We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget option with a Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel
Ranked #165 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is a great option for the budget minded folk. Its clean, the rooms are fair size and comfy, and is quiet. There are 2 restaurants onsite serving Chinese and Western dishes. I ate there a few times and it was okay. You can walk to the forbidden city and tianamin square in about 10 minutes, and the pedestrian street of wangfujing is also right there. The only quip was my bedding was never changed and i was there for 6 nights and the night time desk agent was very rude. All in all if |I were ever to return to Beijing I would stay here again for price and location alone.

Room Tip: This hotel also has hostel style dorm rooms...make sure you are booking a private room with en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LawrenceToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our visit to Beijing. We found the hotel to be very central to many of the sites we wanted to visit. It is very close to the Forbidden Palace and is well connected to the subways. By American standards the bed was hard, the room was small, and the bathroom was even smaller. By the way - the bathroom has a glass door so that you can see your partner using the facilities. However, this is China and for the price we paid and the proximity to the subway, the Palace, and Wangfujing I found it to be a decent value. If you are expecting American style amenities I would fork out more cash and stay at a more expensive hotel. But if you are coming to enjoy actual China instead of a hotel room go ahead and book. It is clean and the staff is very helpful. Also, you can do laundry here and there is a breakfast room.

Room Tip: There is an interesting smell coming from the street on the lower levels. We booked a room on the 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a wonderful time there for 8 days. Yes the rooms are small, 2 twin beds with very comfortable mattresses. No closet. TV with only one english speaking channel which was the news. Bathroom adequate but dimly lit. For the money it was a great value and lotaion was spot on! 2 blocks from The Forbidden City, 3 blocks from Tianenman Sq. to the west. Two blocks to the east was Wangfujing Street. Huge pedestrian walkway with hundreds of stores, shopping malls, eat streets, market places and no traffic to deal with. Turned out to be a better value than I expected. Staff was helpful in changing reservations, calling taxis etc. Nice downstairs restaurant that serves a western breakfast each morning for $5.00 a head. Bar and lounge as well and nice lobby area to hang out. Caters mostly to the young backpack crowd but we also saw large groups of older people in the 8 days we were there. You could spend a lot more and do much worse than this hotel. Difficult for taxi drivers to find so download the map, hotel name & location in Mandarin!

Room Tip: 2nd floor and higher facing the alley or courtyard are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My partner and I were in a private room, the place was clean, although the shower was slightly mouldy. This place is more like a hotel than a hostel. If you want to make friends don't go here for atmosphere. The restaurant closed at 9pm and stopped selling drinks, despite the sign saying will serve till 2am. It's close to the forbidden cit which is great. But I wouldn't pay again to stay here. There are nicer and cheaper places in Beijing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evewbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Booked a four bed dorm with my friend. We arrived late night during heavy flooding in Beijing. From what I could tell, this was previously a hotel that has been changed into a hostel. Upon our arrival we were given a room at the ground floor of the building with a street view. The beds were comfortable, there was even a TV set which we never used. The toilets are a disaster, they were never cleaned throughout our stay. There was hair from previous guests in the shower area. The walls, doors and the ceiling was covered in black mold, you couldn't breath, cause of the unpleasant smell. Stayed there for two night and would never repeat this adventure. The stuff at the reception is rude and doesn't speak English at all. It's a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area of Beijing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomasztomczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The very best thing about this hostel is its location. You are in the perfect location for Forbidden City, Tienanmen Square and the Metro (which is fabulous an cheap). Great for backpackers or those looking for a cheap place to lay your head while you take in all Beijing has to offer.
Staff are helpful and most speak excellent English and are more than happy to help you find your way around.
Do not go under any illusion that the place is luxury; dorms are comfortable with little storage space and air con goes from 0 to freezing in a short space of time. Breakfast is also not very good for the price.

Room Tip: Try not to share a dorm - bathrooms are not cleaned often enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

I originally booked this place as a hotel, but they seem to advertise themselves as a hostel as well, no real issue for me but it might be if you don't like finding yourself among backpacking tourists.

The staff spoke only very limited English but were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast costs 30RMB and has a reasonable selection of western and Chinese options.

The room itself was definitely hotel-like and adequately large. The state of the furniture was alright but the cleanliness of the room was quite poor. Towels and sheets were never changed during my 4 night stay. There was no WiFi available in the rooms but it is offered for free in the lobby.

If you arrive with a suitcase it's best to get a taxi as the nearest subway station is quite far. Do make sure to write down the address in Chinese as the drivers have trouble enough finding it, and an English address will not help them very much.

The location is very good, within 10 minutes of walking from the North gate of the forbidden city.

If you don't get your expectations about a clean room up too much then this is a cheap and decent option.

1  Thank CrimsonNL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#189 of 6,599 in Beijing
763 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#120 of 6,599 in Beijing
189 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#126 of 6,599 in Beijing
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#109 of 6,599 in Beijing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel

Address: No.5 Zhide North Alley, Beiheyan Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $19 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Jade International Youth Hotel Beijing
Jade International Youth Hostel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing