We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget stay at Beijing”
Review of Yayuncun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yayuncun Hotel
Ranked #3,364 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Budget stay at Beijing”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Located near the Olympic stadium the bird's nest...it was very clean and neat...you might find difficulty to find people speaking English, but be slow in your conversation or they might try and get one who can speak english

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varghese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Over all I am totally dissatisfied, when I provide the reservation voucher they said room is not available then after a little discussion they provide the room. I stayed 7 nights in the room though they cleaned the room every day they did not change the bedsheets & Towels. I requested an Iron but it also was not provided, I had to buy from out side. Room service people was not friendly & do not understand English at all.
I will return to this hotel NEVER again & I recommend this hotel to NOBODY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhanushka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

First, a warning. The Yayuncun is a complex of buildings left over from the Asian Games of 1988 (I think). It shares a huge, densely populated site with another management company, Hui Yuan. Together the buildings run from Block A to Block R.The lowest block is around eight stories. The tallest is around twenty. I have stayed in half a dozen of them. They vary enormously. Indeed, the quality varies floor by floor. Several of the buildings (e.g. Block A and Block M, among others) are "proper" (albeit Chinese style) hotels (i.e. they have a limited sense of "service"). Others are "service apartments". In my experience, the service apartments are better than the hotels. (Less aggravation, possibly because of lower expectations?) Anyway ... on this trip I stayed in Block B Service Apartment. You check in at Block A and then trundle around the back to Block B.

As other reviewers have noted, the check in staff are unhelpful and have limited English.

I really want to write a good review of Block B. They really tried hard but, unfortunately, they just don't get it quite right. The suite (service apartments always seem to be suites. A sitting room/lounge, a bedroom, a bathroom, and, frequently, what can only be called a sun room. Although the hotel's website says that there are kitchens, as far as I can tell these are always sealed.) had been recently renovated/modernized. It's an enormous step in the right direction. Unfortunately, they just don't get to the finish line.

The suite I was in was recently redecorated and was a pleasant change from the shabbier suites I have had in other blocks in the past. Everything was re-done -- ceiling and trim repainted, walls had new wallpaper, new vinyl "wood effect" floor, new electrical sockets that took Chinese, US, and European plugs (Brits, take an adapter), new light fixtures on the ceiling (flourescent strip lighting gives everything a bluish tint -- which is pretty ghastly on cold winter evenings). The furniture was new or nearly new. So no stains, no badly mended tears. New curtains. Best, the bathroom was entirely re-done to a high standard. Although there was no bath tub, there was a proper 4-star style shower stall (so, no more wet bathroom floors), a new sink, mirror, lighting. The walls were freshly tiled. The floor, I think was also new (hard to tell because it was pretty filthy -- the housekeeping staff didn't seem to know how to clean a room properly -- possibly didn't have the right equipment. I never saw a proper mop or a vacuum cleaner). The biggest downside to the bathroom is that it is tiny. This was made worse by the fact that although they had replaced all the doors and door hardware, the door was hung backwards. It opened into the bathroom. The result? You must stand in the shower stall to open and close the door. This was a real shame as they really tried hard to modernize the apartment. But too often they got it wrong.

The bedroom had two (very hard) beds, a chest of drawers, a beside table, a flat screen TV. What's missing? A bedside reading lamp would have been appreciated.

The sitting room had a table and four chairs, a sofa, an arm chair, a desk, a chest of drawers, a large 3D TV, and a full-sized refrigerator. Internet connection was via cable. It was a reasonable connection. Again, no desk lamp.

At the end of the living room was what I can only call a "sun room". I have no idea what this room could be used for. (Possibly, when the buildings were built they were used to dry athletes' clothes?) Anyway, you enter the room through sliding glass partition-style doors (which basically perform the function as a glass partition between the lounge area and the sun room). The sun room is 4.5 feet wide and 11 feet wide. There is no furniture in it. Again, the people who did the make-over tried hard, but didn't quite get it right. All the other service apartments I had stayed in had grubby sun rooms. This one was clean. New patio doors, freshly painted ceiling, the exposed brick walls and freshly tiled floor were finished to a high standard. But to what purpose the room could be put I cannot begin to guess. The room is too narrow to accommodate the table and chairs. Indeed, it's too narrow for the armchair. You could, I guess, move one of the dining chairs out there but I'm not sure why you would do it. Not only are the dining chairs uncomfortably hard but, much more importantly, there is nothing to look at through the windows. This is because the windows in the sun room (which were also the only windows to the sitting room) faced the wall of the adjacent (say 15 feet away) building. This wall was, without a doubt, the ugliest wall I have ever seen -- a melange of duct-work, guttering, dangling wires. You could not see the sky. Just the wall. Without a doubt the most horrible view I have ever had in a hotel room anywhere, ever. (Note, the windows in the bedroom also face this same wall.) As far as I can figure out, all the rooms in the hotel face the same way.

On the plus side? The heating worked well (note: there is a delay of several minutes between when you make a setting and when the heating fan turns on. It's like hitting a brontosaurus on the tail and waiting for the message to reach its head). The shower was terrific. Excellent shower head, excellent water pressure, excellent drain. The new refrigerator was useful (there is a good supermarket in the building adjacent to Block A and the newspaper kiosk has the English language edition of the China Daily). The internet connection was reasonable. It is close to the convention center and to the Bird's Nest stadium. The residential neighborhood across Anli Road has a wide variety of local restaurants. While English-speaking staff and English-speaking menus are few and far between, but most menus have photos.

By the way, there are also restaurants in some of the Yayuncun and Hwai Yuan blocks. Near Block M there is a good Hot Pot restaurant (with beer garden) and a Baskin & Robbins ice cream shop.

Would I stay there again? In the complex, yes. In this block, no. The view is too depressing.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Block B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: i contacted you on and about the06Jan13 about not access to the kitchen or pool and the sewer smell in bathroom and out in the hall the front Desk told me the kitchen was out of service!! and the smell; they said they would get me a room and move with no problems;that was after i contacted you!!?? never happened and i looked around on foot but all were booked.The cleaning woman had a bad cough with no mask;after two day of half cleaning!!she took time off for sickness. The floors were nastyeven after they mopped with a dirty mop?? that was used in other rooms; I took a hand towel went over the floor it is in the pictures Going to charge me for towel,but came back with a change of heart?? Because I was going to pay and keep..The pool they advertised on there site =MEMBERSHIP!@##$!##!!!The last days were Hell,I was sick, Weather /smog!!!!And on Thursday nite at about 22:30 hrs came a ringing and banging and hollering on the door at #A216 The woman come busting in pushing me aside to gain access to the light switch to turn it off to the locked room but is the way you treat all your guest??? with the red carpet treatment?? I demand a refund and they need to be reported to the authorizes and Health Department....

Room Tip: they do not have a POOL or access to kitchen ,said it was broke ,then said i did not pay for it !! w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

When you arrive in a hotel after a long travel time, it would be nice to be helped adequately. Yayuncun staff manages to let you wait for 80 minutes to check in. This was no incident, I stayed there for 5 days and it was the same all over during day time. Only when I arrived in the middle of the night coming back from Yunnan trip, there was no queue. Extremely unhelpful, not being able to solve the simples things, booking for a room one week later may cost you at least one hour. The staff doesn't even manage to write Beijing Capital Airport in Chinese for you to get a cab. Fortunately there was a student for holiday work there who helped me to get through the gigantic bureaucracy they manage to create. A hotel to stay away from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Overall, the hotel was not that bad. Sure, it'd be nice if there were more amenities in the building, but I really didn't have all that much time to use them considering I was there on business.

Location: corner of Anli Road and Huizhong Road. Make sure you tell the cab driver this because otherwise you'll be walking across the entire North Star Center for 20 minutes like I did.

Reason for Being There: I had to do a TEFL in China training program there, which was 7 days long, but I stayed at this hotel for 10 days.

Room: I stayed in a room with 2 twin beds in the A building (YaYunCun Hotel). In the room there are two beds, a nightstand, a closet (no ready iron or anything), a TV on a drawer, a desk, a study room, and bathroom with western toilet, shower, sink (the usual). Oh, and there's A/C that works amazingly -- great after walking back in the heat.

TV: they just replaced the TV's on the 2nd or 3rd day that I was there, so now ALL the rooms have flat screens. English channels include HBO, Cinemax, and a couple other movie channels, so that was nice.

Study Room: In my room, there was also a study room that had a square table with 4 chairs. that was separated by sliding glass doors.

Bathroom: As everyone else mentioned, the bathrooms are not the best -- water didn't flow down the sink fluently and the shower was not divided from the rest of the bathroom so the floor would get wet, but not to an extent where it was unbearable (it doesn't go past the sink and doesn't even come close to the bathroom door).

Air-Conditioning: works well -- had the room set at 18* C the entire time. Perfect.

Internet: No Wi-Fi; only plug-in ethernet cord on the desk.

Employees: very friendly employees, but when I first arrived, there were about 4-5 employees working the front desk and absolutely none of them spoke English, so I didn't know how to mention my reservations to the hotel, so I had to just book a room right there with them... using my very limited elementary Chinese. However, every time I came to the desk after that, there was always someone who spoke decent English.

Pros: decent price (~380 RMB/night); convenient location (near the Olympic Bird Nest Stadium); clean rooms; A/C; cable & internet;
Cons: wet bathrooms; no Wi-Fi; employees' English is very limited; no fridge or snacks in the room; no view of anything but the back of another building;

Room Tip: If you don't have time to enjoy the "amenities" like the "pool" or "spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mr_johnchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at block B on the fourth level window facing the back of a shopping centre with air conditioner compressors rumbling away. It is very noise. Although room was refurnished (as mentioned by management) it is still below standard. Cracked toilet floor tiles, sink with stain, room using florensence light thus doesn't have any warm feeling.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerrickLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Asian Games Village
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Asian Games Village
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
#1,582 of 6,522 in Beijing
161 reviews
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
OL Stadium Hotel Beijing
OL Stadium Hotel Beijing
#2,725 of 6,522 in Beijing
160 reviews
Olympic Village
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Asian Games Village
Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yayuncun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yayuncun Hotel

Property: Yayuncun Hotel
Address: No.8 Beicheng East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Location: China > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,364 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yayuncun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yayuncun Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing