We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose another Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jinqiao International Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jinqiao International Apartment Hotel
Ranked #603 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Choose another Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Filthy is the only way to describe the room. The carpet was stained, dirty and damp. The tiled areas were were sticky. In the kitchen the stove did not work. There is no computer as advertised.
One good thing is there is a inexpensive steam boat dinner, your can drink all the beer and eat all you want for one low price. (note you have to ask for the lamb and beef but this is no problem. Don't expect them to speak English (good thing my wife is chinese) and don't expect cable/international TV.

We booked with Hotel Club, the Hotel had no record of our booking and it took 2 hours to check in with expensive phone calls to Hotel Club. The another 6 phone calls to Hotel Club before they arranged payment of the Hotel so we did not have to pay a second time.

Will never stay at this Hotel again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank filo_o1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    49
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
11
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Went back to stay at the hotel with tour grp for 3 nights April 16-19. Had to change room coz of strong some kind of cleaning chemical smell in room (probably coz the room hasn't been use for long time). The smell is strong only in the living room area but bedroom smell is ok. Second room was better 1216, chemical smell wasn't that strong. Bec. of this, had to check out all the rooms of our tour group to make sure all the rooms are ok before the whole group arrives bec. some of their rooms has strong cigarette smoke smell. This hotel does not have a non-smoking room and floor. The hotel just air out the room and spray their version of air freshener .

PROS:
(1) Rooms are large , with living room , kitchen , microwave , laundry , refrigerator, all the amenities of an apartment hotel minus the kitchen wares and utensils needed to do any cooking inside the apartment hotel.
(2) shops at the ground floor of hotel including a mini grocery shop
(3) During the day, they have english speaking staff at the front desk and their supervisor or manager (male) speaks good english, forgot his name.
(4) good hotel service , hotel staffs immediately responds to every requests and inquiries.

CONS:
(1) Bfast this time was bad, disappointing. (Last year's bfast on Sept 2010 was better). Although they serve hot bfast meal but this time most dishes are chinese bfast type. Only saving grace here is the chinese buns with the yellow filling, it isa bit sweet & good. And also the chef that cooks your egg right in front of you.
(2) Beds are hard and pillows too soft. But most beds & pillows in china's hotel are like this. just put extra comforter on top of the bed and ask for extra pillows which the hotel readily provides (if they don't run out of it as this hotel is usually book out as many tourists use this hotel). Some of us likes hard beds so this is not a prob for some guests.
(3) Some of the EXTRA comforters and pillows we requested smells of cigarette smoke , so if you are sensitive to this, better smell all those pillows and comforters first before using them. Although the pillows and comforters on the bed are ok and does not smell of cig smoke.
(4) Most bathrooms have permanent stains on their tiles, although the bathroom itself is clean.
(5) The toilet in our room has a bad smell sometimes, even if this is already flush several times. I think the hotel may have some kind of sewer plumbing prob. Other rooms toilets are ok, but ours seems to have a slight bad smell sometimes.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valuetravelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

Okay location, beds are hard as rock, showers/bathrooms could have been a little cleaner and breakfast buffet barely acceptable.
Things missing out of suitcases, aware only when we got home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveholidaysKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

A little out of the way from main action of Beijing shopping and nightlife. But after a whole day of tour that starts out at 8 a.m. and ends at around 7/8pm (after dinner) , most of the group just want to relax , have a foot or body massage and retire to our rooms.

Not a luxury hotel but it's clean and better than average. I like the fact, that it has a beauty parlor, a massage clinic, some small shops and a GROCERY shop right at the ground floor of the building. That is definitely very convenient for buying those bottled water, drinks, snack foods and they also have a whole bunch of variety of tea for sale. Most of us in the group just went to the grocery shop to buy some chinese snack food, tea and other food stufs that we can bring home as "pasalubongs" (give away treat to family and friends back home).

At least their buffet breakfast is not cold chinese breakfast food. Not great but at least better than the usual chinese breakfast food that tourists hotels on package tours serve. And the best part is, it is HOT BUFFET BREAKFAST and there's a chef that will cook your omelet right in front of you. It's international buffet breakfast.

And yes, I would definitely stay here again in my next beijing visit and would highly recommend this to friends and family as it has a 3* price but the facilities is better than 3* hotels. And the PLUS FACTOR is the FREE WIFI , although I had a bit of problem with my wifi cable connection but they immediately send somebody to try to fix it. And there's always somebody at the front desk staff that can speak English. I notice a lot of tourist foreigners stay at this hotel, definitely not a local chinese tourist hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valuetravelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed in the Jinqiao Hotel Apartments for 4 nights at the beginning of april.
We made our bookings through [--] and found the service to be excellent, not only did they contacted me by phone, all the way from china to confirm my booking and to clarify some of the information I had provided, but they then immediately sent me an email confirmation including a pritnable cupon with instructions in chinese on how to get to the hotel to hand over to the taxi driver upon arrival.

The hotel was very close to the train station, it was only about 5 minutes away by taxi and cost only 10 yuan. Staff at reception spoke very limited english as is the case in most of china, however within a few minutes we were given the keys to our room in the 10th foor. I believe it was room A1010 on the 10th floor.
The room or should I say apartment was a very decently sized flat with an open plan kitchen/ living area and a separate bedroom with two beds. IT was equiped with TV, DVD player, Stereo and with a PC with free internet which we found most useful.
The kitchen had a big fridge freezer which was grate to store beverages and other things we bought from the supermarket and it also had a washing machine that allowed us to wash clothes halfway through our stay. The decor in general was a bit over the top, while the kitchen and kitchen bar area were sleek and modern, the living spaces had a pretty awful wallpaper, but we got used to it after a few hours and focused more on the comforts of having an apartment rather than a hotel room.
The ground floor was equiped with all sorts of businesses, there was a restaurant, a bar, a hair salon, a gift shop, a travel agency and a supermarket. We only used the supermarket which had a good variety of food which we found very reasonably priced. (if you do shop here, try the chocolate covered mochi with coffee centers, I loved them and was having a box a day!)

Our rate included breakfast for which you get cupons for the number of nights you're booked in. I have to say though, that after having breakfast there the first day, I chose to give the following days a miss.

Also worth noting is that the front desk has a currency exchange service and the GBP - Yuan exchange rate, was much better than travelex's one at the time we were there, which was a bit annoying since I had already changed all my pounds into yuans.

Locationwise we found the hotel very conveniently located, only about 10 minute drive to the forbidden city, Tiananmen square and other local attractions. About 50 minutes and 100 yuan to the airport, and about 2 hrs drive to the Great Wall. Taxis usually line up right outside the hotel so hauling one is very easy. On the day we went to the great wall, we just went outside and hired one of the taxi's for the whole day for 650 yuan and the bellboy even helped translate to the taxi driver exactly what we wanted. He then took us all the way to the Wall, then to the Summer palace and then back to the Hotel and we had him from 8.30 am till 7 pm. We thought that to be pretty good value.

Overall the hotel is perhaps slightly nicer than a 3 star hotel (lets say a 3 1/2 star) however all the conveniences both in the apartment and in the hotel complex made it a top pick for us to stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jetsetter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2007

This hotel, also variously known as the "Junqiao Apartments Hotel" and the "Jinqiao International Garden" is a little off the beaten path, but is right off the second ring road and even the cheapest rooms are roomy, modern and include a kitchen.

It's a 15Y cab ride from the train station, and there are always cabs waiting outside the lobby area of the hotel. It's a bit of a trek if you want to walk to the main sights; maybe half an hour to the Temple of Heaven, longer to the Forbidden City. Cabs are cheap in Beijing, and the hotel is literally just feet away from the ring road, so getting there and away is a breeze.

The building is really a high-rise apartment complex that rents out some of the apartments to travelers. There are people who live there full-time, and the rest of the units are something like a time-share. The rooms are different sizes and layouts depending on what class of room you get. We stayed in the cheapest, a "Standard Suit," as they called it. It was about $65 all in, and included breakfast (for 1, $5 for an additional person). There were no suits included, but the suite was roomy, the kitchen handy, and there was even a washer/dryer.

As is the case so often in China, even in Beijing, not a whole lot of English is spoken, and tasks at the front desk can take some time.

There are two restaurants on the ground floor. One, where the (rather elaborate) breakfast buffet is served, and the other, which is a very odd take on a "Western" (as in the American old west) restaurant; cowgirls and cowboys all gussied up in their western wear and 10 gallon hats serving you an strange mix of pizzas, burritos and enchiladas. There's a bar and a pool table as well.

A small grocery store is also on premises, selling basics like soda and snacks. A small pharmacy, a few shops, a travel agent, and a hair salon round out the other amenities.

For us, the comfort of this place balanced out it's lack of character that one might have found in the Hutong Hotels. Having a kitchen and being able to wash clothes was great, and having 500+ square feet was also nice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank thebeerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinqiao International Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinqiao International Apartment Hotel

Property: Jinqiao International Apartment Hotel
Address: No.55 Guangqumen Beili, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100062, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#335 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jinqiao International Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
Jinqiao International Apartment Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing