We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean basic accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel
Ranked #180 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good, clean basic accommodation”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here twice during a couple of weeks in China. Both times it was very good - the rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and the location is excellent. There are a couple of restaurants in the hotel - one with "western" food and another with Chinese cuisine - however we didn't try these but they looked OK.

There is free wifi in reception which is pretty fast - there are also ethernet points in the room although I didn't use these so not sure how well the wired networking works. The staff speak reasonable English and are generally pretty helpful. There is a bar/shop which sells all kinds of drinks and snacks and these are very reasonably priced and available 24/7.

Although it's very near to the bus stop and about a 10 minute walk from the nearest tube stations, the hotel itself is quite tricky to find. It is situated down a small alley off the main road - taxi drivers have a real problem locating it even with the address in Mandarin. So the best bet is to get the address of a nearby hotel on the main road and then walk down the alley to this hotel! We discovered this after a couple of nights and never had a problem with the taxis afterwards.

Overall this is a good budget hotel in a very good location. I would recommend it if you are not after something luxurious and would go definitely go back there myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room overlooking the back, if you want a top class view of the Forbidden Palace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rheadworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    84
    39
    17
    15
See reviews for
14
56
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is a great option for the budget minded folk. Its clean, the rooms are fair size and comfy, and is quiet. There are 2 restaurants onsite serving Chinese and Western dishes. I ate there a few times and it was okay. You can walk to the forbidden city and tianamin square in about 10 minutes, and the pedestrian street of wangfujing is also right there. The only quip was my bedding was never changed and i was there for 6 nights and the night time desk agent was very rude. All in all if |I were ever to return to Beijing I would stay here again for price and location alone.

Room Tip: This hotel also has hostel style dorm rooms...make sure you are booking a private room with en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LawrenceToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our visit to Beijing. We found the hotel to be very central to many of the sites we wanted to visit. It is very close to the Forbidden Palace and is well connected to the subways. By American standards the bed was hard, the room was small, and the bathroom was even smaller. By the way - the bathroom has a glass door so that you can see your partner using the facilities. However, this is China and for the price we paid and the proximity to the subway, the Palace, and Wangfujing I found it to be a decent value. If you are expecting American style amenities I would fork out more cash and stay at a more expensive hotel. But if you are coming to enjoy actual China instead of a hotel room go ahead and book. It is clean and the staff is very helpful. Also, you can do laundry here and there is a breakfast room.

Room Tip: There is an interesting smell coming from the street on the lower levels. We booked a room on the 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a wonderful time there for 8 days. Yes the rooms are small, 2 twin beds with very comfortable mattresses. No closet. TV with only one english speaking channel which was the news. Bathroom adequate but dimly lit. For the money it was a great value and lotaion was spot on! 2 blocks from The Forbidden City, 3 blocks from Tianenman Sq. to the west. Two blocks to the east was Wangfujing Street. Huge pedestrian walkway with hundreds of stores, shopping malls, eat streets, market places and no traffic to deal with. Turned out to be a better value than I expected. Staff was helpful in changing reservations, calling taxis etc. Nice downstairs restaurant that serves a western breakfast each morning for $5.00 a head. Bar and lounge as well and nice lobby area to hang out. Caters mostly to the young backpack crowd but we also saw large groups of older people in the 8 days we were there. You could spend a lot more and do much worse than this hotel. Difficult for taxi drivers to find so download the map, hotel name & location in Mandarin!

Room Tip: 2nd floor and higher facing the alley or courtyard are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My partner and I were in a private room, the place was clean, although the shower was slightly mouldy. This place is more like a hotel than a hostel. If you want to make friends don't go here for atmosphere. The restaurant closed at 9pm and stopped selling drinks, despite the sign saying will serve till 2am. It's close to the forbidden cit which is great. But I wouldn't pay again to stay here. There are nicer and cheaper places in Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evewbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Booked a four bed dorm with my friend. We arrived late night during heavy flooding in Beijing. From what I could tell, this was previously a hotel that has been changed into a hostel. Upon our arrival we were given a room at the ground floor of the building with a street view. The beds were comfortable, there was even a TV set which we never used. The toilets are a disaster, they were never cleaned throughout our stay. There was hair from previous guests in the shower area. The walls, doors and the ceiling was covered in black mold, you couldn't breath, cause of the unpleasant smell. Stayed there for two night and would never repeat this adventure. The stuff at the reception is rude and doesn't speak English at all. It's a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area of Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomasztomczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The very best thing about this hostel is its location. You are in the perfect location for Forbidden City, Tienanmen Square and the Metro (which is fabulous an cheap). Great for backpackers or those looking for a cheap place to lay your head while you take in all Beijing has to offer.
Staff are helpful and most speak excellent English and are more than happy to help you find your way around.
Do not go under any illusion that the place is luxury; dorms are comfortable with little storage space and air con goes from 0 to freezing in a short space of time. Breakfast is also not very good for the price.

Room Tip: Try not to share a dorm - bathrooms are not cleaned often enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#101 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Miyun Scenic Resort
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#148 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#134 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#71 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#138 of 6,462 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel

Property: Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel
Address: No.5 Zhide North Alley, Beiheyan Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#176 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Jade International Youth Hotel Beijing
Jade International Youth Hostel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing