we got our room, check in went smooth even though we arrived at 01.00 am. We paid in advance. I asked for a second room key(for if we wanted to split up during sightseeing), but they refused to give this which we found strange and not hospitable.
Big bottles of water were cheap at reception (5 yuan if I am not mistaking).

Room itself was fine, nothing special. In advance, I checked everywhere(under beds etc) to check for bugs, but fortunately none were found. Bathroom was stupidly designed as the shower floor area was the same height as the toilet and sick, so after just one shower the whole bathroom floor was almost a swimming pool. Bring your own toiletries! Beds were nice. No locks were provided for the bag lockers. LAN internet was free, with one cable in the room.

For breakfast we bought 10 baozi for 12 RMB at the shop on the main street(I recommend it!). Our taxi driver had some problem with finding the hostel driving from the train station (let them use their GPS system!). But eventually it took us around 1 hour to get there.
I agree with other reviews, consider this hostel for the location and not to stay in for using its services and facilities. It's just 15 min walk to Tiananmen Square and buy your breakfast/ lunch foods on the way, enough shops provide typically Chinese breakfast products. Have a little patience with the hostel staff and you will have a nice place to stay to explore Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dideli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Room:- great. i had a 4 bed dorm to myself which was nice. serviced each day and lockers were perfect. Bed firm, but pretty good size given chinese standards

Bathroom:- No good at all. mould every where. had to hold up the shower head myself. soaps that they supplied look like have never been changed. scum everywhere.

Lobby:- nice and wifi worked 50-50

Breaky:- waste of your time

Location:- GREAT. if you are willing to brave beijing Public transport (which is pretty easy to get your head around best tip would be to grab a subway card) otherwise your sunk, taxis will not take you here. no idea where it is.

id come back if i had to/if i was on a tight budget. i have been told its normal better than what i got.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are average and fine for their price, breakfast is nice and local and the staff is kind. Do not expect the bar to be open at all. A big plus about this hostel is its location, about 15 mins walk from tianenmen square.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReggaeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

It's a hotel in all sense of the word and not a hostel. In saying that its a very comfortable place to stay in a good location. Everybody very helpful and friendly except the younger guy behind reception who just seems to have a chip on his shoulder all the time! No help whatsoever when I asked about getting my really sick girlfriend to the hospital. The bar closes really early every evening, round nine and ten.
I would happily stay there again. The location is great and the hotel is a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diarmuid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

i was there for 3 nights. it isvery clean hotel but is a bit far from subway.the price for this type of hotel is very very good. it was realy cheap.
breakfast wasn't good . wifi internet is in lobby only and speed is good to use.
hotel rooms had no Slippers ! everybody use to wear Socks .

Room Tip: have to bring your own Slippers to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToRNaDo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with a friend in a private room with bathroom. The hotel itself is nice with a bar and restaurant (which we didn't actually use!) and has a lift which is great for transporting heavy bags upstairs and down. Our room was adequate with a kettle and TV. It could have been a bit cleaner and there was an unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom but that seems to be a common occurrence in Beijing. It's about a 15 minute walk to the main shopping area and there are lots of nice restaurants around, as well as a mini mart round the corner. All in all I'd recommend Jade hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemoneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#107 of 6,492 in Beijing
455 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#128 of 6,492 in Beijing
302 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#178 of 6,492 in Beijing
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#148 of 6,492 in Beijing
754 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#129 of 6,492 in Beijing
184 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Wancheng Huafu International Hotel
Wancheng Huafu International Hot...
#3,531 of 6,492 in Beijing
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel

Property: Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel
Address: No.5 Zhide North Alley, Beiheyan Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Jade International Youth Hotel Beijing
Jade International Youth Hostel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing